Jump to content

Viper Jr.

Members
  • Content Count

    121
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Viper Jr.

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Umeå, Sweden
  1. I did try close to max one time (I think I had 10, but this was before wave 2 and therefore max was only 100p worth of fighters). Sure, they're not bombers, and something needs to activate them. Bu they did rather good by dishing out 10 blue dice against ships 4 rounds of the game. Granted, it was a very casual game, and my opponent did not bring any squadrons.
  2. That's a fun idea to keep the base game interesting until other scenarios hit the stores. Here's a few just from the top of my head: Complete the campaign without using experience Complete the campaign using only cards from one class (though I'm not sure there are enough cards in the core box for that) Then there's always the grindier ones, like "get every Resolution on every difficulty" and similar ones. EDIT: Didn't see CastorJo's reply. That's a nice list!
  3. You are right, it is ridiculously silly. I can't understand at all why some people have such an incredibly hard time understanding that people might want to play their own game, in their own house, in their own way, without hurting anyone else or forcing their own way of playing onto other people. It is truly a strange thing.
  4. Just for references, I've played about half of every scenario available for LoTR (excluding Saga-expansions), and the first two scenarios for Arkham. Also, remember that this is just my personal opinion. I'm sure some people disagree with me. Like previously state, you do not have to worry about the willpower-counting in Arkham (or anything similar, at least not yet). However, I'm not sure that I agree that Arkham is less cluttered and that the "gameboard" is more streamlined (although the game itself is definitely less complex right now, but that's not a fair comparison, IMHO. Also, even though they are both coop LCGs, they are very different games). In my opinion, the second scenario of Arkham was more cluttered and harder to get a overview of that any of the LoTR-scenarios I've played so far (although not saying that it was hard per se), since it includes quite a few different locations, where each one could have several different cards on it. Additionally, you always need to considered which locations are connected to which, which also adds a layer of convolutedness (?) to the game board. I would say that it depends on the scenario. The first scenario of Arkham is a little bit like want you want, with a few rooms that are more or less "finished" after you've visited them. However, the second scenario are much more like a map on a board game, where you do need to consider the entire "map" (ie. every location) and how they are connected, which does add to the more cluttered/messy feel of the game compared to LoTR. Lastly, Arkham seem to vary quite a lot in amount of space needed to play (due to how they use locations, which is very different from LoTR). The first scenario was less than a average LoTR-scenario, while the second scenario definitely needed more than an average LoTR-scenario
  5. To continue the necro, here's an awesome website which does exactly what everybody wants (automatically sets the correct tokens, can be adjusted manually, multiple draws). It also got the advantage of being a ordinary website (not an app), and is therefore universally cross-platform! http://lotr-lcg-quest-companion.com/all_chaosbags.php?idselected=AHCS_tg
  6. I often play in this. Does that count..?
  7. Well, maybe not thematically, but I personally believe it makes perfect sense if considering the differences in the card text. Well, I guess, but the first email was answered before even Tractor Beams or Konstatine was even in the game. It also didn't specifically address this issue. So I personally don't have conflicted feelings about it. But how knows, maybe they change it in a FAQ.
  8. Phylon Q7 Tractor Beam vs. Admiral Konstatine in regards to damage card Thruster Fissure: Q: "Hello! I have a question regarding the damage card "Thruster Fissure", specifically when the Speed of the affected ship is being targeted by other players upgrade cards. Thruster Fissure says that you take one damage when "you" change your speed. The Phylon Q7 Tractor Beams specifically says that you force your opponent to change their Speed, which would then result in a damage from Thruster Fissure. However, Admiral Konstatine does not force the opponent to change their speed, since the card says that "you" (ie. the owner of Kostantine) changes a opponents speed directly. Does the affected player still get a additional damage from Thruster Fissure, even though Admiral Konstatine is very specific about that fact that the owner of Kostantine changes the Speed directly. In other words, do Thruster Fissure always trigger on a "Speed dial - change", even though different upgrade cards are very specific about who is actually changing the speed?" A: "Your interpretation of “you” is correct. The ship with Admiral Konstantine equipped chooses whether to increase or decrease the speed of the ship with Thruster Fissure, so that ship does not suffer 1 damage." Engine Tech and damage card Thrust Control Malfunction interaction: Q: "I have a question regarding the damage card "Thrust Control Malfunction" in combination with the upgrade card "Engine Tech". I interpreted it as the extra speed-1 movement from the "Engine Tech" card is affected by the damage card, regardless of what your speed dial is set at, since you are in fact doing a maneuver at speed 1. However, there are some that think that the extra movement from the "Engine Tech" card is only affected by the damage card IF you speed dial is set to 1 (since the damage card says "Current speed"). I'm looking forward to your reply!" A: "Thrust Control Malfunction only affects maneuvers executed at the ship’s current speed. If the ship in question has its dial at speed 1, all maneuvers that it resolves at speed 1 are affected."
