Jump to content

cdj0902

Members
  • Content Count

    76
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About cdj0902

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. I feel the same way after having put some thought into it. On the surface, since it's Narrative Dice 1.0 it seems like it would be relatively easy. Once you start asking questions about "what makes WFRP WFRP?", looking at the magic system, careers, etc. the amount of work to get it all shoehorned in and balanced seems overwhelming. I think I'll just wait until Cubicle 7 scratches the itch here in a few months with 4E.
  2. Very interesting. I have most of the WFRP 3rd edition bits and pieces and have been working on a conversion of the creatures in the Creature Guide for that game. Mind you, nothing comparatively close to what you've produced here. It got me curious why we're seeing such an excellent third party ruleset for the 40K product but, unless my search-fu is weak on the forums, nothing for the fantasy setting that is essentially the grandfather of this new game system. With so much 3rd edition similarity it seems like it would be ideal for a port. 4th edition WFRP is coming out this year and all I can think of is "I want to play WFRP with narrative dice".
  3. This is off-topic here, but is there anyone around here that has this type of knowledge of WFRP 3rd edition? It seems like that would be RIPE for conversion to the updated Genesys system. The level of detail and care you've put into this 40K port is amazing. Kudos!
  4. Honestly this is probably the first "house rule" I'll start using in my games. The new Stunned rule adds needless complexity to a very simple base game rule, seems weird mechanically, and gimps the Stunned condition. These Descent-based games have too much "skirmish miniatures game crunch" as it is, and since they add unpredictable "effects" to unit activations each round it's already hard enough to form a skirmish-style strategy across multiple rounds anyway. Anything that simplifies rules is a good thing. Perhaps writing the rule this way was supposed to make these figures even harder to deal with to make up for AI deficiencies as opposed to playing against a human Imperial player, but I'd rather keep the rules simpler and turn the difficulty up to Hard if that's the case.
  5. I think what makes it feel weird is that, in the base game, the Imperial player would have to burn an action getting rid of the Stunned condition before they could move or attack with the figure. This would leave 1 action remaining to attack or move. Assault just means you can use both actions to attack, overriding the "one attack per Imperial" default rule. A Stunned base-game E-Web would not be able to attack twice during it's activation, it wouldn't have the action economy to do so. In LotA a stunned E-Web has more action economy the way Stunned is written: it could indeed attack twice. It loses the movement points in a "Move and Attack", but can still attack twice. Stunned has reduced efficacy in LotA.
  6. <Lightbulb>. I see what you're getting at now and you're right: I was combining the new LotA rule with the portion of the Stunned condition from the base game that disallows attacks until the condition is discarded. This new rule has no such limitation and should be taken as a complete reprint of the text on the card from the base game. Doh! To recap, and make sure we're all on the same page now: "Move and Attack" is a single instruction, counting as both a move instruction and an attack instruction. However, the distinction doesn't matter much in this context because the new Stunned rule (which supersedes the rule printed on the Stunned condition card) places no limitations on attacks for the figure except that the figure cannot attack outside it's own activation while stunned. During the attack portion of a "Move and Attack" instruction the figure is still technically stunned, but nothing in the new rule prevents it from resolving the attack portion. It WOULD prevent, say, an Imperial Officer from giving a Stunned figure an attack or move action during the Officer's activation since that would be outside the Stunned figure's activation.
  7. It does prevent the attack portion of "Move and Attack", because the Move instruction isn't over yet and Stunned deals explicitly with instructions, not "move portions of instructions". The instruction is the entire line. Stunned, per it's wording, doesn't get discarded until a move instruction is resolved.
  8. Bingo. I altered my initial post to strike out the use of "skip". It was confusing the matter. Thanks for catching that.
  9. The Stunned rule says nothing about skipping Attack actions, or any other actions for that matter. No instructions are skipped. I wish I'd have worded my initial response more clearly and avoided using "skip" entirely, because you are correct: it says NOTHING about skipping anything. You resolve the move Instruction (whether it's activated by a normal or attack action), which results in 0 movement points and ignoring the attack portion (because the figure is still stunned until the entire instruction is resolved), then you discard stunned.
  10. The Stunned condition rule on page 21 says this: "After an Imperial figure with the Stunned condition resolves a Move instruction, it discards the Stunned condition." It doesn't say skip. I should have worded that better. Your example "*--> Move 3 to attack << the closest Rebel >>" is a move instruction. It says it right in the Instruction. It has more going on than a move instruction that ONLY instructs the figure to move, but it's still a move instruction. And since Stunned condition doesn't fall off the figure until a move instruction is resolved, it doesn't benefit from the attack that's included in the instruction. It's still stunned until the entire instruction is resolved, per RAW.
