Jump to content

zealot12

Members
  • Content Count

    769
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by zealot12

  1. The store owner strikes again! Maybe he should star in a sitcom. Put this guy on The Simpsons!
  2. Off-topic, but the OP is so funny! Intentionally or not.
  3. Yes, result of encounter doesn't matter. You gain 2 gold each time you land on an Enemy, or draw one from the Adventure decks.
  4. Double trouble,posting rubble. Answers in bold font above.
  5. 1. For places like the "fountain of ~" and strangers like the mage, when it is flipped up from a space that instructs you to draw, do you encounter it right away? Like when the fountain says put 4 of strength counters on this do you immediately take one so there would only be three. I know this may be a dumb question but just wanted to be clear on it. You encounter them/visit them right away. Be wary that they have to be encountered in order by their encounter number. 2. What i the point of the gold and purple side of the fate counters? I have Dragons, dungeon, reaper expansions and it has not stated the difference betwen the two. No difference. It's merely cosmetic. 3. With the good and evil weapons can an evil character aquire a "no evil character can have" weapon but instantly drop it. i would assume no unless something forced it into possession but then has to drop it immediately. Or can the cahracter under no circumstances have it? A character may not pick up an object that he is restricted from taking(can't have) Note that this is different from "cannot use". So, for instance, the Monk may pick up and carry Weapons and Armor as long as his alignment or carrying limit allows this, he just can't use them in battle.
  6. If the casting condition is not met, then I don't think you can cast the spell. Maybe you just can't cast these spells in the Tower.
  7. Amazon can thus avoid getting killed by the Basilisk, or turrned into a Toad by the likes of the Dragon Toad. A great ability.
  8. My only gripe with the later expansions(just recently got Highlands, so Luna reminded me of this) is how they recycle some of the artwork in the cards. It can be confusing if you have two followers with the same artwork, but different properties and names.
  9. @frogemoth Kill does not mean lose X Lives. The Cleric can preserve her last life if she has Fate but only from lose X lives effect, where X is a number. Thematically, if you consider the Basilisk, he causes instant death because he petrifies his victim. There's no escaping that, if he succeeds. The lose all lives is simply an explanation of the Killed effect, it does noy entail that you can lose less using some spell or ability.
  10. Hmm, I could try it out as well. Because in my variant The Dragon Rage rule is quite a bit more dangerous when you're using the Dungeon expansion. Since there are so many Enemies in the Dungeon, the lords are crowned faster.
  11. Killed means lose all lives=instant death. Note that the Cleric's ability cannot counter the Killed effect.Nor can spells like Preservation, Healing, etc.
  12. You are then affected by the first drawn Event. The other one stays on the board until it's encountered by someone. As an example you draw the Storm and the Siren on the Ruins space. Both are "miss a turn" Events. The Storm was drawn fist, so it affects you now, immeditely ending your turn. The Siren stays on the space. If you or another player encounter the Ruins at a later time, you would draw cards up to the required number, and then be affected by the face-up Siren, which will end your turn. Which means that the other card(s) you drew will remain on the space to be encountered later.
  13. Daemon22 said: II just think that events happened no matter what, I didn't know that they can stay on the board waiting for someone to trigger them. Note that there are lingering Events like Blizzard, Prophesy, Fool's Fortune, Howl of the Wendigo, Rumour of Riches. These always stay on the board on the space where they were drawn until their timeframe expires. The only lingering Events that aren't put on the board are Lunar Events in the Blood Moon expansion: these are placed next to the Time Card, since several Lunar Events may be active simultaneously. As an exception to the rule, it is my understanding that if you were to draw a regular turn-ending Event followed by a Lunar Event on the same space, the Lunar Event would then stay on the board and won't be triggered until someone lands on that space again.
  14. We only managed to get the Dragon expansion working using Elliot's rule:drawing a dragon token each time one or more Enemies are defeated during a player's turn. That, and limiting accumulation of dragon scales to three of each color per player. Also, any time a draconic lord is crowned, all the characters, regardless of their position, suffer the Dragon Rage of the new Dragon King. The third houserule makes the Dragon Priestess a very powerful character.
  15. After adding the Frostmarch expansion Quests to the game, the Quests selection becomes random. Frostmarch is a later expansion. That's why the rules changed. Though we've always drawn Quests randomly, I believe the rules officially changed with Frostmarch, because this expansion adds easier Quests to the mix, such as Gain 1 Craft, or Gain 1 Strength. Thus the choice of Quests was taken away from the player. And of course, more cards were added to the Quests deck(now you have 36). So shuffling through all of them using the Reaper rule can get tiresome. Hence, selection was randomized.
