Jump to content

wapcaplets

Members
  • Content Count

    34
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About wapcaplets

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://www.engler.ca
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    wapcaplets

Profile Information

  • Location
    Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Derp. Just realized this is the "Call of Cthulhu" forum and not the "Arkham Horror" forum. Disregard!
  2. My friend and I just played Lost in Time & Space for the first time. Great scenario! A situation arose and we weren't sure what to do. I was playing Zoey and I drew my "Smite the Wicked" weakness card during upkeep whose Revelation effect reads (my emphasis): " Discard cards from the top of the encounter deck until an enemy is discarded. Attach Smite the Wicked to that enemy and spawn it at the location farthest from you." The way the board was at the time, there were locations that were 1 away from me and 2 away from me but there was also the "Dimensional Doorway" location which was, at the time, a location to which we had no way to travel. We weren't sure whether we should put it at a location that was 2 moves away or at the Dimensional Doorway which we had no access. We felt it was more Lovecraftian to put it at Dimensional Doorway so that's what we did but I'm curious if there has been a ruling on how "far away" an inaccessible location is considered to be and it it's to be treated as the "furthest" location from you. For this particular scenario it was more-or-less moot because it's not like I'll be playing that character after this scenario so a mental trauma wasn't something I was sweating but I'd be interested to know if a situation like that occurs in a future scenario.
  3. My friend and I just played Lost in Time & Space for the first time. Great scenario! A situation arose and we weren't sure what to do. I was playing Zoey and I drew my "Smite the Wicked" weakness card during upkeep whose Revelation effect reads (my emphasis): " Discard cards from the top of the encounter deck until an enemy is discarded. Attach Smite the Wicked to that enemy and spawn it at the location farthest from you." The way the board was at the time, there were locations that were 1 away from me and 2 away from me but there was also the "Dimensional Doorway" location which was, at the time, a location to which we had no way to travel. We weren't sure whether we should put it at a location that was 2 moves away or at the Dimensional Doorway which we had no access. We felt it was more Lovecraftian to put it at Dimensional Doorway so that's what we did but I'm curious if there has been a ruling on how "far away" an inaccessible location is considered to be and it it's to be treated as the "furthest" location from you. For this particular scenario it was more-or-less moot because it's not like I'll be playing that character after this scenario so a mental trauma wasn't something I was sweating but I'd be interested to know if a situation like that occurs in a future scenario.
  4. Thanks, guys. I agree and that's how we ruled it. We just couldn't fully reconcile rules-as-written to the situation in that moment. The language we were stuck on is "The game ends as soon as one player has accumulated 40 victory points." If the rules were that VPs from scenarios were awarded in initiative order (which, based on this thread, is not the case) then player A would have won. If you add up VPs for scenarios in one single timing event (which this thread supports/confirms) then it makes sense to total the VPs for both players and award victory to the player with more VPs.
  5. Hi, everyone. We encountered a unique situation today at a tournament and I was hoping those more in-the-know than I could weight in. Two players were playing "Reprogrammed". After the activation phase had concluded, each player had exactly 37 VPs. Player A had two of the remotes programmed and had initiative. Player B controlled three remotes. During the end of round effects step of the status phase we'd be awarded scenario VPs. Player A would be awarded 4 (for a total of 41) and Player B would be awarded 6 (for a total of 43). It makes sense to me that Player B would be the winner because he had more points than Player A but the following wording wasn't 100% clear: Page 25 of the Rules Reference says the following under the "Winning a Skirmish Mission" section: The mission ends as soon as one player has accumulated 40 or more victory points (VPs). The player with the most VPs wins the game. The fact that it says "one player" is where the ambiguity lies. Now, again, it makes sense to me that Player B should be the winner because he had more VPs and that's the way we ruled it. I just want to make sure, however, that we did it correct. Where we weren't sure is if both players simultaneously go over 40 VPs (regardless of respective points earned) do you go immediately to tie breakers or look at the total VPs before going to tie breakers. Thanks.
  6. Q1: Can a figure retrieve more than one token if the scenario rules don't specifically prohibit it? One page 22 of the Rules Reference it says: "If a figure is defeated, any tokens that it is carrying are dropped in its space." The fact that it says "a figure" (singular) and "any tokens" (plural) seems to suggest that a figure can carry multiple tokens but I don't want to assume the prose wasn't just talking in general terms as opposed to being specifically plural in reference to the dropped token(s). Q2: If Beast Tamer is used to allow a non-sentient figure to perform an interact and that figure then retrieves a token, is that figure allowed to keep carrying the token after the activation in which Beast Tamer was used ends? I tend to think that it would be able to continue carrying the token, The RR doesn't have an entry for "carry" that clarifies whether being able to interact is a condition for being able to carry a token. Also, if the non-sentient figure weren't allowed to keep carrying the token at the end of the activation in which Beast Tamer was used I'd wonder where the token would be placed.
