Jump to content

daveceaser

Members
  • Content Count

    17
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About daveceaser

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    College Station, Texas, United States
  1. I know you can see psychic matrices if you have See Supernatural. Can anyone tell me who can see matrices (and other supernatural abilities) without that advantage? For example, what about creatures that are Beings Between Worlds or other psychics (the gift specifically says the make can see magic by Free Access to Any Discipline does not say the same for psychics).
  2. So, I'm looking at artifact creator and I have a quick question. As a GM, making an item, I can ignore all the bits about PP and materials providing a certain PP, etc. Correct? The only thing I need to keep track of is keeping the presence of the powers below the original presence of the power, right? Using the items in the book as a guide for the general overall strength of, say, a level 2 item, right?
  3. I'm looking to play Anima (I've run it a few times) and no one in my area currently plays it. Anyone have an online group looking for players?
  4. Wow, thanks so much. I'm going to dive into it when I get home from work this evening. But cursory glances show this will work great. Thanks for providing such tools! Makes life so much easier for the rest of us.
  5. Ok, so I am.just a out to start a campaign and one of the players decided to take an artifact and I want to make my own so I can hook it into my story. Thing is, the item creation rules are so confusing. Firstly there is the whole bit about the levels of the items and CP spent on artifacts. Then there is the bit about the presence and how many power levels you can buy but power levels are determined by the source of the power but the number of levels you can buy is limited by the items presence and then there is a thing about weaknesses and costs being negative but I didn't find any negative costs and the presence of the item is increased by the magic abilities but trying to reverse engineer the example items in the book doesn't add up to the correct total presence (just seems to include the quality but no magic) and how does one determine motion of use.... Etc. Are there any step by step.guides anyone has thrown together?
  6. How does this relate to the drivethrurpg sale and the announcement that they will not be selling the books after the 15th? Are the books still planned to come out? Is the English version of the RPG now no longer supported, like the miniature game?
  7. I am confused by a part of this statement, found on p 90 in the PDF: Thrown weapons don’t need reloading. However, these weapons possess a Rate of Fire (ROF), which indicates how many of them a character can throw in a single Combat Turn. If a weapon has a ROF of 40, a character can throw one of them for each 40 points of Attack Ability or Sleight of Hand he possesses (using the higher of the two). In other words, a combatant with an attack Ability of 120 could throw three of them per turn. A penalty of –10 to the character’s Attack or Sleight of Hand Ability is applied for each additional projectile thrown. Namely, the last statement says I have a -10 to possibly Sleight of Hand when throwing projectiles. Does this imply that I can use Sleight of Hand to throw weapons instead of Attack?
  8. So, looking in the rule book there are rules for breaking down doors with weapons to destroy it. These rules state you have to have a minimum base damage to even hurt the door. How about bashing a door down with tour shoulder so to speak. You wouldn't have enough base damage. Would you use feat of strength against a difficulty set by the GM? On a separate note, I heard reference to a Core Exxet book in Spanish. Pretty sure no more books will come out in English through FFG. What will happen then? What other Spanish books have not been published in English yet?
  9. That was my instinct that was what was meant as well. And I agree, that is pretty steep. How about a house rule that it's a penalty equal to half the bonus for non specialties, so a -20 in this case? Seems pretty fair to me.
  10. I had not noticed this over the years until a player pointed it out to me. In the paragraph on secondary abilities specializations (p.46), there is a line saying that a specialization gives you bonus in the field you specialize in and a penalty in the fields you do not. It says this bonus and penalty is described in the ability description. Yet, the ability descriptions describe the bonus but not the penalty. Where can I find where the penalty is described?
  11. Hey, everyone. I've got my models, I've played a few games, but I need to paint them. I've played a lot of GW in the past, and I've painted plenty of models for it (and most of them have turned out really good) so I'm no slouch when it comes to painting, but GW is about painting an army so it looks good on the table. I've never tried to paint an individual model so that it looks amazing up close. I want my models to look as close to the ones I see in the main rule book. Does anyone know a good painting guide that can describe the techniques, paints, and methods used to paint such highly detailed models? Something someone has put up on the net would be good. Thanks!
  12. Hey there. I just started playing the game with Dark Sun, and I loved it. I'd like to buy up the models of another organization (I'm used to GW, so only paying 100 - 150 for a full faction of incredibly nice models is still mind boggling). However, I noticed that a LOT of the models seem out of stock (at least 2 or 3 in each faction). I just want to make sure that these models will be in stock in the near future so that I can buy up any models I miss this time around. On a separate note, are there plans to release some of the other factions in the Anima setting? Such as Tol Rokko or the like?
  13. Thank you for answering what questions you could, but could someone please answer my other questions as well. 1. I basically want to know what you declare between initiative and when you act. Do you simply declare the number of attacks you are going to do, or do you declare your actions in more details, saying you will attack, say, guard number 1 with your first attack and save your second for a counter attack, for example. 2. Thank you for mentioning the part about when you spend magic levels, but could you please answer the other questions I had about gaining spells and how you buy spells with the magic levels? 3. Thanks about the Ki answer. I don't really have any other questions about Ki. Thanks everyone!