  16. Hmm, I don't think there's anything in the rules about losing a life on the Valley of Fire if you don't have a Talisman. There's however an Adventure card in the Blood Moon expansion of the revised 4th edition which is a Place that resembles the Valley of Fire space in the Inner region. It reads that you must end your movement on a space with this card, and lose 1 life, if you don't have a Talisman. If you do have a Talisman, the Place is discarded and you're rewarded with 1 Strength and 1 Craft. This card shows that the above penalty may have been considered for the Valley of Fire, and it makes sense thematically as well, but the official rules say nothing of the sort.
  17. If you don't have a Talisman, when you're on the Valley of Fire, you have to Turn Back the way you came on your next turn. When you're going back, you don't encounter the spaces in your path, but you still can only travel one space per turn. You're basically free to Turn Back any time you want when you're traversing the Inner Region, but once you've decided to Turn Back, you cannot reverse your movement, and must go all the way back to the Plain of Peril before choosing to advance again.
  18. Attack Score= Attack Roll+Total Strength/Craft +/- any modifiers or bonuses from weapons and game effects Attack Roll is the die's bonus alone.
  19. Yes, you can drop your items on the Crown of Command, but any items you have dropped there, are gone for good. Because you can't encounter this space normally. You may only cast the Command Spell on the Crown, as long as your're alone. And if another player gets there, he can't pick up your items either, because as soon as he enters the Crown, he can only encounter you, not the space with the items.
  20. Uhmm, it seems like one of you has exceeded the allowed number of spells to be cast. A player can only cast one spell during an opponent's turn, while the active player can cast as many spells as he had at the beginning of his turn. So if he cast Shatter in the beginning of your turn, you can Hydra the Shatter spell, which will result in two items being shattered, yours and his,(and if one of those is the Bag, then anything the player had inside is discarded as well) but he can't reflect the Hydra back at you(since he already cast Shatter during your turn, and he's restricted to one spell only) and I don't think Reflection works with Hydra, anyway.
  21. I've found that for quite a few characters the sum of their starting Craft, Strength, Fate and Life values is 12. So if you have the other stats in front of you, simply calculate the Fate value by substracting 12 from the total. Of course,it's not consistent and for some characters this total is 13 or 14. There's no empirical basis for this equation, it's just an observation. You can calculate Fate values approxamately according to your evaluation of the characters' strengths and weaknesses. To this day, the max starting Fate value across all 46 characters(currently with the base set+ released expansions) is 5, the minimal is 1.
  22. I think Fate is a sort of balancing stat, that tends to empower weaker characters. For instance, the Priest starts with a Fate value of 5, and he's easily the weakest of the bunch. The Troll is a Strength "tank" character who starts with a Fate value of 1 ,and he has mostly excellent stats(Strength 6, Life value 6), and a great regeneration ability. On the spellcasting side of "tanks", you have The Warlock who has the best spell-cycling ability in the game, he starts with 2 Strength, 5 Craft and has a Fate value of 1 as well. Then again, there are a few characters who have 5 Fate, and have all around great abilities. Like the Dragon Priestess. And some who are fairly mediocre, and have a starting Fate value of 1. Like the Magus. Most of the moderately powerful characters(Strength 3, Craft 3) have a Fate value between 2 and 3. But you need to take into account the usefulness/frequency of use of of their special abilities as well to calculate the appropriate fate value.
  23. I think it's better to think of Talisman as a risk management game. Even if all choices at your disposal are bad, it's better to go for the lesser evil. For instance, in my last game my fateless Minotaur was at the Warlock's Cave after completing a quest.At the start of his turn he turns into a Lycanthrope via an opponent's spell.A vicious Pesant Mob is cheering nearby. He rolls a 1 for movement. The adjacent Runes space is occupied by an Eastern Dragon, Strength 6/Craft 6. He won't be able to attack it in Battle(which would have given him a slight stampede bonus in this case), since the Eastern Dragon must be encountered with your lowest stat. For the Minotaur this is his measly Craft value of 2. The adjacent desert space is empty, and the Werewolf is prowling in the vicinity. The Minotaur has no Water Bottle, but losing to the Eastern Dragon is a bigger threat since upon defeat he'll have to lose one of his valuable Magic Objects as well. So he chooses to head towards the Desert sands. He loses 1 life(down to 2 lives) and draws two cards(one of his followers enables him to draw an extra card on every draw space with no Enermies) He draws a Lunar Event in the Desert that turns Day to Night, and the Wolfbane.He then rolls for the Werewolf, and moves it to his space. Via Lycanthropy and the Wofbane's combined bonuses, he gets to roll a 6 on the chart, and chooses to be healed to full health. (5 lives). So, it's all a matter of minute decisions. They may lead you to your doom, but in every game situation there are always indicators of better choices. And yes, the Minotaur won that game session. He could have easily lost had he chosen the path of cetrtain defeat at that particular junction.
  24. Kallabecca said: Nidhögg said: You can encounter characters on the Plain of Peril, so you didn't do wrong with that But the Troll, IIRC, doesn't have the choice about engaging in psychic combat, only physical combat. He could have. But only via that Bride follower, whatever her full name is.
×
×
  • Create New...