Jump to content

felix16

Members
  • Content Count

    72
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by felix16

  1. The rule that confuses you actually only allows you to declare a ready action and then you have the choice to attack OR move, in addition to placing an order token. But you are actually allowed to place the order FIRST and THEN move or attack. And so, if you place an AIM order you can then immediately use your attack to make an aimed attack.
  2. As far as I can read the rules, you ONLY use the off-hand bonus, no other aspect of the weapon. Exploring the entire dungeon occurs within the space of one week.
  3. Bindlespin said: I don't think Gandalf was at Weathertop. Strider saves the halflings there. I think he claims he was trapped on Sarumans's tower in Isengard or something. There was a butterfly maybe... and some eagles got involved. And then he disappears again in the mines of moria, and he didn't help frodo at mount doom. he spends a lot of time off hunting gollum. who knows what he is really up to most of the time? lining his pockets with the wealth of the oil rights of the elves who he happily ships off to the grey havens. Gandalf was at Weathertop. The hobbits and Aragorn saw the lightshow he made when fending off the Nazgûl. And he left his "G" rune on a stone for them to find.
  4. Glaurung said: Felix said: Troymk1 said: It's an action though. So if you let the ally be rescued after shadow cards are revealed the attack goes undefended. You can't use an action to save a character from combat damage otherwise. So apart from using it to pop Beorn or Gandalf back into your hand just before they would otherwise be discarded I see it's usefulness as limited. If this card was a response it would be worth 2 resources to me. That is wrong actually. You can play actions at the end of any of the steps in combat, so you can easily declare a character as a defender in step 2, wait for the shadow card to resolve in step 3 and then play the card, as an action, at the end of the step, before step 4 where the attack is resolved. The attack is not undefended, since a defender was declared in step 2. Yes you can play actions and after shadow effect too but...... in the rules if defender somehow was removed from combat before determine combat damage attack is count undefended. This is not Magic the gathering my friend. You cannot do this. Enemies deal they damage anyway and if at the moment when damage is deal there is no defender ,attack is undefended. Sad but true. Yes that is true. I didn´t look closely enough at the rules. I only read step 2 and interpreted that as saying your declaration in that step decided the status of the attack for the entirety of that attack. I stand corrected.
  5. Troymk1 said: It's an action though. So if you let the ally be rescued after shadow cards are revealed the attack goes undefended. You can't use an action to save a character from combat damage otherwise. So apart from using it to pop Beorn or Gandalf back into your hand just before they would otherwise be discarded I see it's usefulness as limited. If this card was a response it would be worth 2 resources to me. That is wrong actually. You can play actions at the end of any of the steps in combat, so you can easily declare a character as a defender in step 2, wait for the shadow card to resolve in step 3 and then play the card, as an action, at the end of the step, before step 4 where the attack is resolved. The attack is not undefended, since a defender was declared in step 2.
  6. What I think might be important to note here is that the treachery for the glyphs is paid before the game starts, just like treachery to replace cards in the OL deck. Then the glyphs are mixed in with the normal ones (even though you should also note that the OL looks at them before choosing which one to place when revealing a new area).
  7. And you are not effectively doomed, since you might get allies that can quest with you, but unfortunately you have discovered the great weakness of the tactics deck, the questing. The very important thing that makes the tactics base deck problematic to play.
  8. Any of the others should do the trick well enough. Just hang in there and save the tactics deck for when you play with a friend.
  9. In a game where none of the players has any previous experience in advanced campaigns I would think it would be good to discuss this in the group, whether or not players would like to know in advance. In this case I do not think the advantage would be too grreat, as people are very much learning. But after a game or two I would suggest both hero and overlord should have at least a basic overview of the available possibilities.
