Jump to content

griton

Members
  • Content Count

    496
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by griton

  1. FFG keeps their FAQ/Errata document updated and consolidated into a single PDF, so I wouldn't really classify it as "tons of erratas and FAQs". If you have a tablet or laptop available (or even a smart phone), it and the rules are easily searchable as well.
  2. The reason I refer to it as "semi-official" (i.e. partly official) is that it has come from an official source, but has yet to make it into the official published material. We've actually seen some of the semi-official email responses from FFG contradict each other and then settle on a certain direction before being published into the FAQ/Errata documents. Hence why I designate FFG Sez material as "semi-official" and rulebooks and FAQ/Errata PDFs as official.
  3. His full fatigue? He can recover one fatigue or health per round. I think you're confusing "turn" and "round". In a 4-hero game, each round comprises 5 turns (1 turn for each hero followed by 1 turn for the Overlord).
  4. It depends on if you're using #3 or #4. In #3, it refers to any figure (the same way lava does), in #4, it only refers to heroes, so a hero treated as a monster wouldn't fulfill that condition. That's the key point he was trying to make.
  5. FFG generally does this when they make re-prints.
  6. I think you missed that what I was doing was clarifying / rephrasing FFG's response. hence the "So according the the FFG Sez response*" and "doesn't have [stuff that effectively forces] house rules" * "FFG Sez" being the nickname for semi-official responses from FFG based on email communications, not yet verified by officially printed FAQ/Errata documents, named after the thread/page on BGG that compiles all of that info.
  7. Though remember that generally speaking, it's rare you'll want to NOT expand in the middle of the move actions because you can cover more distance by using that extra expansion. There are times when you won't be able to because of other figure placement, but it's rare.
  8. Sounds like you're basing a lot of assumption on everyone playing a 4-hero campaign. Both of these are far less likely to happen as you reduce the number of heroes. (Fewer choices / usable gear to spend gold on, which delays buying equipment, which reduces chances of winning further, and fewer search tokens = fewer chances at Treasure Chest) The extra shop choices are probably one of the biggest benefits, especially to parties with fewer heroes in them. Keep in mind that Reinforce has been nerfed in the Errata and not everyone uses the new version, so YMMV.
  9. Based on the rules as written, here's my interpretation: Since you can always attack with your bare hands (even if you have other weapons equipped), Dual Strike would still work on Bertram. So while he might get the damage boosts / utility from the weapons, he's still not getting the extra dice out of them, so probably not that powerful. (That said, I don't have the full quest rules in front of me, so I might be missing something.) And yes, according to RAW, it does look like a Skirmisher with Dual Strike could add surge abilities from his melee weapons to the attack made with the Fire Flask (since it doesn't need to be equipped, meaning his normal melee weapons are still equipped). I would not be surprised to eventually see Dual Strike erratad to say "when you perform a melee attack" instead of just "when you perform an attack" or possibly even "when you perform a(n/ melee) attack with one of your equipped weapons". Hrmm... though as a side note, looking at the text on Dual Strike, it looks like Dual Strike could be used with a crossbow, and you'd gain the ability to move targets / add 2 wounds, but you wouldn't get the extra surge. Not something that seems intuitive, but would work based on how the card is written.
  10. So according to the FFG Sez response, It's effectively a special Campaign Phase that goes like this: C1. Receive Gold from Search Cards C3. Receive Rewards I1. Level up Monsters C5/I2. Clearance Sale (Everything Must Go!*) I3. Upgrade Shop (out with the old, in with the new) C2. Cleanup C4. Spend Experience Points (so any current or future skill/OL cards purchased here that may affect shopping don't apply to the special phase, but would to normal shopping phases, and it's not REALLY a shopping phase anyway) C6. Choose next quest C7. Set up quest C8. Travel * Ordinary Shopping Rules, special offers, promotions, hero abilities, and overlord cards may not apply in your area; see BGG, Community Forums, and/or Errata for details. Not the most elegant of solutions, but at least it doesn't have weird contradictions or scenarios that don't make sense, effectively forcing everyone to operate on house rules.
  11. One thing this will do is either have you playing 4 more quests than intended (which changes the XP balance), or you never see the quests on the last couple rows if you switch to the Interlude after 3 Act I quests / Finale after 3 Act II quests (according to RAW).
  12. Yeah, the use of the "relic" keyword in the quest description is a bit misleading. They should probably have referred to it as 'The "Duskblade" token' until you got to the rewards. Based on FFG's responses, that's probably how you should treat it.
  13. If you can keep Grisban close to max fatigue, he won't be able to use Death Rage much. I would also consider knocking him out first instead of last. You may have to fight through some more healing, but if he does manage to get off Death Rage, it'll be while Gryvorn has higher health, and you may be able to adjust your plan afterward. If you save attacking Grisban until later, you might not be able to respond after Death Rage because it might be the killing blow.
