Jump to content

zeb

Members
  • Content Count

    300
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About zeb

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Oxon, United Kingdom
  1. Also, engaging is symmetrical: there is no difference between being engaged and engging the enemy. Once engaged, the enemy has the opportunity to attack first.
  2. The rules questions form is more difficult to find than before, but the Contact page sends you there: https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/
  3. I found a typo: on page 2, at the very top, it still says FAQ version 1.6 1/22/2014. This should be updated.
  4. What I would love to see in the next FAQ: a comprehensive timing chart, with a better granularity than what we have. This would definitely (or greatly help) solve issues like this one: http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/127028-official-answer-the-ring-draws-them-frodos-cancellation/ this is related to (1): a better description of in play/not in play status of cards during the sequence of play (as normal or shadow cards, i.e. the status of active/inactive text), this would solve questions related such as http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/125830-goblin-sniper-triggers-for-itself/ and http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/94570-troll-purse-and-troll-key-drawn-as-shadow-cards/ GoT and CoC have had their rules clarified precisely because of timing ambiguity, and LOTR would benefit of this too.
  5. I was surprised initially, but then I thought this was logical. Although Responses are abilities solved last (FAQ 1.37), "When revealed" effects have to be solved after them, otherwise you would never be able to cancel the "When revealed" effect with a response. I need to stand corrected, as it is more complicated. Some responses can actually take place after a card has been revealed (and resolved their "When revealed" effect), so the timing may actually vary. This the case with Strider's path (see http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1235583/striders-path-passive-and-when-revealed-effects-lo). So what is important is the timing of the Response: with Frodo Baggins it is triggered by the action of 'just' revealing The Ring Draws Them (BR), so the exhaustion of the One Ring takes place before resolving the When Revealed of that latter card. The "cannot" word applies after the One Ring has exhausted and is an absolute (FAQ 1.14), cancelling the cancellation.
  6. Leaves play means that the card had to have been played, or put in play at some point. Caleb's ruling is that shadow cards are not played or in play (contrary to the impression we had from some FAQ entries), and thus Banks of the Anduin are discarded after they have been resolved as a shadow card. I think the rules and FAQ need a rewriting for addressing this, such as that shadow cards are discarded from play, or that shadow card text are wholefully inactive/ignored, etc. Note also that the FAQ uses "is discarded" for both Troll Purse and Key, there is no mention of "put in the discard pile".
  7. I am glad I am not the only one being puzzled with this. I thought there was an inconsitency with the shadow card rule. What is certain and clarified by Caleb, if that Shadow cards are not played and are not in play. Now this is satisfactory for Banks of Anduin. I think GrandSpleen is right: the text becomes active during the discard procedure, but this is not specified in the rules.
  8. I know this is an old topic, but just realised I never copied the answer Caleb sent me. For your information, this is what he wrote: My question: There is a bit of debate regarding the "When X is discarded/leaves play" effect for Encounter cards such as Banks of Anduin and Troll Key/Purse objectives. All these cards have an effect that says "If X is discarded/leaves play, return it to...", but no shadow effect. So if they are used as shadow cards, what happens when they are discarded at the end of combat? There seems to be a contradictory ruling, because the FAQ says that Banks are not returned to the Encounter deck, since the "non-shadow" text is ignored. On the other hand, it was previously ruled that the Troll Key/Purse cards were returned in play when discarded as shadow cards. So there the non-shadow text applies. Isn't that contradictory? Or am I misinterpreting something? Caleb's answer: Banks of the Anduin and Troll Key have similar but different effects: Banks of Anduin says to return it to the top of the encounter deck instead of discarding it "if Banks of the Anduin leaves play" - which means it had to be in play first. If it was dealt as a shadow card, then it was not in play and it's effect was not active. The Troll Key (and Purse) only triggers after being discarded - it does not need to have been in play first. It is the act of discarding the Key & Purse that triggers their ability. It does not matter where they were discarded from. Cheers, Caleb
  9. Don't worry, this has been asked many times!
  10. No, engaging is the same either way. This has been clarified in the rulebook: "Whether an enemy is engaged through an engagement check, through a card effect, or through a player’s choice, the end result is the same, with the enemy and the player engaging one another. In all cases, the player is considered to have engaged the enemy and the enemy is considered to have engaged the player" You have to use some Responses to cancel the bad things!
  11. The way I understand it is that he has to attack alone to be able to target enemies in the staging area. Then he gets the +1 bonus. He does not get the + when attacking engaged enemies, with or without attacking allies.
  12. Note that "Reveal and add" is an early writing mistake, when vocabulary was not very normalised. A card is revealed or added, and both have a different sense: "add" does not trigger "when revealed" whereas "reveal" does. Here "Reveal" would have sufficed.
  13. So to summarise, we have several cases of obligations/conditions: "must do X": means do X as much as you can (FAQ p.10) "(must) do X, if able": means do X exactly/fully, otherwise ignore it (answered here) "must do X... or Y": this is where we need a ruling because interpretation is ambiguous.
  14. I am coming back to my answer. Let's take this card: When Revealed: The first player must discard 3 resources from each hero he controls. There is no "or" conditional here. However the FAQ clarified that "must" means that players should resolve as much of any “discard” effect as they are able to (FAQ p.10). This contradicts a bit what I wrote for "Cut Off" undefended, because if you were ruling in a same way, you would have to discard up to 2 allies.That is why they introduced "if able" to give an all-or-nothing sense to "must". Of course, the fact there is "or" after the "must" effect may change this completely.
  15. Let's take the "Cut off" example: Let's say the attack in undefended. So it reads: Defending player must discard 2 ally cards from his hand or attacking enemy gets +3 ATK. If the "or" is an option, then there is no penalty of leaving the attack undefended compared to defended, if you chose to get +3 Att. On the other hand, if "or" means "otherwise", then it is the classic: undefended = double fine. I know this is not a perfect explanation, but seems right to me.
×
×
  • Create New...