Jump to content

Vaapad

Members
  • Content Count

    384
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Vaapad

  1. dcdennis said: Decided to make the drive for this. Hope to see some of the NYC folks there. I'd hate for this to be an easy win You guys gotta make me work for it =D Nice. You coming on your own, or bringing other DC folk with you?
  2. Looking forward to meeting you thursday
  3. Or, put simply, "no Dennis, I wasn't at the atl regional"
  4. Yup - we play every Thursday night near Times Square. Check out www.meetup.com/nycards for details, or message me if you need. We'd love to have you stop by.
  5. Always have to one-up me Adam
  6. Page 19 of the core rules: "If one of your unique cards is about to be killed, discarded from play, or returned to your hand or deck, as a triggered “Response:” effect (see later), you may discard an attached duplicate to save the unique card from being killed, discard- ed, or returned to your hand or deck. So yes - a dupe can save from any of those states
  7. Assuming that my original question got lost in the shuffle, I re-submitted it today and promptly recieved this answer: Question: Regarding Braided Screamers. If I have Braided Screamers in play, and I play Dothraki Outrider by kneeling an Eastern Fiefdom and spending two gold from my gold pool, can I trigger the Screamers' response? The Outider had a cost of 3, but I reduced the cost to 2 with the Fiefdom, and Screamers does not say "printed cost." So I am unsure. Answer (Damon Stone): The cost of a card is the number in the upper left hand of the card. You can pay more or less based on differing things but the cost of the card is meant to be a static number, we usually have printed cost on the card to remove confusion, but it appears that was left off the card during the final editing pass. If you lower/reduce the cost of a Dothraki character, you can still trigger Braided Screamers if the printed cost is 3 or more.
  8. Question: Regarding Braided Screamers. If I have Braided Screamers in play, and I play Dothraki Outrider by kneeling an Eastern Fiefdom and spending two gold from my gold pool, can I trigger the Screamers' response? The Outider had a cost of 3, but I reduced the cost to 2 with the Fiefdom, and Screamers does not say "printed cost." So I am unsure. Answer (Damon Stone): The cost of a card is the number in the upper left hand of the card. You can pay more or less based on differing things but the cost of the card is meant to be a static number, we usually have printed cost on the card to remove confusion, but it appears that was left off the card during the final editing pass. If you lower/reduce the cost of a Dothraki character, you can still trigger Braided Screamers if the printed cost is 3 or more.
  9. All I'll contribute at this point is that BMR says "non-Army character" -- Matt, you appear to have misread that, which makes your post confusing
  10. ScottieATF said: Vaapad said: ScottieATF said: Agree. I would cut to 8 with even as few as 12 players, given how tight the scoring turns out. With 11 or fewer, I would always cut to 4. The cut ensures that the best players play each other in the end instead of having a top player get eliminated on SoS or on one fluke loss in swiss. I think cutting to 8 of 12 is a mistake, you don't even have to have close to a winning record (round or game wise) to make that cut. You have to at least make the swiss portion mean someything or you might as well do single elimination all day First, I mis-spoke. I would cut to to 8 with more than 12, ie 13-plus. I imagine that doesn't change your concern much. But if you go to 4 of 13, I still worry about SoS playing too large a role. I mean, you could easily have, say, a 14, 13, and then a bunch of 12's at the top, with one or more 12's missing the cut. Is it not better to avoid that at the expense of having 2-3 lower scoring players make an elimination round?
  11. ScottieATF said: TGO said: FFG puts an Organized Play "A guide to running your event" in the game night kits and I think the regional kit. It has a chart that says 2-4 players = 2 rounds 5-8 players = 3 rounds 9-16 players = 4 rounds All of the above to not require a top cut 17-32 = 5 rounds if no top cut - min 3 rounds with a top 4 cut 33+ = 6 rounds with no top cut - min 4 rounds with a top 8 cut It also says that you can run more than the minimum number of rounds before you cut to the top 8. I think that chart is really poorly thought out at the high end. The min. rounds for swiss + top cut is to low. You will be making huge cuts from the same scoring group based on SoS. Also giving the option for the two larger brackets to not have a top cut, in this game with this scoring system, is just silly. But as those guidlines note pretty clearly, everything is left to the TO. Agree. I would cut to 8 with even as few as 12 players, given how tight the scoring turns out. With 11 or fewer, I would always cut to 4. The cut ensures that the best players play each other in the end instead of having a top player get eliminated on SoS or on one fluke loss in swiss.
