Jump to content

arisgl

Members
  • Content Count

    37
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About arisgl

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 09/08/1983

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Athens, Attiki, Greece
  1. Regarding 2: To my understanding D is a wormhole, but something that affects specifically alpha or beta wormholes, would not affect a D wormhole. So in the Wormhole research - (directive) a player with a ship in D wormhole would research 1 technology but would not destroy any ships. I do not know if this was the intention of the designer but this is my RAW interpretation of the rules at the moment. Regarding 3: Again using the same mentality: a D wormhole is a wormhole. So yes all players, that have a ship there, should place command tokens into Creuss HS and Creuss Rift systems. I hope it helps!
  2. Hello Sevdome, 1) We had the exact problem/case in our game yesterday. We allowed the player to score the objective a second time, but I reread the rules today and I think that was a wrong decision. In the manual it says: (page 17): "When scoring a secret objective, a player reveals the objective by placing it faceup in his play area. Then, he places one of his control tokens on that objective’s card and advances his control token on the victory point track a number of spaces equal to the number of victory points he gained." Since you placed your control marker there, I think that you cannot score it again even though it is now a public objective. (If you did it would contradict the rule that you cannot score an objective with your marker on it a second time.) In our case we had forgotten to place the marker, since it was revealed on our area and we did not think that was necessary. But in cases such as this placing the token is important! Regarding the limit of secret objectives, I believe that it is clear that you can now score an extra secret objective since the old one is not a secret objective any more. The rule says that you must never have more than 3 secret objectives at any point (scored or not). Regarding questions 2 and 3 it would help to provide the exact text of the card? I do not have the game with me, so it would help to see the exact text of the agenda card.
  3. Hello, I asked for an official answer for my questions and I post here the answers for whomever is interested: The initial answer by Caleb was: Hi Aris, In answer to your first question, the new hidden card remains hidden and is not turned faceup at that time. To answer your second, when two effects resolve at the same time, the first player decides which order to resolve them in. Hope you're enjoying the scenario! Cheers, Caleb In order to clarify whether shadow cards are dealt to the turned faced up enemies I asked: Thank you for your answers Caleb, According to your answer to the second question: "when two effects resolve at the same time, the first player decides which order to resolve them in." (which I already knew from the F.A.Q.), the first player can avoid the dealing of shadow cards to the newly turned faced up enemy hidden cards because: a) turning face up the hidden cards happens at the beginning of combat b) dealing shadow cards to the engaged enemies happens at the beginning of combat. c) The first player can decide to first deal a shadow card to each enemy engaged with a player and then turn face up the hidden cards. The above procedure will lead to enemies originating from turned faced up hidden cards, with no shadow card on them. By your answer I get that the above scenario is legal according to the rules of the game. If this is the case then the scenario becomes much easier and I must inform you that anyone I know from the forums or real life has no idea that this is a legal procedure. They (We) all deal shadow cards to the turned faced up hidden cards that are enemies. The answer I received was: Hi Aris, Your timing summary is correct. You may choose to deal shadow cards before turning hidden cards faceup. Cheers, Caleb So as it seems you can avoid dealing shadow cards to newly turned faced up enemies! Interesting!
  4. Both questions are about the mechanic of hidden cards. We are at Stage 1 ( Blood of Gondor Quest) and during the beginning of combat phase and a player decides to turn each of his hidden cards face up. a) The hidden cards are turned face up one at a time. The first card is an "Evil Crow" which immediately engages the player and instructs the player to take 1 hidden card. Question: Will this second card also be turned face up during the current beginning of combat phase or will it remain hidden for now? I ask because the cards are turned face up one at a time and technically we are still at the beginning of combat phase. So the decision would still affect the newly received hidden card, but I am not sure if this was the designer's intention. b) The second question is simpler. We are still at Stage 1 and during the beginning of combat phase and a player decides to turn each of his hidden cards face up. The card is an enemy. Does he receive a shadow card? Shadow cards are also dealt at the beginning of the combat face. But what happens first? The turning of hidden cards faced up or the dealing of shadow cards? If two things happen at the same time, the current first player decides the order. Can I choose to first deal the shadow cards and then turn face up the hidden cards? Or I misinterpret something here? Thanks in advance for any help.
  5. My mistake! For some silly reason I remembered it being a response ... So for "A Test of Will" it is not possible to be combined with "Book of Earnil" Thanks for the answer!
  6. I usually use "Book of Eldacar" card to play "Feint" from my discard pile. I also use "Book of Earnil" to play "A Test of Will". Many people also propose these combinations for decks. But today I read again (more carefully) the card. To play an event from your discard pile, you must use an action. But cards like "Feint" and "A Test of Will" are responses. You do not play them during an action window but as a response to something. I am starting to believe that the way these book cards are written, using them with events that are responses is wrong. What say you?
  7. One quick question. Lets say that the current quest has the Battle Keyword. I play Ravens of the Mountain event card. The revealed card is a Southron Company card. Would I add 1 or 3 progress tokens in the quest? I ask because the Southron Company gets +2 threat while the current quest card has the battle or siege keyword. But the Southron Company card is not in play while I am revealing it with Ravens of the Mountain, so what about its passive ability? The more general question is: Are passive abilities of encounter cards (that affect their stats: Threat, Attack, Defense and HitPoints) in effect while these cards are in the encounter deck?
  8. 1) yes 2) needs to be defeated 3) the location has to be explored first( the way you say it completed…)
  9. I believe that the wargs will not return to the staging area after the attack, since as you say they were dealt with a shadow card with a shadow effect although it was useless. The same, I think, applies when somehow a shadow effect is canceled. For example if you have a burning brand and the shadow card with a shadow effect, the shadow effect will be canceled but the wargs will not leave since they shadow card they were dealt had a shadow effect. If the shadow card did not have an effect the wargs would still return to the staging are after the attack. If you do not have enough encounter cards (the encounter deck empties before a shadow card is dealt to wargs) they should not return to the staging area after attacking since in order to check whether the shadow card has a shadow effect you must first deal it. So if there is no card dealt the check cannot be triggered. I do not know what happens if you discard the shadow card before it resolves. Do you treat it as it was never dealt a shadow card or as it was dealt one?
  10. Thank you very much for your answers and mainly for understanding what exactly I am asking. But as you both can see you disagree with each other and this is why I posted this question. I can understand the interpretation from both sides but I cannot find any official proof of which one of them is the right one.
  11. Thank you The_Big_Show! My question in 1) is wether the shadow card will be triggered as undefended? I agree with you that it will be undefended and the damage will be dealt to a Hero. The question is whether the shadow card will do the defended or the undefended effect, since when the shadow card resolved the attack was still defended?
  12. Hello and thank you for your try to answer my questions. Two clarifications: 1) By a and b I did not mean two different shadow cards. I mean one shadow card that gives for example +1 (+3 if the attack is undefended). a is the defended case and b is the undefended. The question is whether the effect of the shadow card is affected, if after the 'resolve shadow cards" step the attack suddenly becomes from defended undefended. 2) I never implied that those cards are used to return an ally in to play. They are only used to return them to your hand. The problem is that they are not good to save an ally from dying since according to the action frameworks a)there is no action step between assigning damage to an ally and putting that ally to your discard pile b)if the ally leaves combat before damage assignment, the attack becomes undefended, so the damage is dealt to one of your heroes. This means that in both cases the actions that return one ally to your hand are useless. The only use I see in them is for allies that have abilities that do something when they come in to play. Am I right or do I miss something?
×
×
  • Create New...