Jump to content

SJBenoist

Members
  • Content Count

    32
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About SJBenoist

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Missouri, United States
  1. New Zombie said: permanent injury. lose the hand. I like your style.
  2. No, you do NOT reshuffle your discard pile into your deck. See page 12 of the rulebook. Even using the appropriate cards, I'm confident your score isn't going to happen EVER. Either there was a mistaken in the calculation, or you are trolling me.
  3. You are not understanding me. It doesn't matter how your game went. There is no combination of cards that will give a -7 score.
  4. Cabello said: gandalf reduces by five, and they have an even that reduces by 6, they also have an event that allows you to play an ally from your discard and another that lets you shuffle your discard back into your deck. this allowed me to play those cards many times. this is also with the standard deck from one core set vs mirkwood. If you play Gandalf 3x, that is only 15 Threat ... and you would need at least 3 turns to do it, which ADDS 3 Threat, so that is a net of -12. The Elf card brings you to -17 (-6 + 1 more turn). If you play it 3x, you are still at -27. That isn't enough to even cover the 1st turn of the game in Threat, and would take at least 4 turns to play (probably more, I haven't even bothered to count the Resources needed).
  5. I think your score is mathematically impossible. Could you describe how that happened? What card did you use and how many turns did your game last? For example, at the end of the first turn alone, you have a score of 30 if you didn't take any damage. What card let you drop 29 points of threat?
  6. We must be calculating score very differently. As I understand it, you add the final Threat value of your dial, 1 for every wound marker on a Hero, and the Threat value (again) for every dead Hero. Then you subtract any Victory Points earned from cards. This would make the lower 30's a very good score. If you are starting with the 3 heroes from the Tactics deck, your score in turn 1 would be 29. I don't think there are enough threat reduction cards in any possible combination in the game to get you to -7, even if you win in the first turn.
  7. How are you calculating your score? I don't think "8" or "10" is possible, especially since Aragon alone will cost you 12 ...
  8. 5 important generalizations to remember with Lore: Don't try to block or kill every Enemy. Focus on gathering Progress tokens as quickly as possible. Use healing to offset the damage you are taking from Engagements. Let Denethor stop the nastiest thing on the board, and let the rest by. (Use Forest Snare if it is too strong for him). Use Breavor to draw cards.
  9. Pretty much. It would not be so bad if not for Lore's ability to produce so many cards so easily. Being able to drop 7 cards on Glorfindel and have him Quest at a Willpower of 10 every other turn is just too good (IMO).
  10. I actually think Lore is the strongest deck. Protector of Lorien is (IMO) broken, and no other deck can produce combos or "power cards" so reliably.
  11. Hello, When an Overlord rolls Surges, can they be used for anything other than Threat Tokens? Thanks in advance for the answers, I can't seem to get the "search" function to work ... SJ
  12. Thanks! Glad I wasn't just overlooking it
  13. ktom said: ... When you initiate a kill effect, including military claim, you aren't simply pointing the gun. You are also pulling the trigger. The bullet leaves the gun, so to speak, in Step 1. But the bullet doesn't hit the target until Step 3. That means Step 2, the save/cancel opportunity, is your only chance to push the target out of the way (so to speak). So if Viserys is chosen (gun aimed) to die (gun fired) for claim in Step 1, your chance to save him (use his Save Response) is in Step 2, so that he isn't able to die (bullet strikes) in Step 3. This "gun aimed and fired" in Step 1, "target might be pushed out of the way" in Step 2, "bullet strikes" in Step 3 metaphor should also help illustrate why when a character is saved from military claim, you don't get to go backwards (essentially "un-firing" the gun) and choose a different character to die for claim if the first choice is saved. The basic nature of save effects is that they interrupt the initiation and resolution of a kill effect so that the character in question never actually dies (and never actually becomes moribund) in the first place. In your scenario, Viserys was returned to hand. He was never actually killed, even though he was chosen to die for claim. Sounds like that, along with how much of the kill's initiation was happening in Step 1, was the piece you were missing to justify using his Response in Step 2 instead of Step 5 (when, as you say, it is too late). That makes sense to me, and clears up my mistake, thank you! P.S. Is there no Private Message function on these boards? I can't seem to locate it ...
  14. ktom said: Your timing is off on a whole bunch of levels ... I'm a little confused here, as I think there is only one timing issues in my statement? I appreciate the help, but could use show me my error using the same numbering system in the FAQ for reference. The 1a, 1b, 1c and so forth is very clear within it's own context (superior to the FAQ, in fact), but it is difficult to translate every step back to the the flowcharts provided in the FAQ for comparison as you read along. ktom said: ... In terms of the timing, you are missing two important things. First, in a framework window, like challenge resolution, where there are multiple framework events, each event cycles through its own Steps 1-3, then continue on to a common Steps 4-6. The second thing you seem to be missing is that since Viserys' Response includes the word "save," it happens in Step 2 (Saves/Cancels), not in Step 5. So the resolution of the window looks more like this: I actually was well-aware of both those things, so I must be implementing something incorrectly. Let me show you what I was thinking in specific and you can, if you would, point out my errors: 2. "Challenge Result is Implemented". Step 1 says "Framework Event Initiates" - This sounds to me like "who is to be killed" in context for a Military Challenge". Is this where I made my mistake? The FAQ states the character will become Moribund in this overall Framework Step, but does not specify if it occurs in sub-step 1 or sub-step 3. It DOES use the "initiates" language in other places to indicate choosing, however (pg. 14&15 re: "Action is Initiated"), and very confusing if they mean something different in the Framework descriptions. Step 2 says "Save/Cancel responses to Framework Event" - I took this to mean, effects the selection of who is to be killed (primarily because of the next step). Because of my interpretation of the immediately preceding Step, it appeared Visyers was not eligible to use his ability, as he had not been "killed" yet. Is this the core of my error? Can you "Save" a character that is targeted to be Killed, but has not yet been "Killed"? Step 3 says "Framework Event Resolves" - This reads as though the actual Challenge results take place here, so this would be the point where Viserys becomes Moribund. If that is not the case, I'm not sure what this step actually does. The above three Steps repeat for "Reward for unopposed challenge is awarded" and "Renown is awarded". Step 4 says "Passive Abilities (now triggered) are Resolved" - Self-explanatory and not relevant for this particular example Step 5 says "Responses" - Since I was assuming the Moribund state occurred in sub-Step 3, and no Save/Cancel step existed afterward, this was the only location to activate Viserys ability (which, I now notice, is expressly forbidden in the FAQ). In sum, was the mistake a timing error (when Viserys becomes Moribund) or was it a error in how Save/Cancel abilities work? Something else I'm overlooking entirely? Thanks again for any assistance.
×
×
  • Create New...