Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by griton

  1. According to RAW, (Trollfens p. 4; Lair of the Wyrm p. 3), under "Expansion Setup" (emphasis mine) So technically, they all go into one supply as there is no rule for separating them.
  2. The best way to think of it is that the Act II Advanced Quest cards are like the Quest Rumor Cards that you don't draw and don't have a choice in playing; they either come into play as a victory condition for the initial Act I Rumor Card quest, or they don't. Another thing to keep in mind (because it's an oft-misunderstood rule) is that the Rumor quests DO NOT award XP in the campaign. You may already know, but if not, I figure it's better to get it out there. Cheers!
  3. Also note that Travel is always assumed to be performed from Arryn (in the base campaign, anyway; others will vary). Actions can be used twice. The only restriction is that a monster can not use two actions that involve attacks (specifically say "attack"; note that inflicting damage isn't necessarily an attack). The other restriction would be if it said to exhaust something, but monsters generally don't have that mechanic on them since there's only one monster card per group. Stun means the NEXT action must be spent removing Stun. If a figure is stunned during their first action, they finish their first action, then their 2nd action must be spent removing Stun. If they are Stunned before they use their 1st action, then their 1st action must be spent removing Stun. Unless it says otherwise, (objective tokens that block movement or are considered obstacles), you may move through them. You never have to pick up an objective token, and it'll usually cost you something (e.g. one action or one movement point, as defined by the quest) to do so.
  4. While it's certainly possible, I think it's really unlikely as they would at least need to do a re-print of all monster cards with Act III / Act IV stats, and that would only apply to anyone who has those monsters. (They don't like making products that require other products that aren't the base game.) Check out boardgamegeek.com and see if anyone over there has done something with it, though. It's a fairly common request (because a number of people want this to be their RPG replacement). Unfortunately to get a full Act III/IV campaign running, you'd also need full shop item decks (which aren't so easy to homebrew).
  5. This is a pretty common misinterpretation, but the attribute for the test is tied to the location of the runelock, not the color. The Runelock of Power on the Dragon's Lair always uses Willpower. The Runelock of Strength on the Lava Cave always uses Might. The Runelock of Cunning on the Sewer always uses Awareness or Knowledge. After you've passed the check, then you flip the token to find out which portal is closed based on the color.
  6. According to the Rules, if you use some parts of an expansion, you should use all parts of the expansion. That said, I don't think it's THAT big of a deal if you just limit things to heroes/monsters for your first campaign. Though there's still a decent number of options out of the box for your first play-through and the heroes / monsters tend to be a little less complex and the number of weird combinations is lower if you stick with the core box.
  7. I highly doubt FFG will. (Many players will see it as "Lazy") but there may be someone out there who has. And if not, I imagine it wouldn't be difficult if you could snag some templates from somewhere.
  8. Correct. The Rumor Cards / Advanced Quest cards aren't used. You just play the quests in the order specified by the mini-campaign rules.
  9. If you're referring to the minions spawned from Split due to the master dying from being targeted or affected by Blasting Rune, no. (At least as far as I can tell based on the Rules as Written and FFG's definitions of "replacing" as far as Split is concerned.) If you're referring to any other minions already on the board before the master Splits, which are also adjacent to that master, then yes.
  10. That's not how Split works. Split says that the figure is replaced, so removing it is a necessary part of Split. As I mentioned above (though it appears it was as an edit after you posted), it doesn't make sense to Add figures, then Remove the first one. And even if you could (which you can't, see below), the figure would have to be removed as part of Split before you could resolve Blasting Rune. (You can't partially resolve one event and interrupt it with another.) Here's what FFG said on the matter of Split. Source: http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ#toc41
  11. I'm not sure where you're getting this info. But here's how the situation plays out: He declared an attack, so that's happening regardless. He then decides to take the 2 movement points before resolving the attack. He moves one space. He moves another space, finds a pit trap, fails his check. He suffers 1 heart, has no movement points (unless he interrupted a previous movement action which wasn't mentioned), so is Stunned. His attack action has already been declared, so that still gets to happen and is resolved as normal. His next declared action must be spent removing the Stunned token.
  12. I'm not sure that FFG has given a definition of "replacing" as a general rule (there have been a couple instances, but those are for figures on the board, not available for a quest. Assuming FFG's intent as something other than RAW, without them explicitly posting a clarification/errata has almost always been the wrong choice.
  13. The game is definitely balanced around only having 9 quests. This is why when you add quests from rumor cards, you don't award any XP for those quests.
