Jump to content

Julia

Members
  • Content Count

    9,333
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Julia


  1. My 2 cents on this issue... (and I know, I'll be 99% wrong, but then... it's just an interpretation of this ambiguity)

    I think that encounters like "a gate and monster appears" or "a monster appears" refer to the fragile veil between this reality and the other worlds. When a location is sealed, this veil is so strong that creatures from the external worlds cannot tear it. But this shouldn't hinder monsters already in this world to enter the location (am I wrong? I think a Hound of Tindalos can enter sealed locations), so basically in most of the cases I would go for playing the encounter as it's stated. This as a general guideline. Don't know, certainly Avi or Tibs would know this better than me, it was just a consideration


  2. Steve-O said:

    It works on any location which is both in your trail and adjacent to the location Dracula currently occupies.  That may be what you meant, but I'm not sure.

    Yup, I meant that. Really, thanks a lot for correcting me ::smile::


  3. I'd go for a game with Cthulhu as AO (long, long domm track, which should ensure the possibility of a long game, and thus to explore some special situation / abilities deeply instead of fighting against time almost all the game long) + Hydra as a Herald (not as devastating as Dagon, but still enjoyable for understanding how Heralds might boost an AO). And probably not use all expansions because of the card dilution, but the most significant in terms of mechanics, thus base game + Kingsport (although it has no unstable locations, which might be a flaw under certain points of view, the game mechanics of rifts is very cleaver and newcomers and passionate HPL readers would love the opportunity of becoming Captain of the White Ship or meeting Nodens in the High House in the Mist) + Innsmouth. I'll cut off the smaller expansions and Dunwich (although it's a wonderful expansions, the vortex mechanics is the same of IH). In this way you should avoid having thousands of gates opening in different boards, and your players will enjoy the suffering pleasure of having some strong activity to face (in my little experience of the game, I've often found more enjoyable playing only with IH or DH at one time, instead of having both boards available. Maybe it's just a matter of personal likenings, but I prefer having some serious troubles on a board rather than having a couple of gates in Dunwhich and another one in Innsmouth)

    And maybe a pool of decent investigator to play with, avoiding the worst ones. It can be a challenge playing with crappy characters, but if your friends have to learn how to play, maybe it's good to have some characters working in any case.


  4. so, if I understand correctly, the Double back power does not work with ANY of the cards on the trail, but just to a card adjacent his actual location? I've always played it - wrong, evidently - like you can return to any of the location of your trail, even if more distant that just 1 movement.

    And thanks, Steve and Dam, for enlighting me on my question :-)


  5. Dam, sorry, I'm afraid I do not understand your post (bad english of mine? bad wording in my first post? don't know)... sad.gif

    My question was: 6 cards on the trail. The sixth is Bordeaux (for example), the first one is Madrid. Dracula wants to use his Doubel back power to return to Bordeaux. The correct sequence is:

    a) choosing the place to return to; so, take the Bordeaux card from the trail, move the remaining cards one spot to the right, play the card Double back together with the Bordeaux card

    or

    b) the cards on the trail move first, so everything shifts one spot on the right, Bordeaux goes out from the trail (cannot go to the catacombs because they are full) and returns to the location deck, so Dracula can't use his power (and never return to Bordeaux because is too distant from Madrid)?


  6. Hi everybody,
    I have a little doubt on how to use the Double back power in this situation: Dracula's Trail is full. A new round begins, and Dracula would like to use his Double back power. Rules says Dracula takes a card from his Trail / Catacombs and places it upon the Double back card. And that's ok. The question: can Dracula use this power even on the sixth card (the farthest on the right)? As far as I've understand the rules, he firstly decides where to go, takes the card and puts it into play, moving the other cards on the trail from left to right. So I'd say he takes the sixth card, moves the other and places the former sixth as the new first, but I'm not quite sure
    Thx!


  7. Avi_dreader said:

    Both of your questions are non-issues (at least the way you're phrased— I suspect you might mean something else with Terrible Experiment, so I'm going to briefly mention it), because the items can be traded during movement phase.  Actually terrible experiment can be a minor issue, if you don't have enough items for both investigators and you want to trade off items from one character to the other (once sanity and stamina are low).

    Re: the exhaust issue— I just have a house ruling (house errata really) that an item can only be refreshed once per upkeep— unless of course there's something that specifically refreshes an item (i.e. Zebulon Whatley, who, by the way I play, could theoretically allow four uses of a spell during an upkeep if he and the spell were both refreshed).