  7. Back in 1978 when I was 5, my first two Star Wars action figures were a Jawa and a Tusken Raider so I have great nostalgia for both of them. I'm glad that Tusken Raiders are in the game and am looking forward to the Bantha Rider but, given that we're already going to Hoth, I'm longing for Jawas. Hopefully, FFG makes them before too long but here are some proposed stats I threw together for Jawas and I'd be interested to know what people thought about them. My goal was to make them sneaky and annoying. I've highlighted in red for the elite what differs from the non-elite. Dune Sea Scavenger: 5 points (reinforcement cost: 2; group limit: 3) Traits: Jawa Abilities: - Habitat: Desert - Surge: +1 Accuracy - Surge: +1 Damage - Ready, Aim >>: Assign this figure a Focus token and perform an attack. This figure becomes stunned after this attack is resolved. - Tougher Than They Look: If this figure has 2 or more Health remaining, a single attack cannot reduce this figure’s health below 1. - Conniving: This figure gains 1 extra action per activation that may only be used to Interact. This figure may only Interact once per turn. Statistics: - Health: 2 - Speed: 4 - Defense: Black x1 - Attack: Ranged, Green x1 Elite Dune Sea Sea Scavenger: 7 points (reinforcement cost: 3; group limit: 3) Traits: Jawa Abilities: - Habitat: Desert - Surge: +1 Accuracy - Surge: +1 Damage - Surge: Pierce 1 - Ready, Aim, Fire >>: Assign this figure a Focus token and perform an attack. This action may only be taken if this figure is in the square it was in at the start of the round. - Tougher Than They Look: If this figure has 2 or more Health remaining, a single attack cannot reduce this figure’s health below 1. - Conniving: This figure gains 1 extra action per activation that may only be used to Interact. This figure may only Interact once per turn. Statistics: - Health: 4 - Speed: 4 - Defense: Black x1 - Attack: Ranged, Green x1 ----------------------- Command Cards: Utinni! (Restriction: Jawa | Cost: 1 | Limit: 1) ►: Choose a Droid small figure within 5 spaces and line of sight. That figure may interrupt to perform a move. Tribal Rush:(Restriction: Jawa | Cost: 3 | Limit: 1) Use at the start of a round. Roll a blue die. Choose one of your defeated non-unique Jawas that has a reinforcement cost of 2 or less for each [damage] rolled. Place those figures adjacent to any other figure of its group.
  8. Drinks & Dealings: A figure can interact with a contact for its player to gain 2 VPs. Limit once per group per round. Does the "limit" mean that a group, as a whole, can only interact once with a contact in a round (i.e. a group can only gain 2 VPs per round from the objective) or does it mean a group with multiple figures may have each of those figures interact once per figure with different contacts (e.g. a group with 2 figures could split up and each figure could interact with a different contact to earn 2 VPs each for a total of 4)?
  9. I'm late to the party but I'm considering the following: Boba Fett Trandoshan Hunter (E) Royal Guard Imperial Officer Imperial Officer Probe Droid * Temporary Alliance * Rule by Fear I'm tempted to downgrade the Trandoshans to non-elites to get another Probe Droid but that extra health and damage when adjacent is sooooo nice.
  10. Very cool! Since you've gone to this trouble I'm wondering if you could tell me what the precise widths are for the small, medium, and large disks (in inches)?
  11. I was wondering about some of these same things. I think I understand the one about the Orcs/Karl Franz but I want to make sure. Suppose a hero with 1 stamina and toughness five was being pinned by two enemy disks that had five attack strength each. If I'm understanding this thread, the total of 10 damage by the enemy attacks would be done in a single attack causing one wound to the hero (as opposed to two separate attacks of 5 damage which would do 1 wound on the first attack and then kill the disk on the second). Do I have that right?
  12. Thanks, BW. I appreciate the clarification!
  13. I just got my starter yesterday and did a walkthrough of the basic scenario. Something that's not clear to me (and please point out anything in the rulebook I've missed) is whether or not your own disks can overlap. Is it legal to end a disks movements overlapping (pinning?) a friendly disk? When moving a disk am I allowed to overlap friendly disks and continue movement? My instinct says no but I thought I'd ask those more learned than I. Something else I couldn't seem to discern... Is a disk that is pinned allowed to move away or is it stuck in place until it is no longer in an engagement? Same question for the disk doing the pinning. Thanks, in advance, for helping me out. This is my first forray into any Diskwars game so please bear with me if these are obvious questions!
  14. Hi, everyone. I'll be moving to the Hamilton area (Ancaster, specifically) in about a month. Just wondering if any Star Wars LCG players are out in those parts. My closest game store will be Black Knight Games so if that's your FLGS of choice it will be easy to meet up but I'm up for meeting up wherever. Thanks! ~Chris
×
×
  • Create New...