Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Tepes

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Gabriel, California, United States
  1. As to your question about what in Forbidden Alchemy is compatible with the base game besides the new investigators... FA comes with a new set of combat cards that can be mixed in with the base cards for more variety in combat. Also FA comes with one new Mythos card for each "Mythos card type" (the little symbols for which Mythos cards are each scenario like the gun, campfire, etc.) and to the best of my knowledge none of them call for a room that does not exist in the base game.
  2. In my opinion it is an omission. The "investible" coins all take the form of a coin token like those on tech cards or those given to you by Mother Teresa or A Gift From Afar. This makes accounting easy.
  3. I am going to put up a SPOILERS for safety because the scenario in question is mentioned, but no events, seeds, or objectives will be revealed. SPOILERS! So my group played Return of the Reanimator and the scenario calls for Pyromaniac, Raise Zombie, and the new Crawling Hands keeper action cards. The Crawling Hands card makes crawling hands tokens appear on corpses that can stun investigators and are all activated when used. So here's the two questions: 1.) The base rules say there is no limit on non-corpse game tokens. This means that the keeper can easily put a crawling hand in most of the spaces on the map constantly stunning investigators without much effort. Since they spawn from corpses, they seem to be intended as being limited because the game comes with 6 tokens and 2 are made per dead monster/investigator, or corpse placed by the Raise Zombie card. Thus the provided tokens quickly run out as early as the first keeper action step. Are they suppose to be unlmited? 2.) The crawling hands are not monsters or corpse tokens and don't interact with fire dispite being killable like a monster. Are they suppose to interact with fire at all? 3.) Now for a non-hand related question. Since the Mists of Releh spell can cause hiding people who can move, do they need to make evade checks? Thanks in advance.
  4. As someone else who has played the expansion (twice at the time of posting), I'll help you out a bit with what my group had trouble with. Rampage can get past quite a few cards. Rampage can avoid Havoc (new Tzeentch card), kill Plaguebearers without letting drop corruption with their new upgrade, and a few others. As mentioned by Organous, check to see if the card in question happens during the battle phase versus during a battle (the latter will affect Rampage). Hate and Skulltaker use a new mechanic of placing figures onto the card in question. So does a Slaanesh card Joyous Surrender. I ruled that with Hate and Joyous Surrender, the figures can be on both cards at once. Skulltaker takes the figures off both cards. This ruling was to prevent arguments as no official rules were given concerning this new mechanic. This is merely my guess at the real rules; use your own interpretation until we get a real response. I am in the opinion to Nurgle's card Filth DOES count as adding a corruption, so it triggers Nurgle's Quest and two Filths in the same region equals a dial advance token. Once again just my opinion until FFG releases more information. This is already mentioned by Organous but merits emphasis. The Underempire upgrade timing is a very important thing to get right and due to how region order works (Norsca -> Troll Country -> ...). Similarly, Skitterleap can result in two dominations or not depending on if the Skaven jump to a later region on the order. The last thing that came up is actual a rule from the base game that now matters. Nurgle and Khorne's dial condition is "per phase" while Tzeentch and Slaanesh's are implied to be "per round." This will help out understanding if someone does or does not get a dial advance token from the few new cards that cause corruption to be add outside the corruption phase. That's all I got for now.
  5. SolennelBern said: Other question...is it possible to play a 2 player game where each player controls 2 Gods? I actually tried this twice with my brother. As with anything two player, making judgments based on the final score does not tell the whole story but he beat me soundly both times, we both felt it wasn't very fun, and the game isn't designed to have two gods work together all game. I know two gods might work together in the normal game for a short period but only one of them can win and they both know that.
  6. Konradius said: Remember that there are techs to obsolete old wonders. You need a cloth for that, but still. I would rule you can't just obsolete wonders from other players, but you can also obsolete wonders in the market. So when you're ready to build a wonder, make sure you can obsolete a wonder in the market and then you're the first that can benefit from the newly picked wonder! Also remember to respect the age requirement for the wonder to obsolete. The earlier tech obsoletes only ancient wonders, the later one obsoletes both ancient and medieval wonders. So the only time you cannot obsolete anything in the market is when all modern wonders are available. I agree with your house rule of obsoleting from the market and hope that it is the real ruling. After a few more plays we finally had our first modern wonder but it only came because two player finally ended their standoff knowing the other would build the modern one. The guy who built the medieval one handed the game to the guy who built the modern one, which is what I was afraid would happen.
  7. Short Answer: My group would say you can still use "Engineering" for another city if the original intended use was stopped by "Writing." Long Answer: I think the answer depends on when the "Writing" tech must be used. We play it by having the current player do all of the city action, and then if it is negated, the use of any "We Love the Despot" cards, trade for hammers, and tech abilities concerning production (like "Engineering" and "Animal Husbandry") is refunded. I'm almost sure this is not how it works but it's easier for new players than forcing everyone to announce their plans and wait for negation techs.
