Jump to content

DHFrew3

Members
  • Content Count

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About DHFrew3

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Berkeley, California, United States
  1. DHFrew3

    Sight

    But what's not clear is do you have to be in the space with the sight token or in the room with the sight token or in range of the sight token? Thanks
  2. Do sight tokens get removed & reveal new tiles as soon as someone moves into "line of sight"? Is there range involved? How does this work? Thanks, Don
  3. I'm suspect this has come up before or is in the Rules, but I can't find it and it just came up in a game. The Rules state that: < At the beginning of a character’s activation, that character receives a number of movement points equal to his Movement characteristic (see diagram on page 11). Each movement point allows that character to move from his current movement circle to an adjacent movement circle. >> If a character has not yet expended all of his Movement points, but suffers wounds during his action resulting in a lowered Movement characteristic, may he continue moving based on the original number of Movement points that he started the activation with, or does the number of Movement points drop with the lowered Movement characteristic during a single character's activation? I contend that the Movement points are awarded at the beginning of the activation based on the Movement characteristic's value at that time, but are then independent of the Movement characteristic for the rest of the activation. My opponent feels that the lowered Movement characteristic reflects the effect of being wounded and should result in lowered Movement points immediately upon receiving ther wound. Does anyone know for sure what the answer is? Thanks, Don Frew
  4. Rule Question: In my last game, a complex situation came up: Hoss Harbinger was standing in a circle on the same path with Heizinger. Heizinger had the Hermetica Occulta. Hoax was invisible with three invisible figures on the board. One of these figures was standing on a circle with a Mental bonus symbol. Hoss tried to swap places with Hoax, raising these questions... 1) Hoax cannot be "targeted" when she is invisible, but Hoss's Chronograph of Jan Ruze does not require a "target" to swap places with another character. Can he use the Chronograph to swap places with an invisible Hoax? (After all, he usually can't see the figures he swaps with anyway.) If so, and Hoss wins the mental duel, who decides which invisible Hoax figure he swaps with? Does she stay invisible? 2) How are invisible Hoax figures affected by bonuses / penalties in circles on the board? If they apply, do they only apply to the figure standing on them or to all the figures? 3) If Hoss is standing on a circle affected by Heizinger's Hermetica Occulta and he swaps with another character, does the other character have to win a mental duel against Heizinger to "enter" the circle affected by the Hermetica Occulta? What happens if she loses the mental duel? 4) In our case, we ended up with a visible Hoax on Heizinger's path. On her next activation, she went invisible. Can the new, invisible figures be placed on circles on Heizinger's path, or does the Hermetica Occulta require them to first win a mental duel? Is "placing" the same as "entering"? Thanks, Don Frew Andrew Meredith from Fantasy Flight provided these answers… << Nice set of questions Don, Here's some answers: 1) When Hoss uses the Chronograph of Jan Ruze, you should declare which figure you will be replacing (which means you need to define which Hoax figure you are replacing) and then engage in the Mental Duel with Hoax. 2) Bonuses only apply to the figure standing in the circle. So, if one Hoax moves through a movement penalty circle, that figure must pay the additional movement point. If Hoax makes an attack while invisible, and she stands in a circle that gives her a Combat bonus she gets the bonus. Alternatively, if one Hoax stands in a Green Combat circle, another Hoax elsewhere does not benefit from it. 3) The character forced to move into the circle Hoss first occupied does not take a Mental test, just as their exchanging places does not cause a Shocktruppen nearby on overwatch to gain an immediate overwatch attack. The character has to then activate and make a move action or action for a Schocktruppen to use their Overwatch attack. 4) The Hoax models are placed first (Keep in mind that turning invisible is Hoax's action for the turn. So she will not be able to then attack.) After she turns invisible, if one of the models moves into a circle that is on Von Heïzinger's path, she must THEN take a mental test. If she fails, and Von Heïzinger has the Eye of Horus, she'll immediately become invisible again. Thanks for the questions. Andrew >> I wrote back and asked… Thank you, Andrew! One thing was left unclear... If Hoss swaps with an invisible Hoax, does she become visible? If so, is it the one that was swapped? Thanks, Don Andrew responded… << Unless Hoss was standing in a circle with Smoke, then when he switches with Hoax she does not become visible. If he WAS standing in Smoke, and the movement forces Hoax into Smoke, then she becomes visible. You only have a choice of which Hoax becomes visible when multiple Hoax's become visible at the same time. (i.e. if a Smoke Grenade is thrown onto the path of two invisible Hoax models.) Otherwise, the invisible model that was effected is always the model that becomes visible. Thanks for the question! Andrew Meredith >>
  5. I wrote the following to FFG and got the following response:: << Rule Question: The Patmos Amulet includes the effect that: "After this attack, the target moves its full normal complement of movement points (or as many as possible) away from you through circles of your choice, and may not be activated for the rest of the turn." Believe it or not, I have been in more than one argumant over what "away from you" means. My interpretation has been to say that the circle the character ends up in must be further away from Heizinger than the character's starting circle was. The competing interpretation has been that each and every circle the character passes through must be further away from Heizinger than was the previous circle. This must have come up before. Is there any clear ruling as to what "away from you" means? Thanks, Don >> << This is a short answer, I apologize, but since its a simple yes or no question, the answer is: The circle Von Heïzinger's victim ends up in must be farther away from you than when the victim started moving. Of course, with all rulings, if this changes when we post the next FAQ update, then the new ruling would overrule this one. Thanks for the question! -Andrew Meredith >> There you go! Don
