Jump to content

Vaapad

Members
  • Content Count

    384
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Vaapad



  1. Hi All, 


     

    Registration is now open for the NYC Regional!  Here are the details:

     

    When: Saturday, May 2, 2015

    Where: The Compleat Strategist, 11 East 33rd Street, Manhattan

    Time: Registration at 9:30am, Round 1 at 10:00am

    Cost: $20

     

    You can pre-register and pay for the event here.

     

    If you have a Facebook account, AFTER you pre-register with the store, please RSVP on our event page.  All of the event details can be found on the Facebook page as well.

     

    Space will be limited to approximately 50 players, so as you as you know you're going, please reserve your seat.  We expect to sell out.

     

    Any questions, feel free to contact me.


  2. Since she came out, I assumed without much thought thsy Dany's kill effect (like the effect for other cards like Red Rain or Nighttime Raid) resolved as passives in step 4 of the framework action window on which can a challenge resolves. But ... Hammerhorn Raiders. The effect is the same: if you win a challenge (and meet a condition while doing so), X happens. But in the HR case, the effect (raising claim) must happen BEFORE claim (you can't retroactively raise claim), where something that resolved as a passive would happen after claim.

    That said, when does Dany's kill effect resolve, and why? If the answer is "as a passive," then why is HR different, and when does that effect resolve?


  3. Thanks Ktom.

    To clarify the timing structure then. Valar initiates in Step 1. There are no saves or cancels in Step 2. Valar resolves in Step 3. Isn't that where characters go moribund:dead? I thought so, and that Irri's passive text, which triggers in Step 4, effectively changes her from a moribund:dead character to an attachment, so long as she has a valid target to which to attach. I thought thr same was true of character agendas. What, then, is the correct timing for these characters with passive text relating to when they would be killed?


  4. Say I have irri on the table along with 1 other targ character (Dany, for example) and no saves. My opponent Valars. Valar resolves, and both characters go moribund:dead. Now Irri's passive kicks in, allowing her to attach to a targ character as a handmaiden attachment instead of being killed. Can she attach to the moribund Dany so that, at the end of the action window, she is discarded as an attachment rather than killed as a character? I see no reason why not, but figured I'd ask to make sure.


  5. Hi All, 

     
    NYC will be hosting a Store Championship Tournament on Saturday, March 14 at The Compleat Strategist, in Manhattan.  The details:
     
    Where: The Compleat Strategist, 11 East 33rd Street, Manhattan
    When: Saturday, March 14, 10:00 A.M.
     
    There is no need to contact the store to RSVP, but please let me know if you're coming.  The best way to do that is via the Facebook event page, HERE.  If you don't have Facebook, please PM/email me to let me know you're coming so that I can get an accurate count.
     
    As always, we'll have some goodies beyond the prize support provided by FFG.  If you have any questions, PM or email me.  
     
    We hope to see you all in March!

  6. I've been getting a bunch of questions about whether Red Saturday is a "T2" tournament or what kind of decks players are "allowed" to play.  Let me set the record straight here and clear up any misconceptions that may be floating about.

     

    First, let me be crystal clear: you may play whatever you want.  Let me repeat that: you may play whatever you want.

     

    Over the past few years, since Worlds moved to November, we've developed an unwritten "rule" -- well, more a guideline than an actual rule -- that players should be encouraged to play something other than their Worlds decks at Red Saturday.  It's not mandatory (see the above mantra: you may play whatever you want), but avoiding your Worlds deck promotes a dynamic environment rather than a repeat of what we all saw three weeks prior (or one week prior at Stahleck).  Along that same lines, and for the same reason, players are encouraged to avoid playing other people's prominent Worlds/Stahleck decks.

     

    At the same time, everyone will be playing to win.  If you show up with HoD House of Black and White (looking at you Seth Low), you'll get steamrolled.  Now, if you've always wanted to try HoD House of Black and White, be my guest; I'll applaud your ingenuity and courage.  I'll even buy you a beer afterwards at Rattle and Hum.  But many players, myself included, will choose to play something strong.  So don't be shy about bringing a strong deck.  But if you can bring a strong deck without brining either your own Worlds deck or a prominent Worlds/Stahleck deck made famous by another player, you are encouraged to do so.  Moreover, some players take this tournament as an opportunity to challenge themselves; to play a fun deck and try to compete in a competitive field with something a little out of the ordinary.  For instance, last year dcdennis showed up with a Night's Watch deck, and it was pretty sweet.  But that's not to say that anyone is expected or required to bring a "T2" deck.


  7. I'm happy to announce the prize support for Red Saturday:

    Participation prize: NYC Alt Art Valar Morghulis, using our commissioned art.

    Best performance in each house after Swiss: custom wooden house card, courtesy of Seth Booth.

    King of Swiss: one-of-a-kind power tokens by Draculas Tokens.

    Top 8: Game night kit prizes (playmats/deck boxes).

    Top 4: Custom Red Saturday playmats, featuring our commissioned art.

    Winner: Custom Red Saturday engraved wooden deck box, courtesy of Seth Booth.

    And of course, we'll have plenty of swag for the raffle as well!

    If you were previously on the fence, this is your cue to commit.


  8. Way back on Thanksgiving weekend of 2005, the NYC Meta held our first ever "Black Friday" tournament, played on the day after Thanksgiving. We have continued that tradition ever since, and this year will reach our 10th consecutive Thanksgiving weekend tournament. To my knowledge, this is the longest running continuous tournament in the history of the game (at least in the US). To celebrate, we'll have some excellent and truly unique prizes, some of which will feature the custom art partially spoiled below.
    For now, let's get some details out there:

    What: Black Friday (Red Saturday) Joust Tournament
    When: Saturday, November 29, 2014. Registration will be at 10:00, play at 10:30.
    Where: The Compleat Strategist, 11 East 33rd Street (between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue), New York City
    Cost: $15

    If you're on Facebook, you can RSVP here: https://www.facebook.com/events/999800720046640/

    If you can't make it to Worlds and want go send off the 2014 season with a bang, come to NYC. If you are going to Worlds and want one more hurrah, come to NYC. Our Meta will also do our best to host traveling players who need a place to stay - just ask.

    And finally, here's a sneak peek at that art! As we get closer to the tournament, I'll uncover more and more of this beauty!

    FinalImage-Reveal-4.jpg


  9. if anyone attempts to use Ambush from the Plains and doesn't pick who they are going to use it on before the cancel opportunity, then I won't cancel it, but the effect won't resolve since they didn't pick anyone before Step 2.  yea.  that's it.

    That's Alex's point though: Ambush from the Plains technically doesn't "choose" anything, by it's wording. Hence the ambiguity.


  10. Dredging up this old thread. As the discussion relates to Ambush from the Plains: if I have one or more valid targets in my discard pile, need I idnetify which target I plan to choose -- be it one of the cards in the discard like or an unknown in my hand -- before the cancel decision is made? It seems to me the answer should be "no" because it is clear from me having at least one valod target in an open knowledge area (discard pile) that the effect can succeed.

×
×
  • Create New...