  11. You are correct. It's #1 RAW. See this thread for details. TL;DR: The entire LINE following the *> symbol (Move to Attack) is the Instruction, not just parts of the line (this is an important distinction). Page 14 of the rules is pretty clear about this, it refers to the lines as Instructions, not the individual pieces of each line. "An instruction costs one action for each --> (action) or *--> (attack action) icon preceding it. If the figure does not have enough actions remaining for an instruction, that instruction is skipped." The stunned condition definition is also very clear that you skip resolve Move "Instructions", which was defined on page 14 as the entire line. ANY instruction that says "Move" or "Move and..." is a move instruction. You skip resolve that entire Instruction, you do not pick it apart. Any attempt to tease a "move and attack" Instruction apart doesn't make sense. In fact, this 1 instruction qualifies as a move instruction as well as an attack instruction. "When an Imperial figure with the Stunned condition would gain movement points from a Move instruction, it gains no movement points instead. After an Imperial figure with the Stunned condition resolves a Move instruction, it discards the Stunned condition." The "instruction" isn't resolved until you perform both the move AND attack part of the attack Instruction, and the stunned condition is still there mid-instruction when the attack portion would activate (because the condition doesn't go away until a move instruction is resolved). Therefore the figure cannot benefit from the "attack" portion of the Instruction while Stunned.
  12. I've never gone through "official" channels to question a rule, I'm fine if someone wants to lead the charge on that. However, if there is another interpretation of Stunned I'd want to know how you reconcile multiple instructions being on a single line within the context of this statement (also on page 14 in the "Instruction List" section): "An instruction costs one action for each --> (action) or *--> (attack action) icon preceding it. If the figure does not have enough actions remaining for an instruction, that instruction is skipped." Per this line you spend that --> or *--> action to activate "an instruction". If you are inclined to an interpretation that allows for multiple "instructions" per line then a single line with "Move x and attack y" would count as 2 actions, which makes no sense in the context of how the "Instruction List" rules are written. The entire line is the instruction, not just the "move" part, and stunned doesn't go away until the instruction is resolved. The Stunned rules say nothing about resolving "the move portion of a move and attack instruction", they only tell you to resolve a move instruction, which "move and attack" qualifies as. Instruction lines that have multiple things going on are superset instructions: they qualify as multiple types (it's both an attack instruction and a move instruction at the same time), but are only one instruction per RAW.
  13. Bingo. The only real gauge for whether you're doing it "right". You're obviously in the wheelhouse of the type of game your players find fun, which is exactly what you should be aiming for. Keep doing that, along with focusing on the areas you've decided would be more engaging if you made some tweaks. If the group dynamic changes and they start finding other play styles fun, change it up and go that direction to keep them engaged. If your players are happy, you're doing it right, player agency be-damned.
  14. "Stunned: When an Imperial figure with the Stunned condition would gain movement points from a Move instruction, it gains no movement points instead. After an Imperial figure with the Stunned condition resolves a Move instruction, it discards the Stunned condition. Stunned Imperial figures cannot attack or voluntarily exit their space outside of their own activation." My interpretation: Reading p. 14 "Instruction List", the rules treat the entire line as an "instruction". If an instruction includes multiple things (move AND attack) that is still one instruction. The stunned condition isn't discarded until the "move instruction" is resolved. So if an instruction line includes "move AND attack", the attack is lost as part of the resolution of the "move instruction". Once the instruction (the entire line) is resolved, the figure is no longer stunned and may move (and attack) if an instruction further down the list instructs it to do so. Incidentally, a line including "move AND attack" would also qualify as an "attack instruction".
  15. While you are (of course!) welcome to play that way, that mindset isn't the primary focus of this game. It's a tactical skirmish game first and foremost, even in campaign mode, and is balanced thusly. That being said, Descent 2nd edition had environmental tags on each monster group which dictated what specific quest environments each monster could be deployed in. Even so you still end up with thematically wonky deployments. If they have something similar behind the scenes here it could help, but it won't completely eliminate the problem issue. I know they have Era limitations in IA, but that's a different thing. I don't see a problem with Nexu anyway, canonically they can be trained from birth to be somewhat domesticated.
×
×
  • Create New...