  14. So in this case, the collection of gold / rewards from the interlude happens after the "Select from all the items" and before a normal shopping phase that occurs where you only show a few items. The problem is that according to RAW, as soon as they purchase from "any remaining Act I cards", the rest are returned to the game box, making that normal shopping phase have nothing to select from. The point is that everyone kind of assumes that this replaces the normal shopping phase in the Campaign phase, which makes a certain amount of sense because of its elegance, but that's not how the Rules actually read. If the rules section on p. 22 under "Act II" happens immediately after completing the quest, before the campaign phase kicks in, and Act II cards aren't available until after an Act II quest, then the Shopping step of that campaign phase is pointless. Note that under "The Campaign Phase", at the very top of p. 20 of the rules, it says And under Act II on p. 22 it says So according to RAW (not necessarily according to what everyone thinks makes sense), and until at least a semi-official clarification / errata: You don't get XP, Gold, or ANY rewards until Steps 1 and 3 of the Campaign Phase. Since the Post-Interlude stuff is self contained and says "Immediately after the quest" and the Campaign phase is also self contained and "after the quest", it implies one of two things: Post-Interlude is before Campaign Phase. Hero players don't get to use Interlude rewards when purchasing from all remaining Act I shop cards because they haven't reached the step of the Campaign phase where they get rewards, then Step 5 (Shopping) of the Campaign phase is pointless because all Act I cards have been returned to the box. Post-Interlude is after the Campaign Phase. Hero players get rewards from Interlude, perform a normal shopping phase (which is absolutely pointless because they are going to have the opportunity to buy from all the cards instead of a limited number of them, the first Act II quest is set up (heroes and monsters are already on the board), Travel happens (which might affect Hero gold). THEN the Act I Monster and Lieutenant cards are replaced (which technically happens after the monster cards have already been placed near the board during quest setup, etc.), THEN the heroes get to purchase from any remaining Act I cards, etc. To many people, #2 really doesn't seem to make much sense, and #1 only makes a little more sense. Which is why everyone seems to think that what should really be happening is something that isn't actually in the Rules As Written, which is why we are trying to get an official response from FFG as to their intent. Personally, I feel that the Post-Interlude stuff should say "Replace the Shopping step of the Campaign phase that follows the Interlude with these steps:" instead of "Immediately after completing the Interlude, follow these steps:", but if I was to follow RAW, that's not what is happening.
  15. In that case, it doesn't look like he has ANY Descent in stock.
  16. Some good followup questions would probably be: Is the regular shopping phase skipped / is this in its place, or does it occur during a different part of the campaign phase? Are heroes allowed to sell back item cards during it? Basically, if it's not a regular shopping phase, what other differences might there be? Will future cards possibly affect it?
  17. As a clarification, he means whoever's turn it is.
  18. Definitely an interesting idea. I like it, especially for its simplicity.
  19. And it has to be able to declare/perform that action from the space it's in before expanding (no melee attacks declared from 3 spaces away, then expanding to perform the attack).
  20. The general consensus is (or at least used to be with the base Campaign) that 3 Heroes is the most in favor of the Hero Party. This is largely due to any use of large monsters. Going from 2 to 3 players gives the heroes a 50% increase in power / actions, and the Overlord often just upgrades a minion to a master (in the case of large monsters) or adds a minion (for smaller ones), which isn't as big of an increase in power, and doesn't change the # of actions by much. Going from 3 to 4 players gives the heroes a 33% increase in power / actions, and the Overlord suddenly can add a minion large monster to their master monster, which is probably closer to a 50-75% increase in power and up to doubling the number of actions. It's also widely assumed that FFG tunes things around a 4-hero party for the best balance. This puts a 3-hero party at favoring the Heroes and a 2-hero party favoring the OL.
  21. Really? Slightly thicker cards is the driving reason you were purchasing their games? That sounds a little extreme. Had they always used the new cards, would you have even noticed/cared? And as Electris pointed out, they may "feel" less durable, but might also have other benefits to them. Granted, I haven't seen the new cards, but I really doubt that unless you let kids chew on them, have people constantly spilling things on them, or have players which just don't show any respect for your things and constantly mangle things, their new durability is so significantly less that it suddenly makes a massive difference.
  22. The problem I'm seeing is that you may be actively encouraging both sides to lose a Rumor quest. What if it comes out early enough that quest choice is more important than the reward for winning? The heroes can't even bother running around for search tokens because they don't get anything from them. Any time a game or system encourages a player to try to lose (especially both sides), then there's a flaw in the system. Some might say that the current system of gold being more valuable than relics "encourages losing", but it doesn't. It just means that there is a different goal for the heroes than "winning", but is still something that they have to try for. Completing the quest objectives just becomes secondary to acquiring gold; if they can win AND collect all the search tokens, they would. This is different than saying "We would rather sit down and do nothing so that the OL gets an automatic win and we can choose the next quest." Compensation for losing (for the sake of balance) should still always be less than the reward for winning.
  23. Are you thinking of the old-school (1990) classic Rampart?
  24. p. 5, Hero Setup: So while not a rule per se, it probably works just as well.
  25. If you look at the product pages, you'll see green and yellow boxes with numbers. These tell you how many of the official FFG packs you need to get. The colors determine the size and the numbers determine the # of packs.
×
×
  • Create New...