  9. New email clarification! The rules are indeed as written on the card, meaning that Phylon Tractor beam can be used to damage an enemy ship with Thruster fissure, while Admiral Konstatine cannot be used to damage an enemy ship with Thruster Fissure. This is because with Konstatine, you (ie. not the enemy) changes their speed, while the Phylon Tractor beam forces the enemy to change their speed. Q: "Hello! I have a question regarding the damage card "Thruster Fissure", specifically when the Speed of the affected ship is being targeted by other players upgrade cards. Thruster Fissure says that you take one damage when "you" change your speed. The Phylon Q7 Tractor Beams specifically says that you force your opponent to change their Speed, which would then result in a damage from Thruster Fissure. However, Admiral Konstatine does not force the opponent to change their speed, since the card says that "you" (ie. the owner of Kostantine) changes a opponents speed directly. Does the affected player still get a additional damage from Thruster Fissure, even though Admiral Konstatine is very specific about that fact that the owner of Kostantine changes the Speed directly. In other words, do Thruster Fissure always trigger on a "Speed dial - change", even though different upgrade cards are very specific about who is actually changing the speed?" A: "Your interpretation of “you” is correct. The ship with Admiral Konstantine equipped chooses whether to increase or decrease the speed of the ship with Thruster Fissure, so that ship does not suffer 1 damage."
  10. huh? You do understand that it is a "Temporary Reduction" right? This means it follows any and all rules prescribed under that. To temporarily reduce speed you go 1 less on the Maneuver tool from what your dial states. You dont change the dial. Huh? Why would you ask "you do understand that is a a 'Temporary Reduction'"? If you really actually read my post, I clearly stated that the fact that I know the word "temporary" is used. I just asked if it is explicitly stated in the RRG that the word "temporary" in regard to speed effects means "do not lower the speed dial", rather than "change it, but then change it back". I ask since the only time "temporarily" (or any form of it) is used is under overlapping, where it is explicitly stated that the speed change should be done without changing the dial. Lastly, your post did not add backup, rules quote, dev-quote, or anything at all to actually answer me humble thought (unlike Drasnitgha who had already answered my question, with backup from Gencon).
  11. Do you trust an Interview with a games designer? Because Alex Davey stated that it was designed to work on Engine Techs. The only way it works on Engine Techs, is if it is changing the Speed of the Maneuver, and not the Speed of the Ship. Because the Speed of the Ship is irrelevant to Engine Techs. I do, however, I'm not familiar with this interview (like I said in a earlier post, although not specifically direct towards you). Is there a way to actually watch it, since plenty of discussions right now are referring to it it?
  12. Just a question though: Do we know that G-8 does not change the speed dial? I know it says "temporary", but does that intrinsically mean that the the dial is not changed (and then changed back)? I'm just thinking out loud here, since the overlapping rule explicitly tell us to not change the dial, while G-8 does not explicitly tell us that.
  13. That's not really what the mail says though, is it? It doesn't clarify anything about the speed wording mess. All it says is that speed changes are tracked on the dial at a time when the only occasion where it wasn't was actually written in the rules, and the gencon G8 intent comment is in direct contradiction of the statement "speed is determined by the Speed Dial". I'm not sure what this Gencon interview is, but another mail stated that "Speed = speed dial". Not sure whether that is relevant to your statement though, since I appear to have missed the famous Gencon-speed-G8-Intent-Thingy.
  14. Isn't that what I said? I'm sorry, I thought you said the other way around. I blame my non-native englishness!
  15. You're right about the FAQ. I'm definitely sending them a email later today to basically ask the same question, now that the question is more relevant. If not anything else, maybe it pushes them into adding in to the FAQ. I really feel like it is needed there, since the upgrade cards are differently worded. However, an overlap with a ship would not trigger a additional damage from Thruster Fissure. The email says that the actual speed dial needs to be changed in order for Thruster Fissure to be triggered, and you do not change the speed dial when overlapping ships. From the RRG (I added the bold): "If a ship executes a maneuver and its final position would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its maneuver normally. Instead, temporarily reduce its speed by one (without changing the speed dial)"
×
×
  • Create New...