  12. TGO said: zachbunn said: Did you guys not have a top cut? If you cut to a top 4 or top 8, this is really only an issue for people who end up being on the fringe. According to the tournament rules there is no top cut with 9 players, playing 4 rounds should yield a clear cut winner. Where in he rules does it say that? I see nothing that gives an absolute minimum player size in order to have an elimination bracket.
  13. He isnt confused, he's correct. Playing an attachment on a character does not "target" th character. The immunity to attachments, as I understand it, does not prevent the attachment from being placed on the Maester - only from the effects of the attachment affecting the maester
  14. dbmeboy said: TinyGrimes said: By broken I do not mean it is so far over the curve it should be banned or restricted. I just mean it's really really strong. i love it because it's a pro player card that makes the math in the conflict phase much more difficult for your opponent. Ah, in that case: I agree 100%. The card absolutely rocks, especially when you get a munitions engineer or two out. Combined, it will be really hard for your opponent to decide what to do. The last part of that, I think, is the card's biggest strength; when it is unfocused, the DS player has no good options. It's not even necessarily about the math -- it's about the DS player looking at the board and saying, "whatever I decide to do, you can undermine it." Is it broken to the point that it should be restricted/banned/eratta'd? No. Is it he single best card in the game today? I would say yes.
  15. Bomb is making the point that I tired to make and failed.
  16. Rehlow said: Characters in the dead or discard piles don't have keywords afaik. But the game looks forward enough to check and see if a triggered effect will resolve successfully. So even if the character has no keywords in the dead pile, and I don't know that's true, once the character is in play, the keyword takes effect again, which prevents BMR from attaching. I can't see how the effect can be initiated in the first place if it cannot successfully resolve.
  17. Hang on, wouldn't you just be precluded from choosing a No Attachments character in the first place? I read he first two sentences as play instructions; since they can't be completed because of the No Attachments restriction, the No Attachments character simply isn't a valid target for BMR. Similar to how you cannot even attempt to target an Immune to Events character with an event or attempt to move a chain to a Maester whose text box has been blanked. It's not that the action initiates and fails; the action cannot be initiated if it won't succeed. Where am I going wrong?
  18. That's right, everyone wants us NY-ers . Adam is right, though, that 6/2 would guarantee you a poor turnout. Not that 6/9 may be any better; I for one already have plans that day, and with all the other east coast regionals in June (CT, Philly, DC, NYC), I can see players wanting a break. But that's what comes from this kind of last minute change. I, and probably many others, marked my calendar with all the regionals I wanted to attend as soon as FFG released the schedule. I've had May 19 on my calendar since the middle of February. I understand that sh*t happens, but if the event was never supposed to be that day and there was some grand miscommunication, you had three months to straighten it out.
  19. The NYC regional is just two days away! We are expecting 16-20 players based on current pre-registration numbers, which would mean 4 rounds of Swiss (70 minutes each) and a cut to top 8. If you're planning on coming and haven't pre-registered with the store yet, please do so ASAP. I hope to see many of you on Saturday!
  20. The NYC regional is less than a week away! Here are the full details: Where: The Compleat Strategist, 11 E. 33rd Street, in Manhattan. When: Registration will begin at 9:30 a.m. with play starting at 10.30 a.m. Cost: Entry fee is $10, pay at the door. If you are planning to come, ease call or email the store (212-685-3880/complstrat@aol.com) to pre-register. Walk-ins are welcome as well. We hope to see many of you this weekend!
  21. Can I ask why on such short notice?
  22. Really? Announcing a date change one week away? To Memorial Day Sunday? You may lose your NYC group if you change; I know I can't make the 26th.
  23. Looks like this regional is coming up of 5/19. Anyone have details?
  24. For the regional, yes we should. Our weekly meetups usually draw 8 or so. The regional gets others from Connecticut, westchester, jersey, Long Island a d DC. If you live in the area, we meet regularly on Thursday nights. Check out our webpage: www.meetup.com/nycards
×
×
  • Create New...