  10. Kløve said: NinjaDorg said: Iver said: Hey NinjaDorg! I just played your first scenario after printing it out and laminating it yesterday and I must say it was great fun and a challenge! Suprisingly we won quick quickly, although we encountered some really super nastly stuff like a hill troll in the first round and quite at the end this super mean treachery card where all the players discard all of their event cards! wow, never saw that card before.... Anyway, because of the high damage of Gilmli and Legolas ability, we progressed extremely quickly. We played with one core set, my wife had Aragorn, Dunhere and Eowen and me Gilmi, Legolas and Glorfindel. I was really lucky to have gondorian spearman, Gandalf, quick strike, swift stirke, Dwarfen Axe and a citadel plate on my first draw on my hand! Great game, will try the rest of your tale in the next few days! Great to hear it Iver - thanks for posting. I'm currently working on another scenario, but then Gollum arrived last night so after 5 plays of that I'll be incorporating all the new stuff into this scenario too. Such a cool game... I'll just sit quietly here and pretend I'm not jealous of you getting Gollum /sulks I am also desperately trying to suppress my jealousy after seeing that....
  11. And when that is mentioned, the Hummerhorns card has a Victory point notation, but for some reason it is printed below the shadow effect symbol. I would guess you still get the points for defeating it........
  12. Quest 1 should be fairly easy, even with the basic decks. Though Tactics might struggle.
  13. Why should there be? Any way it is done poses a challenge to the player, and one way is in no way superior to the other.
  14. Doom1502 said: I see your point with driven by shadow, but as (at least in the german version, don't know about the english v.) the text for an undefendet attack says you have to dicsard all attachments you control, I would read it the same way with defended attacks. Yes it does say control for the undefended version, and I bet they intended that to be the case for the defended attack as well. But pointing out that little thing was kinda my point. Now let´s wait for the NEXT version of the FAQ
  15. The objective cards are put back in the staging area. It is written on the cards.
  16. The damage is all dealt simultanously isn´t it?
  17. SiCK_Boy said: Taken from the FAQ: (1.06) Control of Non-objective Encounter Cards Players do not gain control of encounter cards unless control of the card is explicitly granted by a card effect. When an encounter card (such as Caught in a Web, CORE 86) becomes an attachment and attaches to a character, that character’s controller does not gain control of the attachment. So you can't choose to sacrifice Caught in a Web because you don't control it. That´s the funny part. The Forest Spider shadow effect (at least) specifies that you discard an attachment you control. Driven by Shadow, on the other hand reads: Shadow: Choose and discard 1 attchment from the defending character(...) Nothing about control.
  18. Doom1502 said: Kløve said: I really appreciate the new FAQ. Only one thing stood out for me: the reversal of the ruling on Chieftain Ufthak. In the first FAQ the ruling was, that he receive the resource token when he attacks, now it's after the attack (as per the card text). Interesting. I quess this is because of the wording of the german card text where it is very clear that he gains the ressource token after the attack. With the old FAQ I had to decide if I play by the newest rules or by the wording on the card.... This shouldn´t really ever be a problem. The latest rulings should take precedence. And on another note, I am also a little confused by Legolas suddenly attacking again.
  19. Actually (and this is a little funny) the shadow effect of Driven by Shadow can also get rid of Caught in a Web.
  20. kirkbauer said: Another one: it is not clear if Wolf Rider attacks and then retreats, or if you get a chance to attack him before he returns to the top of the encounter deck... Since it says he goes to the top of the deck "after combat", and combat is the name of a phase, I would say the ability triggers at the end of the combat phase, giving you the possibility to attack. Since it also is a shadow card, by definition, that would be consistent with other shadow cards. But do also note that he does NOT engage you, at least it doesn´t say so.
  21. Well, just so it´s said, Elrond is actually a half-elf. And as that is said, Arwen is probably a very likely candidate for at least ally status, if not hero.
  22. That´s true! How embarrassing! For some reason I remembered it as somehow just saving you from death, not bringing you back. It can even bring back another player´s hero.
  23. ClydeCloggie said: Felix said: The problem with the Nazgul is that they keep coming back. As long as the Ring still exists they cannot be permanently killed. And note that the rules don´t use the word "killed". Enemies and characters are "defeated". Exactly. Gandalf, Faramir etc. can all come back into play even after being defeated. So defeated does not equal kill. And the Nazgul cannot be killed, Witch King aside. And on that note, anyone think we might see cards to bring back defeated heroes to play?
  24. No problem, I like answering people´s rules questions. It helps me learn the rules better too.
  25. No. The encounter decks for each quest is set. There is a listing for the different sets of cards used to construct the decks in the support section for the game.
×
×
  • Create New...