    Sorry, Avi, probably bad wording, or simply bad English. I'll try again:

    - first point: Villan said the rule for restricting trades to the movement phase was intended to avoid characters taking benefits of items such as the Lantern during encounters. But, as far as I understand the game, I can pass another investigator an object like the Gruesome talisman after a combat and the other investigator can use it in his own combat in the same round. So I was wondering if there is any difference between these two cases (Lantern and Talisman).

    - second point: more or less same question. I can trade before fighting, but only if fighting happens in the movement phase. The terrible experiment is an example of fight during AE phase, but according to the fact trades can be made only during Phase II, I'm not allowed to trade anything with my mates while trying to pass those rumor. And I don't see why

    - exhausting issue: I've always played that as an item cannot be refreshed twice in the same round. So, if you give it to another investigar used, no further use until next round. If you pass it unexhausted, then it can be used in the same round you pass it. But I never realized it was a house rule of any type

    Hope wording this time is better :-)


  8. Villain said:

    Julia said:

    Example: two players for different reasons enter in the same OW and survive the first OW encounter. Next round - upkeep: the first player passes the Healing Stone to the second one. The second one uses the stone to recover 1 sanity. Why shouldn't this be possible? I can pass the other one the healing stone during movement, but not during upkeep. We're still in the same place.

     

    Erm, if that was allowed, both investigators could actually use the Healing Stone during the same upkeep phase: after the first one uses it, it is traded to the second, who first refreshes it and then uses it again. Clearly, this would create problems.

    Similarly, if trading is allowed during the encounter phase, if two investigators are ever in the same location, they could both use all their beneficial items like Lanterns, etc. by simply switching them around. I don't think that was ever the intent of the game designer.

    I'm fully convinced it is exactly because of these kind of loopholes that trading is strictly limited to movement phase by the rules.

    -Villain

     

    Villain said:

    Erm, if that was allowed, both investigators could actually use the Healing Stone during the same upkeep phase: after the first one uses it, it is traded to the second, who first refreshes it and then uses it again. Clearly, this would create problems.

    Never thought about that in this manner. I always played that an exhausted item passed won't refresh until next Upkeep. But clearly, you're absolutely right. Thank you for opening my eyes (two years of playing and still things unclear... things that are pretty evident and obvious, AFTER someone explains them to me)

    Villain said:

    Similarly, if trading is allowed during the encounter phase, if two investigators are ever in the same location, they could both use all their beneficial items like Lanterns, etc. by simply switching them around. I don't think that was ever the intent of the game designer.

    I'm fully convinced it is exactly because of these kind of loopholes that trading is strictly limited to movement phase by the rules.

    Ok, thx Villain, you almost made me to change my mind. Just a couple of questions. First one: an investigator is equipped with a Gruesome talisman and finishes his movement by banging in some monsters. He fights and defeats the first one and manages to escape from the others. A pal arrives, and the first one passes him the talisman: he should be able to use while fighting the other monsters. Is this correct? Isn't this similar to the "passing Lanterns" issue?

    Second question:  when facing The terrible experiment rumor, you fight monsters during the AE phase. So, an investigator goes to MU streets and do some hunting. Then another investigator joins the party; the first one, according to the rules, cannot pass him anything because it's AE phase, although he'd able to do it for "normal" monsters hunting during the movement phase. Isn't it a bit controversial?

    Thx for help


  9. jgt7771 said:

    "Logical", perhaps not.  But it would put a damper on those mass Wallmart Runs, where everyone gathers at the Curiositie Shoppe with a "community wallet" fishing 12+ cards in one turn.  Sure, you're talking about a "chance meeting" amongst helpful pals, but you're in a thread where Avi is outlining the "full power" of the Bank Loan exploit.  One player's logic is another player's loophole.

    I take your point, I was only highlighting that this kind of rules exist only because the game system has some weaknesses. I've never ever tried to start the game with 70 extra bucks just abusing of bank loans because there is a way I can have extra money and extra items, nor I go shopping with a community wallet.

    Bank loans can be overpowered and Avi is right (of course), but at a certain point the topic moved for a while on trading. There are many other examples when it would be good trading in different phases. Example: two players for different reasons enter in the same OW and survive the first OW encounter. Next round - upkeep: the first player passes the Healing Stone to the second one. The second one uses the stone to recover 1 sanity. Why shouldn't this be possible? I can pass the other one the healing stone during movement, but not during upkeep. We're still in the same place.

