Jump to content

klempad

Members
  • Content Count

    31
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About klempad

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Virginia, United States
  1. Initiative: As I understand it, at the beginning of the encounter, each PC and NPC (I assume minions can be taken as groups) rolls to determine to the order of the Initiative slots (PC or NPC). Then during each round, you move down the order and assign a specific character to the slot as they take their turn. My questions are: Slots are reassigned each round, correct? If a PC or NPC is defeated, is a corresponding slot removed from the order? Story Points The Story Point pool consists of 1 SP per player and 1 for the GM. That is all it can ever be, right? It seems kind of limiting, especially with a small group. I was wondering if anyone has considered a way to increase the pool (perhaps as a 2 Triumph/Despair result)? Or would that throw things out of whack?
  2. But one paragraph down (under Costs), it says: If a hero is given a choice between two costs, they cannot choose a cost they cannot pay. So it would seem to apply here also.
  3. I would say no. Per page 11 under 'Choices': When an ability gives a hero the choice between two different outcomes, the hero may not choose an option that would have no effect unless the other option would also have no effect.
  4. This could be very useful. I could use a little help on how the Initiative tracker works, tho. Thanks.
  5. klempad

    Strange Eons WFRP Monster Sheet

    Please let me know when this happens. I'm new to Strange Eons and am unfamiliar with the internal workings.
  6. I've been trying to put together Monster Sheets using the WFRP plug-in, and I've run into a problem. When I open the (new component) Monster and the default Beastmen sheet comes up: four creatures, two main abilities, six actions; all perfect. Then all the actions disappear! They're still defined in the tabs, but they're not visible ion the sheet. It's almost like the action card section got overlayed by... something Has anyone else encountered this or otherwise have suggestions as to how to resolve it? Thank you for your help.
  7. klempad

    Preview: Arcane Secrets Revealed

    Something I not completely clear on (may have missed it somewhere): Are spells (Runes) considered weapons? In other words, is Arcane Bolt considered a Magic and/or Rune weapon for the purposes of say, Runic Knowledge?
  8. Columbob said: Bleached Lizard said: Columbob said: Unclechawie said: The preview states that we will be able to use "certain" lieutenants from the 1st Edition, meaning that only some of them will be available. The next question is which one. Also, I'm loving the Dragon Hybrid and based on the preview, it looks like Zachareth may be an Lieutenant Ally?!!!!! Can't wait to see how this plays out. I doubt we'll see the Kraken for instance. You never know. "Water" is a monster trait in 2E, after all! Probably under-used too. Besides the Merriod, what critters from D1 will have that trait do you think? Hadley: I'm never gonna get to see a merman. Sitterson: Dude, be thankful. Those things are terrifying. And the cleanup on them's a nightmare.
  9. klempad

    Interested but need clarification

    Klaen said: I was going to ask how compatible the FFG expansion was for the game? Does anyone know? If you are referring to the Twilight of the Third Age expansion, it is my understanding that it is not compatible with WotR 2E. The second edition was 'tweaked' to reduce the advantage that the Shadow had over the Free Peoples. The elements introduced in the original expansion did much of the same. Including those elements into a 2E game would swing the balance too far over to the Free Peoples side. www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/744446/combining-wotr-2nd-edition-with-select-items-from
  10. klempad

    Interested but need clarification

    Skowza said: Does anyone know if the reprint is the same or if it has been modified? This should help: www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/738666/2nd-edition-review-a-side-by-side-comparison
  11. Joe Dizzy said: During the Planning Phase you may (and should) place an order on every army you control. An army is any number of your units in a single area. So if you have 2 footmen and 1 knight in Seagard, you place one order there. If you only had one footman there, you'd still place one order. Just to be clear, this is not optional. According to pg 12 of the rules: "During this step, each player must place exactly one Order token facedown (i.e., secretly, his house insignia facing up) on each area he controls that contains at least one of his units (Footman, Knight, Ship, or Siege Engine)." (emphasis mine)
  12. klempad

    Sturn's Stupid Question Thread

    Sturn said: Hmm..what about a Wizard that just woke up? Just got revived from being unconscious? Are they at Power 0 until they can perform enough Channel Powers to get them up to Equilibrium? Or do the Winds of Magic naturally bring the Wizard to Equilibrium even while asleep/unconscious? If so how quickly does the sleeping/unconscious Wizard reach Equilibrium if he was above/below his Will Power. According to the rules (under Equilibium), "all spellcasters trend towards equilibrium and they are assumed to be at equilibrium anytime their current power is not defined, such as during Story Mode (in most cases) or at the beginning of an Enoucouter." Further, during the end of turn phase, a character whose current power is less than his equilibiumgains one power; no maneuver or action required. I hope this helps.
  13. I have just discovered something disturbing regarding the Creature Guide PDF I recently purchased from Drivethru. Unlike the Player's Guide and the GM Guide (and I assume all the other published PDFs), almost all the security settings are set to "Not Allowed"; including the two I find most useful: COPY CONTENT and PRINTING. Has anyone else noticed this? Does anyone know of a reason why this is so?
  14. klempad

    Swift ability.

    MoonShadow said: What does the Swift ability of some monster's do? Thanks! The only creature I could find with the SWIFT ability is the ToA Giant Wolf. It is defined as "May perform 1 free manuever each turn". This evidently became FAST in the Creature Guide, which now means it takes one less maneuver to move between Medium and Long or between Long and Extreme. And then there is the SWIFT FLIER ability of the Bat Swarm, which combines the FAST ability (above) with the the FLIER ability (no maneuver required to disengage from non-fliers). I hope that's clear.
×