  14. Hey guys, I've read through the book front to back about three times now. I'm going to be running my first game, hopefully next week, and while I've managed to make sense of many of the rules (I'm surprised I have considering how confused I was the first time I read it), I have come up with a few questions. 1. Because you can only do a counter attack if you have an attack action at the time of the attack, and it makes it pretty clear in the examples that Celia declared her attack actions after everyone roles initiative but before the turn really begins, it's pretty clear that that part of the combat round is pretty important. I don't have my book in front of me right now, so I'm unable to quote it, but I it is unclear how much you declare in this post initiative, pre fight phase. If I understand it right the actual order is something like this. a) Roll initiative. b) In initiative order, declare how many attack actions you will get (This is only for attack actions, correct? You don't need to decide your exact actions at this time, such as "I will take two attack actions, one of which I'll attack goon 1 and the other I'll used for a counter attack if I'm attacked. Also, there is a slight advantage here for those at the bottom of the initiative in that, they will know how many attacks the faster characters will do and can therefore guess at the penalties they will have for those attacks and figure out if they need to have extra attacks in case they want to counter, right?) c) Each participant in the combat then goes through their turns in initiative order. 2. Gaining spells is a little confusing for me. Now there is an advantage that gives you a level of 40 in a particular path of magic (such as creation, light, etc...) which does not count towards the spending of your Magic Level (or whatever they are called, again don't have my book on me, sorry). And, as it says in the advantage, you get access to all the spells up to level 40 (including the free access), correct? Regardless of whether or not you bought the advantage, you get to spend your Magic Level and it is recommended that PCs only spend up to half of it. (If they bought the advantage, this is on top of the 40 free levels they gained from the advantage, right?) So far, I believe I understand. Now, there are two ways of gaining spells, as I understand it. You can either choose to buy spells individually (in which case you can buy according to the table given and you can buy them from any of the paths) or you can invest your levels in a chosen path, in which case you gain spells as you increase in the path (so, for example, if you have 50 Magic Level points to start, it is recommended you spend only 25 of those at first level. If you spent them all in the Light path, you would have every spell up to level 25 in the path, correct?). Once you get to level 25 in the path you have all those spells up to level 25, you do not have to spend points to "buy" them correct? Finally, every level, magic users get additional magic levels, right? So in the previous example, at level 2, you would have 25 magic level and any more that you can get for leveling up? When would you spend those points? Would it be a roleplay thing where, for example, you find a grimoire and you decide to study the spells in the grimoire, and as you study them, you could spend the Magic Level you haven't spent yet to buy spells from that path or increase your level in that path? Or, when you level, do you get to spend so many Magic Levels? If so, when does the PC "catch up" so to speak to their full potential of spells? 3. I'm afraid that I still don't understand Ki and Ki accumulation. I've read a number of forum posts on the subject, and I think I have a basic grasp, but I'm not sure. For each stat, you have a Ki value, which is the stored Ki for that stat equal to that stat, correct? On top of this, you have a Ki accumulation for that stat that is dependent on a table, correct? I believe that the base is fairly low, with any stat under 10 basically having only 1 Ki accumulation. However, one can spend creation points to buy an advantage to increase this Ki accumulation value, correct? Then the techniques you use (either from the book or one you create yourself) has an MK cost which you must spend your MK to buy. It has a "casting cost" which is usually a value of ki for various stats. For example, you might have a power requiring 2 str ki and 2 dex ki. To use this technique, you must spend however many rounds necessary to meet the value of the power using your ki accumulation for each stat. So in this abilities example, if you have a ki accumulation of 1 in str and 2 in dex, you must wait until the second turn (even if you have the 2 dex in your first term) in order to accumulate the str ki necessary to use the technique. In this example you would accumulate the first turn, and then, on the second turn, you would be able to use the technique, right? Also, do techniques that sustain, do you simply remove the ki from one of the stats every turn, effectively slowing down your ki accumulation? Or does it not effect ki accumulation and you just take it directly from the stored ki? Well, this is all for now. I might have more questions as I continue to review the rules, so you might see my longwinded posts on here again. I think I have a pretty good grasp of the rules. I just need some details cleared up and to make sure I understand everything.
  15. As an Anima noob, I would imagine that to make an effective hybrid class, you would want to take a good number of disadvantages and use the creation points that you gained to buy advantages that would make you effective in both. It would result in a character with many difficulties that might be fun for roleplaying but could lead to some difficulties. Seems to me the hybrid classes are best left to advanced players that are already familiar with the system.
×
×
  • Create New...