  6. The Patmos Amulet includes the effect that: "After this attack, the target moves its full normal complement of movement points (or as many as possible) away from you through circles of your choice, and may not be activated for the rest of the turn." Believe it or not, I have been in more than one argumant over what "away from you" means. My interpretation has been to say that the circle the character ends up in must be further away from Heizinger than the character's starting circle was. The competing interpretation has been that each and every circle the character passes through must be further away from Heizinger than was the previous circle. This must have come up before. Is there any clear ruling as to what "away from you" means? Thanks, Don
  7. This may sound dumb at this point, but what about Torch & Loss of Vision. Do they cancel each other out as well? Don
  8. Okay. I see what you're saying, but the difference is very subtle on some of the cards. Thanks, Don
  9. I think that there is a deficiency, if not a problem, with the Equipment Cards. The backs of the cards can indicate if equipment is "Character-Specific Equipment", i.e. equipment that is "specific to a certain character" (like the Stosstruppen's Infernal Sustenance), or is "General Bonus Token Equipment", i.e. equipment that is "not specific to a certain character". The problem is that most of the cards in this latter category ARE specific to a Faction, like the Reich's Helm of Diomedes or the Union's Presidential Unit Citation, but in most cases nothing on the card, front or back, indicates this. (A few cards mention the Faction restriction in the text.) The cards were meant to replace having to shuffle numerous rules books to deal with the equipment, but without this information, you'll still need the rules to know what item goes with what Faction. Perhaps future editions of these cards could have Faction-specific backs? Don
  10. The Trauma card "All Alone" says that: "Each time you enter a room containing another investigator, or one enters your room, test your Willpower. Fail: Take 1 Horror." I had two investigators walking through a mansion essentially hand-in-hand when I gave one of them this card. Is there ANY way for them to stay together and not be triggering this card almost every turn? It seems silly for one investigator to be making a Willpower check almost every turn solely because the game mechanics require one invesitagor to move AND THEN the other one to move, when in reality they would be walking together. The compromise we came up with was to forego the Willpower checks as long as the two investigators were never more than one space apart. So, the one investigator stayed sane at the cost of severely slowing down the movement for the pair of them. Any comments? Thanks, Don
  11. Thanks! That covered everything! Don
  12. This seems like a big error, but since no one else has mentioned it I think I must have missed something. The rules only refer to horror checks when monsters are in the same room with an investigator. What if they are in the same tile or space outdoors? How do horror checks work outdoors? Thanks, Don
  13. A while back, I proposed an Ottoman faction. Miah999 contributed some ideas to it as well. One Hero would, of course, be an Assassin / Hashashin, with skills similar to Yula and Hoax. One thought, to be true to the historical assassin, would be that at some point in the game, but before the Assassin character interacts any objects on the board, fulfills any objectives, or interacts with an opposing Player's characters, even by sight, the Assassin Player could turn over the character card and take an opponent's character in its place. This would mean that the other Player's character had been an assassin spy all along and the "Assassin" on the Ottoman Player's side had never really existed. One Hero would be a Janissary basically a jugernaut of strength and toughness. He would have armor, a sword, and some distance weapon. One Hero would be a Sorcerer, with powers based on summoning Djinn. I've given the most thought to the Sorcerer. He would use an Action to invoke a Djinni. I imagine the Djinni would be like the Matriarch's voivodes, but would be invoked during the game as needed, would have 1 or 2 individual powers unique to each Djinni, and would vanish at the end of the turn in which they first used those powers. This would make the sorcerer versatile, but each "power" would have a limited, one-use application - with a task and a target. So, for example, I could give a Djinni with the Mental Duel skill the command "Find and attack O'Neill!" and it would do so, but vanish after one attack. To be "realistic", the Djinni would be like the goetic spirits in the Key of Solomon. There would be a specific list of available Djinni/spirits that could be summoned during the game. Summoning a spirit would require an Action. Each summoned spirit would have a specific power, could be called once, would performing a specific task during that same turn, and then would leave and couldn't be called again in the same game. (It would be like being able to add up new equipment tokens DURING the game, but only being able to use them once.) I could imagine two objects that the Sorcerer would have on his card: 1) <Solomon's ring> would allow the summoning of the Djinni/spirits. It could be lost, and could even be used by another character that can use Hermetica. 2) a <Djinn bottle> would protect the bearer from the Djinni, including the summoner. Possibly, summoning a Djinni without the second item would cause the loss of one health level in the summoner. The existing Hermetica(s) <Atra> and/or <Occulta> might also serve as protection from the Djinni. You know, one of the spirits might foul up electrical fields and be effective at temporarily neutralizing the special tech of the Union and Matriarchy. Another might cause fear and force a character to retreat. Another might make a physical attack at a distance. Another might make a mental attack. Another might steal a piece of equipment. Another might move a character beyond their usual movement allowance. Another might blow smoke away. Etc., etc. So, with <Solomon's Ring> as the character's Special Item, what other additional pack items might he/she have besides the <Djinn Bottle>? The character could also have a magic, <ritual dagger> that would count as a hand-to-hand weapon and be specially effective against "occult" characters / attacks. Any other ideas for the Ottoman Sorcerer? How about Ottoman troopers? Don
  14. That's actually a truly bizarre "coincidence! Last Saturday night, four players, game ends with one player in the Underworld and the "Broken Chain" closing the last gate. We were working against Y'golonac, tho'. Did you interpret the "Broken Chain" card the same way, with it awarding a gate trophy (which won the game)? Don
×
×
  • Create New...