Jump to content

zealot12

Members
  • Content Count

    769
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by zealot12

  1. Nope.I had the Revised edition from the start. I just took out my ripped board(the one I played with previously, from the Revised edition as well )and it also has the Become evil text for a roll of 1 at the Mystic. I guess we just didn't pay attention when playing. Having become so accustomed to the Village text layout of the the 2nd edition,(1-3=Ignored), we just assumed that it remained the same. Why, I don't know, since some things definitely changed from the 2nd edition, like the Graveyard space, and so on.
  2. Haha, this is so strange. I just took a closer look at the text on the Village space, and rolling 1 does indeed turn you evil.Color me surpised. Could it be that my previous board had the 1-3 Ignored result? I could've sworn it was that, or maybe I'm drawing false cross-references from the 2nd edition. I had my 4th edition game board replaced once by FFG due to ripping(improper folding or some such caused it), and I'm almost certain the text for the 1 result at the Mystic was different. Weird, but thanks for bringing it to my attention.
  3. I've pondered that as well, but I think the Time Card is only flipped when you draw an Event with the intention to encounter it.
  4. Tiggurix said: Oh, and in regards to the Dragon King's Dragon Scales: Would this also hinder a character to go inside the Dungeon from the Ruins or the Highlands from the Crags? It's a natural extension to the rule, though there's no mention of it in the rulebook The Dungeon and Highland are Regions by definition as well. so I'd say yes.
  5. Velhart said: I am glad that FFG made the opportunity that characters can become neutral in the city. It just hit me that there's very little chance to turn Evil in the game. I think there's an errata for the Village that rolling a 1 at the Mystic will turn you Evil(saw this in the PC version as well).But other than Mephistopheles, and cards like Pantheon there's no chance to turn Evil. I think there's a Quest reward that can change your opponent's alignment as well, and a spell(though it's only temporary), but nothing on board, in the FFG version, at least. Turning evil can also be pretty penalising, since there are very little unique benefits to being Evil, that a Neutral character can't enjoy as well. I think we're going to implement the Village errata for our games.
  6. What's the difference in timing between spells that can be cast "when you have just completed your move" and those cast at the end of your turn? Does the former mean: when you have moved into another space but before you encounter the space, and draw cards there? Or is it after you draw or encounter the cards on the space? Another question: Does being teleported from the Outer Region to the Middle or vice versa count towards discarding the Poltergeist? Or does one need to actually ascend/descend/cross any the bridges to get rid of it?
  7. I believe that according to the rules, entryway squares to other Regions are blocked if a Dragon King's scale is put there, until the scale is claimed. I'm talking about the Sentinel and the Portal of Power. They're only traversable if you're descending, or going past them in the same Region. I'll have to check the rulebook again, but I distinctly remember this mentioned.
  8. We've had this happen, as the poltergeist stalemate is well-recorded, and it's annoying, really. That's why we've houseruled that you can't bunny-hop between two adjacent squares when toadified or under the effect of some other movement ailment, but must choose a direction of movement and stick to it, with no retracing until the effect wears off.
  9. Transference is a fantastic victory stealer. In our last game the Wizard almost beat the leading Warlock via this spell. Unfortuantely, the Portal of Power got blocked by a Dragon King's scale, so he couldn't gain entry to the Inner Region. But it was close! Path of Destiny can also set the leader back big time, if he happens to draw a Warlock Quest that he has the immediate resources to complete. We've had some fun turnovers and underdog victories this way.
  10. No one ever talks about the Ghoul. A very good character,imo. The ability to gain additional lives from psychic combat PVP is great. Another point of Strength would have made the Resurrection ability stronger, but once he raises a moderately strong Enemy, he can use it in a critical Battle to push further. Of course,there are better Follower-claiming characters than him, but being one of the original Talismangers has its charm, In our games, he is almost always in the lead, regardless of the opponent. Maybe it's just luck, maybe it isn't, but anyway, he is one of my favorite characters. The Magus is a strange duck, I'd say.Sure, spell-cycling is always a fine skill to have but why not empower him with psychic combat PVP to play off his Followers/Craft ability? The way it's worded I would assume that he would be able to intitiate psychic combat with another character, but nope.
  11. I've seen 1's rolled in succession quite often in our games. Maybe Talisman's dice are weighted? Either way, this always occurs during the most critical rolls. With Reaper or elsewhere.
  12. Monsters like the Cerberus, Eastern Dragon or Lord of the Pit: when you defeat them in either psychic battle or combat, can you exchange the trophy for either Strenth or Craft, or should the stat point correspond to the type of combat which you chose against them when attacking?
  13. I believe that Events with a lingereing effect stay on the space where they're drawn until their specified timeframe expires. I'm talking about cards like Blizzard, Prophesy, Howl of the Wendigo, etc. And generally, any "for the next X rounds" Events. The only Events that don't stay on the board are those that are resolved immediately and Lunar Events in the Blood Moon expansion as they are put next to the Time card, not on the space where they're drawn. Strangers vary: some will leave upon granting their boon, others --until they satisfy their discard clause, and the the third kind will stay till the end of the game. This is specified on the relevant card.
  14. Lycanthropy is as much a curse as it is a blessing. The added nocturnal bonuses come at the expense of not being able to claim a reward after defeating a character in PVP, which can be quite a detractor depending on the character you play with. Becoming a werewolf basically deactivates most character-encountering and combat reward abilities during the night(Thief, Merchant, Ghoul, Sorceress, Dark Cultist, etc). and the generic "take an Object instead of a life" from a defeated player for all characters. Lycanthropy is also hard to cure(short of becoming a Toad or discarding the Wolfbane) Rolling 2-4 on the Werewolf's chart generally has negative consequences, and rolling a 1 is a sweetened pill of sorts.
  15. Spells like Shatter can destroy the Bag of Holding as it is a spell that doesn't invlovle taking of an object(like Acquisition), but rather destroys it outright. So, Shatter can destroy the Bag of Holding along with all the items inside. Similarily, Events like Whirlwind can make you lose the bag and all the items stored inside, as the bag is not immune to its effect, but only to special abilities and spells that involve thievery. I believe that Tricks and Treats can be used to steal the Bag of Holding. It's a special Object, not a spell or the special ability of a character.
  16. Yes, there's a variant for replacing Quests. I believe if you visit the Warlock's Cave again, you can replace it. Although replacing Quests can make the game much easier, as you can shuffle through the deck until you get the Quest you want. We only replace a Quest if it's impossible to complete. Let's say, "Take 1 Life from a Character" in a 2-player game, where the other player already hit the Inner Region.
  17. zealot12

