Jump to content

player617025

Members
  • Content Count

    34
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About player617025

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Trieste, Trieste, Italy
  1. I take all your points, but still I'm not convinced by that. Although there is nothing in the rules against your thesis, and probably your interpretation in more correct than mine, I still have to think about it. But anyway thx for having tried to enlight me
  2. Sorry, Colt... I've read your article, but, even if I trust you because of the huge knowledge of the system you've shown plenty of times, I do not take your point. The rules state: Important: If an investigator is drawn through a gate that appears as a result of an encounter (such as “A gate appears!” or “A gate and a monster appear!”), then he is delayed, just as if he had been drawn through a gate in the Mythos Phase. This means to me that no other encounters will happen during the round you are drawn into the gate, otherwise the sentence i've underlined has no meaning (at least, to me! ) If there is an official FAQ or a point in the rules according to your interpretation, well, fine! I'm glad to discover my errors and improve the way I play, but otherwise... I still believe my interpretation to be the correct one.
  3. And this FAQ Q: Why is an investigator delayed when a gate opens up in their location, but not delayed if he enters the gate normally? A: If the investigator was not delayed by a gate opening up in his location, he would be able to get through the Other World having only one Other World Encounter rather than two. seems to clarify my way of applying rules. if you were right, the delay-factor shouldn't be necessary to have two other worlds encounter, because if you enter a gate as a result of an Arkham encounter and then you can have immidiately an encounter there, then on the following round you should move to the second area and have the second encounter. so in the FAQ I posted, the clarification should be about the necessity of spending two complete turns in the other worlds, not just having two encounters.
  4. ColtsFan76 said: If an investigator enters a gate because "A Gate and Monster appears" then he will typically have 3 OW encounters: 1 delayed encounter in the 1st space, 1 normal encounter in the 1st space, and 1 normal encounter in the 2nd space. Tibs is correct. Based on your last couple of posts, it appears where you are confused is that you do indeed have encounters while delayed. A delayd investigator is only affected during Phase 2 where he cannot move and doe snot have movement points to spend. All he is supposed to do is stand up. and then move on to Phase 3 (or have a fight/evade monsters that share that space with him). Probably I'm confused, but... where is this stated in the rulebook? I agree on the point that you have encounters while delayed, thus if I'm delayed while in the other worlds, then I'll have a third encounter there. But if you are delayed because of an encounter that already took place, why should I draw immediately another card and have another encounter? I mean, the sequence should be: 1. turn 1 - arkham encounter - a gate and a monster appear - go to the relative other world - end of turn 2. turn 2 - movement: no movement, because you're delayed - encounter: 1st other world encounter 3. turn 3 - movement: movement to the 2nd area of the other world - encounter: 2nd other world encounter 4. turn 4 - movement: returning to Arkham - encounter: close / seal the gate or not?
  5. Tibs said: If, however, you get an Arkham encounter that says "A gate and monster appears!" then you will end up with 3 OW encounters. I don't think so. Quoting the rules: "Important: If an investigator is drawn through a gate that appears as a result of an encounter (such as “A gate appears!” or “A gate and a monster appear!”), then he is delayed, just as if he had been drawn through a gate in the Mythos Phase" There isn't written you stille have to face an encounter in the Other worlds. If you are drawn though a gate during the Arkham encounter phase, you go to the Other worlds and you can't perform any further action until the next turn, when you start delayed and thus you have to face your first encounter in the Other world. And this is even according to the official FAQ: "Q: Why is an investigator delayed when a gate opens up in their location, but not delayed if he enters the gate normally? A: If the investigator was not delayed by a gate opening up in his location, he would be able to get through the Other World having only one Other World Encounter rather than two" No way one could have three Other worlds encounter, unless he draws an Other world encounter instructing him to remain an extra turn in the Other world or something similar