  14. I think I have to disagree with just about everyone here. Not that they are wrong about it being the hero's choice, but that the resolution doesn't work out the way you think if you resolve Split first. Here's the point everyone is missing: If you resolve split first, the defeated monster is no longer on the board, so the new monsters aren't adjacent to the original target, and technically, the original target is no longer adjacent to ANY other monsters either, so Blasting Rune would be pointless. You can't resolve one partially (place the the new monsters before removing the original one, then trigger blasting rune, then finish split; and even that assumes placing before removing, which is incorrect because FFG has clarified that one creature goes into its original place, then the other is adjacent, and placing before removing would involve having two creatures in the same space in something that isn't a move action); you have to fully resolve one, then the other.
  15. Base Game Only: Necromancer Widow Tarha Disciple Avric Albright Base Game Only: Runemaster Widow Tarha Knight Syndrael Base Game Only: Necromancer Widow Tarha Knight Syndrael Thief Jain Fairwood Base Game Only: Wildlander Jain Fairwood Necromancer Leoric of the Book Disciple Avric Albright Base Game + Lair of the Wyrm: Champion Reynhart Spiritspeaker Ashrian Base Game + Conversion Kit + Lair of the Wyrm: Geomancer High Mage Quellen Disciple Avric Albright Wildlander Tomble Burrowell Base Game + Conversion Kit + Lair of the Wyrm: Geomancer High Mage Quellen Berserker Laughin' Buldar Wildlander Tobin Farslayer Base Game + Conversion Kit + Lair of the Wyrm: Geomancer High Mage Quellen Disciple Avric Albright Knight Varikas the Dead Wildlander Tobin Farslayer
  16. I don't see why not. There's nothing to prevent them from writing down what cards you've played, so not allowing them to do so just encourages weird behavior that accomplishes the same thing.
  17. Since the OL can spend 1 XP for 3 Threat, I imagine he could do this at the beginning of the game based on which level of Epic Play being used.
  18. How is "adding a surge to a blind dice roll" not suggesting that it must be used "before dice are rolled"? Though like I said above, this is probably a better question for FFG than on here since there's so much disagreement about the interpretation.
  19. I don't think all warriors would be that bad. They'd be tough to take down, and many would have a relatively high defense, so while you might be set back slightly needing everyone to stand up, the OL isn't going to have an automatic knock down again compared to many other classes. I actually think this would be the most difficult single-archetype party to use. Too many healers means that most of the time, you aren't going to be able to use healing abilities (since everyone is pretty much always going to be at full health) which effectively nerfs every hero on the board. Personally I think the all-Scout or all-Mage parties would be the more effective because they have the most flexibility. Warrior classes often rely on Melee weapons for their skills, so ranged attacks are a bit less effective, and as mentioned above, healer classes rely on people not being at full health to make full use of their abilities. With the other two, I can't think of too many other restrictions (though they would tend to be a bit squishy, so they'd have to rely on rushing tactics).
  20. I personally find the best bases are the ones that specifically match the figures and don't try to assume an environment. (Things like lava / fire for elementals, etc.)
  21. According to RAW (as far as I can tell), there's actually one case where it can be beneficial to do otherwise (though almost definitely unintended). If they aren't in a direct (orthogonal) line, but are off to the side a bit, and you're using Tobin Farslayer, you can technically count from a space behind you diagonally as your first space. Though I really don't think that's intended, so I don't play it that way; otherwise diagonally adjacent could count as 3 spaces away (if you follow the counting spaces rules strictly).
  22. There are also a number of these on boardgamegeek.com for those that don't want to build their own.
  23. I can understand this sentiment, but don't confuse "not engaging/contributing in these forums" with "not paying attention to them". They definitely do read them. (I've pointed out a discussion when asking a Rules Question and the response mentioned that they had already seen it.) Unfortunately without that interaction, it's hard to know for certain, though there have been a few hints (suggestions implemented down the road, etc., but those could be coincidental).
  24. Note that they specified (emphasis mine) "cannot be played in a quest and sometimes a whole campaign". You cannot summon Eliza as an Agent where she already appears as a Lieutenant, so if Eliza was in some Nerekhall quests, the utility of her Summon card is diminished compared to using a Lieutenant Pack for a Lieutenant that you'll never encounter normally in the quests since you know you'll have the option to use that Summon card in every quest.
  25. Except that it doesn't specify "before dice are rolled" (like cards which must be used at the beginning of an attack do) or "(action): exhaust to make an attack that gains 1 surge". It also doesn't specify "after dice are rolled". Generally speaking, if it doesn't specify, the player gets to choose when during the triggering condition it happens (in this case, at any point during the attack).
  • Create New...