    Strength

    No, Objects which are Weapons only add to your Strength during Battle. It says so on the card. Note that Magic Objects like the Belt, and the Ring, and Followers like the Unicorn always add to your Strength/Craft,. When a card says: "add 1 to your Strength" without any other specifier, this means that the bonus is provided always, in Battle or elsewhere.
  18. I. J. Thompson said: I'm an expansion junkie and I have them all, except for the Dragon - in fact, I think I'm avoiding getting the Dragon because of all the rumblings I've heard about how it radically changes the game and fills the board up with clutter. I should download and read the rulebook and form my own opinion, but for some reason, my tendency is to resist that expansion entirely. I really like that the corner boards have their own decks. That way, if you decide not to use one/either of them, you're not drawing a lot of irrelevant cards from the adventure deck. We only use one of the corner boards at a time because our table isn't that big (though that may change since the City and Dungeon will be on the same side). So, each of those expansions being mostly self-contained is a good thing, for us. The Dragon is excellent. We play with it all the time. The only thing you need to alter to make this expansion playable is the timing of drawing the dragon tokens(at the start of every turn is ridiculous!) We draw a token each time a character defeats one or more Enemies during his turn, and it works like a charm.
  19. zealot12

    Red Riding Hood

    She can be very beneficial for leveling up, though equally annoying as well, depending on the monsters on the board., and your character. You can ditch her any time though. I'm still uncertain whether you have to draw a card on a single-draw space, in addition to the Enemy you've moved.
  20. 1) Can you have more than one active Warlock Quest, outside of the Warlock Quest variant provided with Frostmarch? Some strangers and events let you accept a Warlock Quest without mentioning any restrictions. Can you replace an outstanding Warlock Quest with a newly accepted one, or do you simply ignore the card that lets you accept a new one in case you have one already? 2)Just to be sure, when fighting the Lord of Darkness in the Dungeon, it's mentioned that you can't use objects,spells and followers that figt in your place. Are those merely restricted to summoning spells and such?
  21. 1)If the Sorceress, for instance, encounters a character with the Familiar follower, must she pay his fee(losing one life) to have him join her? Or does she simply take the Familiar? 2)Another question: if a character with negative followers and items dies , must the character who encounters the space with his loot then take take the negative followers and objects? I'd say, yes. Since they're "must take" cards. 3)Is the Deathstalker follower discarded once a character is killed by him, or is it left on the space with the rest of the character's loot?
  22. For some reason, I'm not entirely clear on this. The Lycanthrope card states: Whenever you defeat another character in battle or psychic combat, the defeated character must roll 1 die on the Werewolf’s chart instead of you claiming your normal reward. Does the phrase "normal reward" refer to whenever you want to take an Object instead of taking a life from a character, or does being defeated by a Lycanthrope not result in a loss of a life, unles he rolls a 2-4 on the chart ? We've always played that any character defeated by the Lycanthrope must roll on the Werewolf's chart (as the Lycanthrope can't take any objects as a reward during the Night) and only if that roll results in a loss of a life, does the victim lose a life. Or does the defeated character lose 1 life, as per normal psychic/batlle rules, and then rolls on the Werewolf's chart?
  23. As a follow-up question,just to be 100% sure, if there are two Dragon card Enemies on a space with a scale with different encounter numbers: if you defeat the first Enemy, do you get to claim the scale?Or do you have to defeat both? I'd say you get the scale, if you defeat the first one.
  24. Since I have reintroduced Blood Moon into the overall adventure deck, I can't play without it. While some of the artwork is reused from previous expansions, it adds some of the more interesting monsters/strangers, etc, , and while the Day/Night cycle can be at times distracting, it also adds some strategy as to when you encounter certain cards.Plus, the roaming Werewolf is fun. The olny houserulre we have added is that a chaacter who has contracted Lycanthropy suffers the same penalties during the day as any other monster/creature. Our favorite expansion is the Dragon. The way we've houseruled is just lots of fun, plus the dragon scale mechanic injects the Dragon adventure cards into regular play without it feeling intrusive or tacked on. Of course, if you don't play it as written! In fact, our houserule, with drawing a dragon token each time you defeat one or more Enemies on your turn, became so second nature to us, that on the rare occasion when we play without the Dragon, simply defeating an Enemy and claiming it as a trophy without drawing anything feels strangely unengaging.
×
×
  • Create New...