Jump to content

Nerdmeister

Members
  • Content Count

    800
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Nerdmeister

  1. According to the rules you are not allowed to initiate an action, which does not have the capacity to change the game state. With that in mind, is there a consensus regarding such an action like investigating your location, when it does not have any clues on it but you want to make pay-offs for the FBI-agents weakness? Along those same lines, could he also use his character ability to pay off said weakness, when there are no clues present? If he can then he would be able to get rid of his weakness relatively easy by seeking out the lowest valued shroud locations with no clues and if he cannot then it would be an autoloss for him when a scenario has progressed far enough that there are no more clues left. Been following the grim rule so far but would be nice to have it put to rest. Bonus question: lead investigator can change between scenarios of the same campaign or meant to be the same?
  2. Classically, if such a term can be used here, it is like a milf but with grannies instead. I am guessing it means something else here unless it is a reference to her being the grand mother of Arwen, Elladan and Elrohir?
  3. I guess Call of Cthulhu LCG is not a game of Lovecraftian horror...? Also it was FFG´s first LCG afaik
  4. 1 Cards underneath the Crossroads is not part of the encounter deck 2 You can use Thror´s Key at any location, which is not immune, in response to it entering the staging area. So in a word: yes 3 Yes beginning of quest phase is before anything else occurs, just as after a phase is after everything else has occured
  5. But 6 is the square root of 36 and 6+36=42, the ultimate answer to everything! Coincidence?! I have seen too much. Must now kill myself. My god now it makes sense. A guy named Toenail threatens suicide... if you convert that name into numbers and ad the consonants together you get 46, leaving just the 4 vowels: 46-4 = 42.... we have it again
  6. There are six major houses of GoT: Stark, Lannister, Martell, Greyjoy, Tyrell and Baratheon LotR is intended for 2 players each playing 3 characters giving 6 characters in all... just like the number of houses from GoT Also 6 is a number thus proving beyond doubt that the two franchises are intertwined in a FFG-web we cannot begin to fathom https://youtu.be/clKi92j6eLE
  7. Maybe "they" just want you to think it´s a joke...
  8. ...or is that what they would have you believe?
  9. 1 Yes, in my opinion 2 I would argue that Gollum leaves play as Smeagol enters play
  10. Think there may be a difference as to whether the trap or the enemy is being added to the staging area. In your example where the trap is in the main staging area, it is the enemy who enters it and thus get the trap attached. Had it however been the enemy who was in the main staging area and the trap that was being added, I would rather think the trap behaves as if it had just been played from your hand.
  11. Should be the same. At least I´ve not encountered anything suggesting those concept shouldn´t be interchangeable in this way.
  12. No The card specifies that it must increase the attack by any amount but 0 is not an amount. Might as well say that if its attack is decreased you could play ToF because the attack has been increased by a negative amount.
  13. Liesesss all of it liesesss! EfDG is impossible to solo and you know it. Still it haunts me in the darkest hours of the night. Taunting me in my dreams until I wake with a jerk covered in salty beads of shame, then falling asleep again to the sound of my own crying. It can´tsess be donsess I tell you.
  14. Don´t have the card in front of me but I suspect ´Fallen Into Evil´ uses the phrase ´attach to a hero´... once it is attached the character in question need not fulfill the requirement any longer. Compare to play restriction on ´Burning Brand´ stating that it must be attached to a lore hero; it has been FAQ´ed that it will remain even if the hero was to lose the lore icon (perhaps having gained it from ´Song of Wisdom´ attachment)
  15. The general rule is that when faced with a choice of that nature you must resolve it as fully as possible; meaning that you would have to chose an ally eligible to take damage, if possible. It´s in the FAQ somewhere.
  16. Could be more specific like "Ready a non-unique weapon attachment". Would let you use it to trigger some of those nice tactics events multiple times; maybe even without being too OP.
  17. Seems to me that both effects have the absense of a bold trigger in common. Is it outside the realm of possibilities that "until the end of X" simply creates a passive effect for the duration and that both would be treated the same way? Would love to see a clear definition.
  18. Maybe this has been discussed or clarified somewhere but this makes me curious as to the precise definition of when something is considered a lasting effect or a passive effect
  19. I am willing to take bets that an official answer would look something like: "While ´Vanish From Sight´ allows you to treat your threat as though it is 20, your actual threat is still higher and thus will not reset to match the engagement cost of the enemy in such an instance. Hope you are enjoying Flight of the Stormcaller /Caleb" Alternatively the answer might be that you treat your threat as 25 for the rest of the phase. Now this is not to say that I cannot see where you´re coming from with this path of logical deduction and certainly not that you aren´t technically correct. But that interpretation is just way too overpowered and the devs will simply tone it down accordingly. As well they should because it would invalidate a lot of other cards, which is not in anyone´s interest.
  20. Wouldn´t this fall under the new FAQ? (1.55) Lasting Effects There are two classes of lasting effects in the game: those created by player cards and those created by encounter cards. Each class is handled differently as follows: A lasting effect created by a player card ability must be calculated at the time that the ability is triggered, and that effect is not recalculated if the game state changes. For example: If a player triggers the Quest Action on Nenya (RM 121) to add Galadriel’s (RM 112) 4 willpower to another hero until the end of the phase, that +4 willpower bonus will not be recalculated if Galadriel’s willpower is increased later that phase. A lasting effect created by an encounter card ability, is recalculated if the game state changes. For example: Part of the ‘when revealed’ ability on Poisoned Vapour (ToS 61) reads: “Until the end of the combat phase, treat each damaged character’s text box as if it were blank (except for Traits).” If Aragorn (ToS 1) had 1 damage at the time Poisoned Vapour was revealed, his text box would be treated as if it were blank. However, if that damage was healed, his text box would no longer be considered blank. If he was damaged again, his text box would be treated as if it were blank until the end of the combat phase.
  21. Eru created the world but is standing outside of it without involving himself. The Vala Ulmo would be a more suitable suspect in this instance Whilst true he has directly intervened on several occasions. He specifically sank Numenor himself for example Though Ulmo is more prone to temper, creating storms in that process. Eru´s influence is of a more deliberate nature and should he be the cause then the boat must have ferried some sort of cargo, as to upset the natural order of things. My money is still on Ulmo. Though, as mentioned, Ossë might have played a part depending on how close to the shore-line the boat in question was.
  22. Eru created the world but is standing outside of it without involving himself. The Vala Ulmo would be a more suitable suspect in this instance
  23. I´d say (guess?) that Errand Rider does not prevent you from playing Tighten Our Belts, because it specifies that you are moving a resource. Bifur clearly does count as spending a resource because his actions states that you must pay a resource in order to add one. While you can argue that the ultimate effect is the same, they are achieved in different manners mechanically.
×
×
  • Create New...