    I repeat (a very personal pov, of course), if a player try not to break the game exploiting some bugs it might have, some things should be done with ratio without the necessity of specific rules to fix everything in a way blocking every other possibility


  10. My personal 2 cents on this issue... I don't see why trading should be limited to the movement phase only. I mean, 2 investigators go shopping at the Curiosity shoppe; one draws his items, spends money, AE Phase over. Before the 2nd one draws three UIs, the first one tosses the other a couple of dollars. There is no logical way why this should not happen. Maybe there will be some counterindications on different occasions, I don't know, but I prefer not having a fixed rule to prevent players from hacking that blocks even the most "normal" trades.


  11. Well, Steve Roach is quite a famous name in the electronic / alternative scene, being one of the most active researcher / innovator of the gendre since 30 years, more or less. I firstly met his work on a compilation tribute to Salvador Dali (which was called Dali: the endless enigma), which interested me basically for the presence of a song written by Klaus Schulze, and after then... many and many years of continuous listening.

    If you liked Steve Roach's work, you could also enjoy some songs by Robert Rich (who often writes songs together with Steve) or Vidna Obmana (minimal ambient of very high level / quality; another musician who worked together with Steve; I think they collaborated on 7 or 8 albums). If you have some spare time, try to listen to something on youtube or via webradio. You'll probably enjoy them as well!


  12. Dam said:

    Julia, you n00b lengua.gif ! Under "Investigators" tab, there are two colums, "Most Used" which shows the number of games each investigator has been involved in and "Most Effective", listing win-%. George Barnaby has been in 117 games as of 1 April (least of any investigators).

    53% for George in 117 games doesn't look so bad when you look Vincent Lee, 348 games, 57%. And Vinny really got the short straw with his PS as well. There is also Sister Mary 336 games and 55%, but she's been my favourite from day one and I always have good games with her. Plus, her PS is at least worthy.

    Well, Dam, sometimes reading is a difficult task, and it's even more difficult reading all data on a spreadsheet, especially when they lay on the same page, almost in the same place. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH. Me stupid. And consider I DO wear glasses.

    Apologies to everyone for my misreading.

    In fact, George is the less effective, and the less played. Maybe it's not such a rip-off. Time will tell


  13. Tibs said:

    Well, George is included in one of the hardest expansions out there, so of course his stats are weighted towards the difficulty of Innsmouth games. Perhaps he is the weakest of the Innsmouth set? Maybe he hasn't been mastered yet? Maybe he's just had bad luck?

    Time will tell.

    Yep, his stats are certainly affected by the difficulty of the expansion he belongs to, but... how many games have been played with George? From the statistic you can't see this. If he has been used just a few times, then bad luck or improper use can be significant; if we have 100+ games with George, well... maybe there is no proper way to make him rock. Don't know. The stats are pretty horrible, he's almost static. Having a high Sneak value could make him good in Innsmouth after Martial law is declared, but whatelse? Not able to fight decently (3 of maximum Fight is a real pain in the..., and it's not even balanced by a decent Will), nor to cast spells properly (a Lore of 4 again gives you some chance with the basic spells, but no chance with the most complex ones, I'll never go for a Dreaded curse of Azatoth with just 2 dice to roll), so his high Sanity seems not to be good for spellcasting nor for monsters wacking. He's a lucky man, so maybe a good strategy could be use him for Encounters, hoping to get some Allies able to boost him, but...

    Don't know, the more I think about him, the more I see him as helpful for the others (2$ for not being arrested could be useful), hopeless for himself


  14. avec said:

     

    Um, yeah, I could see that.  I personally think that ol' George is so weak that he's broken, but I agree that the investigators should not all be equally powerful.  The way I look at it, I'm trying to give George the chance to *have* a personality.  Right now, he's so hopeless that in my games he usually does almost nothing.  (But hey, maybe we're playing him wrong.)

     

     

    I think it's interesting to notice that George is the less effective investigator ever, according to the data recorded in Tibs' statistics. Games with George end with a victory (of any kind) only in the 53% of the cases, while generally speaking the game ends in a victory in the 62.63% of the cases. So, having George in your team seems to be an advantage for the GOO rather than for the players...


  15. A specification on point 1: remember that an investigator is sucked into a Gate only while ending his movement on that location. As far as I understand the game, another investigation can reach the investigator on a gate opened, pass him an elder sign e go away without being sucked into the gate IF he has enough movement points to do this kind of movement (example: gate on the witch house, first investigator on the gate, second investigator in the French hill streets. Second investigator movement - 3 movement points - one point for entering the gate location and passing the elder sign, second movement back to French hill street, third movement - for example - entering the Silver twilight lodge).

×
×
  • Create New...