  8. My copy has seen four 4-player games and two 2-player games and wonder availability has been our greatest gripe concerning game mechanics. That said my group agrees we need many more playthroughs before we will want to change anything but here is our experience. Most players will not have multiple cities with wonders and at best the second city will have an ancient wonder. The hammers necessary for wonders usually mean techs like "Animal Husbandry," the culture cards in the line of "We Love the Despot," and/or excess trade is the only way to build one. This is in addition to creating a city with lots of hammers at the price of other resources, which is not a bad thing, but hard to get more than one city doing. Furthermore, not all players want to have so much hammers in any of their cities and won't build wonders at all. Second, most players are seeking specific wonder and would rather build up military with their hammer city (especially with the "Engineering" tech) while they wait for their favorite to show up. Theoretically, if you really want a wonder you can buy cheap wonders like "Stonehenge" and other ancients if you have the tech and wait for your favorite to show up. However, there is nothing stopping another player from just nabbing it first even though you spent at least one turn (possibly more) tearing down wonders and building new ones. These two factors are why we have only seen a modern wonder hit the market once in our six games. I'm hoping either this is intended, or will be fixed. Hopefully after more games we might start to like more of the wonders so they stop clogging the marketplace. Right now my group ignores "Stonehenge" and "Angkor Wat" (my brother's comment is "More like Angkor Whyyyy?!").
  9. I think they both affect the board because tactics rarely fire off unless their condition is "If your morale is green or better..." and the uncontrolled ones aren't even that strong in my experience.
  10. Thanks for all the advice. Luckily I used a few spare ships some players made and ran a few practice runs. Unfortunately most of my players do not know the rules for space combat and I will be teaching them the rules tomorrow. As of now I have a raider with NPC rating 50, another raider and frigate to flesh out the NPC side. One of the players, a crazy explorator who recently found a cache of archeotech and Dark Age items, may suddenly find a nuke if the battle becomes too lopsided. Any last comment before I run this tomorrow?
  11. I know this will sound crazy but my RT game has been running for 3 months (every other week) but my group has yet to get into a real space battle. This is because the group prefers to do all fighting, negotiating, and what-not planetside and only now have the stakes become big enough that macrocannons must be involved. On the PC side we have 4 frigates and possibly support from a station with one or two macrocannons (depends on negotiations and distance from base where battle is fought). On the NPC side we have a cruiser and any amount of ships necessary to make this a challenging encounter. I would prefer not to put another cruiser or a light cruiser on the enemy side because the PCs have scouted the enemy fleet and they only found one ship more powerful than a frigate (the cruiser obviously). This means the enemy group will most likely have a few raiders and possibly some cruisers. What should I put in to balance the encounter? Thanks in advance.
  12. The new battle report answered my question concerning Rickard. It seems scenario C was correct as Rob committed Rickard at the end of his attack. Hopefully someone will know the answer to my first question.
  13. I apologize if either questions has been answered but I found none with the search function. First, the ability allows Robb Stark to increase his capture rating before attack dice are rolled. How long does the bonus provided by the first ability of Robb Stark, Young Wolf last? A) one attack (if Robb is flanked and both the flanker and engaged attack then Robb must do it twice to get a better capture rating against both) B) all attacks that turn (increased for both the engaged and the flanker) C) or the entire round (such as during the first attack and even against parting blows later during the Stark turn) As written it seems to last the entire game which is most likely wrong. Second, some cards refer to rallying ordered units. Note that this is different from the generic card "Rally all units" card both sides has. I am talking about the flip ability on Rickard Karstark and Robb Stark's leadership cards 3 and 4. They have similar wording so I'll just use Rickard's flip ability which is (me paraphrasing) flip the commander card after ordering Rick's unit to rally Rick and all adjacent cav units. To use this ability which situation is correct? A) Rickard is already unactive, but by ordering him with a token will allow you to flip him and rally himself and the nearby cav. Turn is complete. B.) Same as above but Rickard gets to also move and attack. C.) Rickard is active and you order him with a token. After his normal move and attack you flip him and rally him and all nearby cav. Thanks in advance for the answers.
  14. I think Cromwell put it best that the fact such an idea may make him a Heretek is more important than if the gun is buildable. Even if you do not believe the gun to be a "heretekal" design, you should have some ad mech members (though not all) accuse him of such, including some high ranking one if your crew meets any. The major issue to me here is a misunderstanding of the universal mindset of 40k. The tech-priests are not the car mechanics or the electrical engineers we have today. For example, despite having many plasma pistols, the Imperium has long lost the knowledge to build new ones. Even the majority of the Ad Mech would not dare take one apart and put it together again much as most of us would not dare pop open the hood of our car to remove anything further than the battery. They are basically a cult of machine workers who have a better understanding of how to build, repair, and upgrade machines but do not necessarily understand why their repairs and upgrades work. That's why they treat mechanical work with a methodical and almost religious mindset and have guidelines on how to handle tech so they don't f*** anything up. However, like most giant organizations, there will be disagreements and that's where every explorator PC comes in. Especially if the explorator has Trade(Armorer) and Trade(Technonmat) I think he or she should be able to build the gun, but this should weigh heavily on the characters own conscience as someone who has gone through the teachings (or in our worldview, brainwashing) of the Ad Mech and the Imperial Creed. This decision should be further affected by the contacts and peers of his past and their views on what is tech heresy and what isn't.
  15. I had the same experience in the demo I ran: the premade Devastator Marine far surpassed the others in sheer damage output. That being said, unless they change the Dark Heresy/Rogue Trader rules greatly, you cannot use any ranged weapons in melee that aren't pistols in combat at all and to withdraw from melee is a full action. Compared to other systems like D&D and you'll see that the rules for ranged characters in melee are harsher in 40k RPs. However, in my Rogue Trader full auto range weapons are still king but even my range characters have use for their chainswords and power weapons.
  • Create New...