  6. Tibs said: Not so sure of your intent on this one. If you voluntarily enter an already-open gate during the Arkham Encounters phase, you should wind up with only 2 Other World encounters before you return. If, however, you get an Arkham encounter that says "A gate and monster appears!" then you will end up with 3 OW encounters. My intent was to highlight the point you touched I supposed that the original question was linked to "a gate and a monster appear" encounter, considering the fact that this is the only way to enter a gate during an Arkham encounter. In the other case, you finish your movement on an already open gate and you have directly an encounter in the Other worlds. Anyway, the main point is that you can't draw an Arkham encounter card and an Other worlds encounter card in the same turn, and I think this is what originally was asked!
  7. oldthrashbarg said: Another newbie question I'm afraid. How many encounters do you normally have in other worlds? I assume it's 2, since you'd be drawn through a gate in the 'Arkham Encounters' phase, and then have an encounter in the 'Other World Encounters' phase of the same turn. Next turn you'd move, and then have the second encounter... Yes? If you fall into a gate during an encounter in Arkham, you have an encounter in the first area of the Other world in the 'Other world encounters' phase' during the following turn, not the same one. So, the number of encounters is correct, but the sequence is split in three parts.
  8. There is an official FAQ about this... they say: "In general, whenever you “return to Arkham,” you reappear at a gate that leads to the Other World you were in and gain an “explored” marker". so you can seal the gate in the next encounter phase.
  9. I suggest you some good dark ambient music, like - Raison d'etre "enthralled by the wind of loneliness" (and in general all his music) - Endura "liber leviathan" (and maybe "the dark is light enough") - Desiderii marginis "seven sorrows" or "the evergreen tree" - Ulf Soederberg "Tidvatten" (and his other project, called Sephiroth) - Lustmord "The place where the black stars hang" minimalistic psycoacoustic / rythmic landscapes that create the mood perfectly
  10. Thx for posting this scenario. I'll try it as soon as I finish the league (or Azathoth finishes my party, which is most likely to happen)!
  11. My two cents... All rules seem to force characters to have at least one encounter while in the other worlds before returining to Arkham and obtaining the explorer marker. In an official FAQ, it's clearly written that an investigar falling into a gate as a consequence of an Arkham encounter is delayed for this reason: in case he/she is not delayed, investigators will spend one round less to complete the exploration of an external world. If an investigator is able to cast Find Gate and enters normally in an Other World, he should enter it in its movement phase (fighting eventually monsters protecting the gate) (and here the movement phase finishes), draw an encounter card in the Other World and in the following round, during the new movement phase, he can cast FG to return beck to Arkham (or move to the Other World second area in case he fails the spell casting roll). If the investigator falls through a gate in the encounter phase in Arkham, on the following round he has no movement in the Other World because (FAQ) otherwise he could travel through the Other World quicker than an investigator entering there normally. Thus no way to move and encounter. And in case a monster is drawn as result of the encounter, he has to fight it (but it's in the encounter phase, because it's a consequence of the card drawn), so I don't see how you can fight a monster in the movement phase while delayed in the Other world. After this, you are free, and so the following round you can move or cast FG or whatelse
  12. Today we managed to defeat the nefarious scenario 9... the most difficult faced until now. After 5 hours of fatigue, an elder sign destroyed by a gate burst the round before we could seal the last gate, 2 blight allies in play and 2 rifts in Kingsport ready to open, finally Diana Stanley sealed the 6th gate at the Arkham graveyard. A *great* scenario, absolutely worth playing! Let's go for Azathoth!
  13. Thank you colt! The point you touched was clear, but anyway having a confirmation is always a good thing!
  14. this link should be the right one: jgodwin@fantasyflightgames.com
  15. Gsmack said: Well why would you cast a spell and then give up the hands in the same combat? ... That seems to be a possibility in the rules ... but I'm not sure what it would do for you. You can swap combinations of items until you have no more free hands for the combat. Suppose that a phantom and a warlock share with you the same location. One has phisical immunity, the other magical immunity and you have to fight both. You can cast a spell, like a dreaded curse of Azatoth, to defeat the one with phisical immunity, but this spell is useless against the second one. If the spell should last for fighting both monsters, it would be never worth casting, because you won't have any free hands for using a phisical weapon against the second monster. One spell - one monster, after the first one, switch strategies for all the others.
×
×
  • Create New...