Jump to content

poobaloo

Members
  • Content Count

    194
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About poobaloo

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Lisle, Illinois, United States
  1. Steve-O said: Drglord said: I forget how Shadowcloak responds to Blasts. Does it count the origin as the center of the AoE, or does it count the origin as the figure who created the attack? If its the former then I think it's fairly clear-cut that the mage would be hit if the center of the Blast happened to be adjacent to his current position, and not hit otherwise. If it's the latter (which it probably is, knowing Descent) then I would say he's not hit since, as Antistone illustrates, a given space is not adjacent to itself. Good times. Good, illogical times. I thought the folks out here ruled the attack originates from the attacking Hero. Thus you're better off just not using the blast, else you can't hit the shadowcloaked monster. You have to move up diagonally adjacent to him, then target a space 2 spaces away and on the other side of him. That's really silly to have to do that, and we've considered making Blast, Breath, and Bolt apply after Shadowcloak instead of before. i.e. instead of reading the attack first, Breath affecting all spaces under the template, then changing the affected spaces of the breath template by the Shadowcloak not being adjacent, apply the Shadowcloak first and say only susceptible to attacks made by adjacent figures, but then apply the Breath rule which in turn applies to all figures under the Breath Template. Basically where Breath and Shadowcloak conflict over which spaces are affected, allow the Breath to take precedence instead of the Shadowcloak. This would make the Breath weapons for the Heroes more valueable, and the Encounters involving Hell Hounds something other than a complete waste of time. Is this on the list of gathered things for a future faq?
  2. There will forever be unheard of combos. There are so many bits, cards and abilities in the game! Spiritwalker & Dark Charm. I would rule this as ok! Mainly cuz Spiritwalker is not activated or deactivated, rather a hero with this ability, may make an attack as if it came from another hero. So when the OL chooses to declare an attack and have the hero make it, if it's a legal attack the Hero can make, he should have to make it. If spiritwalker required movement, or fatigue, or anything else, I'd say no, but it's just "there" and gives that hero more possible attacks that can be declared. Note this is already clarified somewhere that if you have the "may ignore one obstacle when tracing line of sight" ability then the valid targets are still valid when the OL tells you to make an attack. It's valid cuz that hero ignores the intervening obstacle. Since that always-on ability is still valid, I dont see why Spiritwalker would be different.
  3. I guess what matters here is "is the hero figure ever an enemy figure?". I don't think he is. I think he is still a hero figure, making an attack declared by the Overlord. It's going to come down to semantics, and how you define enemy figure. Is an enemy figure any figure that is making an unfriendly attack? Is a hero attacking another hero to wake them from a sleep an "enemy figure" temporarily? I think enemy figures are monsters and lieutenants. Hero figures are the heroes. Things are the figures they are, and that never changes. Note the wording on taunt is not triggered by just an attack being made, but specifically an enemy figure making an attack. If ANY figure (even a hero figure) attacking is an enemy figure, then why even include that? The card would read just as well w/o the confusing extra part about the enemy figure. Thus since it states specifically enemy figures, it should apply only to enemy figures and not to heroes. Strict RAW interpretation at least. I think that's how I'd play it, that a taunt does not work on a hero figure making an attack since it's still a hero figure. Unless some other precedent exists that Hero figures are considered enemy figures when attacking a hero?
  4. On a legendary or rumor level, how do Horde and Brilliant Commander interact w the Start Area? Is that considered an "Area" and thus gets the benefit of the 2 extra monsters or upgraded red monster? Or just the numbered Areas?
  5. Thanks - we didn't play it that way, but I suppose we will - that's pretty clear.
  6. Awesome, thanks guys! Then I'm not missing any. I was thinking about the "Remove 4 cards from your deck" OL upgrade and I thought there were 2 Dark Balms to ditch, but I was only finding 1 and thought I might be missing one.
  7. Corbon said: Drglord said: I wanted your thoughts about hustle. RAW it says that you get 3 extra spaces. So that means that you can move through 3 spaces no matter what the cost of these spaces are cause you don't get MP and you can't even turn them into drinking a potion, reequipping etc. The way we have been playing it is it in the rare case you encounter mud (don't remember another space with extra cost) you don't pay the extra costs. But that also raises questions about web. Can you move with a web nothing RAW prevents you from doing so since web prevents the use of MP not you moving since you can also move by a knockback hit so you are able to move with a hustle also. Your thoughts? Since RAW, Actions (Run, Advance etc - changed within the very next page), monsters (changed the same page) and Tahlia (changed by FAQ/GLOAQ) (I think that is everything else that uses that terminology), all use the terminology 'move X spaces' but are already known to actually mean 'gain X MP', and the move X spaces terminology fails all other movement interactions in the game (terrain costs, web etc), it is very clear that Hustle operates the same way (gives MP). Hustling with a web is likely using a machine gun at a football match. It is not technically illegal (at least as far as football goes). Interesting, are you saying that Tahlia gains 3 MP on a guard? Therefore can drink a potion or open a door on a guard? (provided she hasn't already drank a potion this turn). Can she reveal a new area (by opening a door) on the OL turn? If so, does the OL get to activate the monsters revealed therein on this same OL turn?
  8. How many cards are in the base OL deck after all expansions thru SOB? I count 48 in mine. Just want to be sure none are missing...
