Jump to content

hendersondayton

Members
  • Content Count

    336
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About hendersondayton

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 09/28/1978

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Ohio, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. @Turan I don't feel like your ragging me. You are right, I have plenty of experience with LCGs/TCGs etc. But, when trying to teach someone who has mild Aspergers (very black and white personality....no such thing as "unwritten rules"....if its not written, its not a rule), I need something a bit more concrete than, "this is just the way it is" I was attempting to approach the question from that perspective, rather than my own. I appreciate your comments!
  2. THIS. This is much more helpful to me. If "face down" = "out of play" then I have something written down to go off of for the correct ruling. Again, many people explain rules from a "this is just how it is" point of view or "this is just common sense"....when teaching someone who is NEW to a game (even the entire genre), you cannot use unwritten or common sense rules. It would be like a mechanic explaining something about a car engine that all other mechanics know already and assuming everyone else should too.
  3. Is this the "unwritten rule" that everyone is supposed to know, or is this in the rule book somewhere?
  4. Good point. I appreciate this comment. But for someone who doesn't play card games often, its not a "basic rule". I read the rules document and take them literally. Based on your comment below, the rules don't say your Identity Card needs to be on the side with the text UNLESS the text specifies "Hero" or "Alter-Ego". As a matter of fact, it actually says you can be in EITHER form if neither of those keywords exist (p13 of the Learn to Play) In my mind, even while in his suit Iron Man is Tony Stark. So, it would make thematic sense that "Tony Stark" could do "Tony Stark things" (like making executive decisions for Stark Industries) while flying around as Iron Man....
  5. Sorry, I am using "Hero Card" to define the physical object of the card. Not the face that is showing (the active form). Tony Stark/Iron Man = a Hero Card. EDIT: I should have said IDENTITY CARD. Sorry!
  6. Can someone please post the rules reference that says you have to be in the form that has the ability printed on it, to play an action ability that is NOT listed as "Hero" or "Alter-Ego"? There are several references that say "if Hero/Alter-Ego you have to be in that form", but I cannot find one that supports "if neither of those exist" you still have to be in that form. Because p13 of the Learn to play and p13 of the Rules reference seem to suggest otherwise: p13 LTP: "If an ability does not specify a form, that ability may be used while the player is in either form." p13 Rules Ref: "If the action ability is preceded by "Hero" or "Alter-Ego", the player must be in the specified form in order to trigger the ability" We had a near heated debate over the semantics of this in my game group. The ruling was, If NEITHER of those words (hero/alter-ego) exist, you don't have to be in the specified form to trigger the ability.
  7. I am struggling with this ruling based on the quote from p13 that i included: "If an ability does not specify a form, that ability may be used while the player is in either form." What else does that statement mean if not to say you can trigger an ability while in either form? Perhaps I am just reading it wrong? I would think because Tony Starks "Action" doesn't say "alter ego" or "hero", based on p13 of the Learn to Play, you can use it while in either form. Also - p13 of the Rules Reference says: "If the action ability is preceded by "Hero" or "Alter-Ego", the player must be in the specified form in order to trigger the ability" Which, in my mind means, if NEITHER of those words exist, you don't have to be in the specified form to trigger the ability. So "(thwart)" or "(attack)" doesn't mean what game state/action you chose, it just defines the TYPE of action it is?
  8. I am adding another "starting a post for when I have questions" post: 1 Can “Action” be triggered on a IDENTITY CARD if it is not the face up side? I understand that “Alter-Ego” and “Hero” abilities can only be triggered if that is the “face up” side, but what about actions that are not specific to one side or another? (p13 of LtP book: "If an ability does not specify a form, that ability may be used while the player is in either form." 2 Can abilities that say “...(attack)” or “...(thwart)” only be used if that is the active step/choice? For example, can I only trigger a “Heroic Ability (attack)” if I attack? 2 Follow up: If I use abilities that "thwart" or "damage" for example, does that damage happen IN ADDITION to the “basic” value from the Hero? (Example: For Justice! Event card: Is the 3 (or 4) threat in addition to the threat I would deal from the basic THWART action? Same with damage actions.... 3 I assume that if I use my Hero to “Attack”, that I cannot trigger any events/supports that have the keyword “Hero Action (thwart)”? 4 I am assuming all damage during an attack action has to be dealt to the same character? If I use a Hero’s Basic Attack and declare the villain, can I then play events or trigger actions that have the “Hero Action (attack)” keyword to damage minions instead? Thanks in advance to the community for the help!
  9. I must have missed that. Does that mean that the Armor value is only taken into account until its used up? Not PER Attack? That's huge.
  10. I have a list of questions after a few games: 1. "Each undamaged creature" (ex. Pandemonium). Does this mean regardless of Friendly AND Enemy? 2. Does the "deal x damage" phrase ignore the DEFENSE stat of any creature affected by the card? Or do you still remove DEFENSE from the "x" value? 3. Can you have more than one upgrade on a creature? 4. If for some reason, I cannot draw a card in my draw step, does my Chain Tracker still go down one? Thanks!
  11. FFG Live Stream said all the starter cards are exactly the same. I guess not?
  12. Has anyone figured out how to add the Starter Decks? Please tell me you can. The completionist in me is freaking out.
  13. Am i the only one who cannot click the "here" link on the post below: https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2018/11/9/what-hides-in-the-shadows/ "here (-- MB)!"
×
×
  • Create New...