  9. I'm disappointed that this was FAQ'd. Encounters have no "Areas" so the card shouldn't apply as written... was the forum concensus (or FFG perception) that Lieutenant battles were too OL-weighted? My read of everything out here says LT battles are usually swept by Heroes before an LT gets to act, and if he's lucky he can escape w his life. Ditching a card when you only get cards you've bought with expensive treachery is extreme. When Wind Pact was written, it was given that you might have junk cards in your hand, so it had a certain probability of ditching a good card, but more likely only an average card. In LT battles it's guaranteed to discard a very expensive and certainly effective card every time. It might as well be: Wind Pact: Reduces the OL's spendable treachery by 20. Because that's what it can do in every LT battle.
  10. I was using the current card. I'll have to reread it when I get home, but I could have sworn that bit about "without effect" was not there, as 4 of us read the card (drinking was involved). Given what ppl have quoted out here, and not having the card in hand at the moment, I'm leaning toward the effects such as damage would not apply... (unless it's a trap, in which case they would)
  11. * Acrobat says the hero may pass thru obstacles like rubble and water. * Water, Rubble, and Pits are all obstacles. An Acrobat walks into a Pit - does he take damage? Per his card he may pass thru obstacles, but pits are not unpassable by regular heroes. Does it cost the Acrobat +1 movement to climb out of the Pit (like everyone else)? An Overlord plays a Pit Trap on an Acrobat - does the trap damage apply to the Acrobat? Our group came up with Yes, Yes and Yes. The Acrobat gives you the ability to pass thru obstacles, not avoid other effects thereof. This was somewhat counter-intuitive to what one would think an "Acrobat" skill would do, but if Acrobat allowed one to avoid Pits then it was a bit too much like Wind Walker, which specifically states you may pass over pits and avoid pit trap damage. That's what we ruled. How do others handle this?
  12. Ispher said: The player must resolve all “start of turn” effects before proceeding with the rest of his turn. Like most of these rules debates, I think this is being taken out of context. I dont think the intent in writing "must resolve all start of turn effects before proceeding" meant you had to resolve start of turn "effects" before the start of turn "other stuff" like using a Crystal of Tival, which is also at the start of turn. What is the point of evaluating a Burn or a Bleed first? None. The only impact is if the hero has something he can "do" at the start of his turn that might make a difference. I think just the word choice here of the informal word "effects" leads to a conflict where "effects" are coincidentally used to designate the actual game term "Lingering Effects" like burn and bleed. Perhaps the wording would have been more appropriately "the player must resolve all start of turn stuff" before proceeding. The intent here, is that you have to resolve stuff that happens at the start of turn, before proceeding w say movement or attacks. As in "no, you cant wait till the end of your turn, attack first, and then roll the bleed". I do NOT believe that rule was written w the thought about how it would interact with Crystal of Tival, nor is the purpose of that line to say that the lingering effects definitely must happen before the Crystal. They all happen "at the start of the turn" and a player gets to choose the order of such start of turn effects ("stuff" - although "stuff" doesnt sound very good, so they used "effects"). I think that's all that line means. That you do the start of turn stuff before things like moving or attacking. While yes I can certainly see the word "effects" causing some confusion, one needs to always remember the manual is written in plain english on a 12-year-old level, not meant to be interpreted with such granularity over specific word choices. This is not to say I disagree w the RAW analyses, I do... They are correct if you look strictly at the word "effect" but when you take it in context and read it as a sentence and get the jist of the rule, you realize it was not meant to be read on such a technical level. Like most rulebooks. My take, based on a common sense read, is that it's player-choice, per the line about how a player chooses the order in which to evaluate the start of turn occurrences. (effects) Next, the analysis of the "Start of Turn" being exactly "Step 2" is slightly flawed, because if they meant you had to do these things during Step 2, they'd SAY "do this during step 2". Instead, the writers (deliberately?) used the slightly more vague wording of "at the start of your turn", and additionally gave the hero the option to choose how he wants to order those things. They dont necessarily occur at any particular step, tho one can most certainly point out what steps things do happen at. There is no specific correllation between "at the start of your turn" and "step 2" other than incidental.
  13. Agreed the thread has become diluted. However, I'm still interested to hear what the 'best' min-max play is. My group has not devolved into a min-maxing group yet, so I think as an OL I could put that dragon anywhere and have fun w this rumor. I'd be happy if the heroes played it out, since I think they're not likely to perfectly optimize things like preventing a dragon from landing. So I'd probly take the route of trying to block their quickest escape, and sit in the northern passage, maybe if they run south I can get in a spawn and do a bit of damage. I would sit close up so I could hopefully hit them w the dragon. Since soar over a tree is not cumulative, I'd just take my soar and sit close up, not worrying about where the best tree was to sit on. So what's the right answer? You posed the question like you were going to let replies trickle in for a day or two, then post the ideal spot, and why - then follow up w another training exercise / quiz.
  14. Kard said: Having said that, when these ones came up in our group, we found that the best solutions for fairness on both sides were: a) Astara's ability must trace a line through six legal (aka non-illusory wall squares) to the glyph. (Command followed this one as well, can't yell through a wall.) b) Divine Retribution followed the same ruling, ignoring rubble and door-type obstacles. c) Kirga's ability we allowed to pass through doors as well, because the amount of times he could have been mauled by a beastman pack right on the other side of the door just seemed ridiculous. :/ I agree w this. FFG went to the extent to clarify in the breath example using the 1-square flying creature. They didnt apply that to all such area effects, but I think it applies. For area effects like Runewitch, Aura, Command, Grapple, the effect is valid if a 1-square flying creature could reach such in the designated number of spaces.
  15. Corbon said: since walls don't officially block movement. Heh. Do you really need in the rules, that walls DO block movement?
×
×
  • Create New...