Jump to content

Zamzoph

Members
  • Content Count

    36
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Zamzoph

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    gaidenzo
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Illinois, United States
  1. Well, no worries since I don't think I've won any encounter with those abilities this campaign. But speaking of suiciding a figure, I suppose something else you can do is use a Blast or Fire Breath attack (on an enemy figure, of course) and hit your own figure with the splash, yes?
  2. Now wait a sec. When you have an attack with Surge: Blast or Surge: Fire Breath, you can't attack an empty space in hopes of hitting enemies with the splash damage? Oh ****, I think I may have dun goofed.
  3. Well dang, that's troublesome. In that case, the only options I have are either Goblin Archers or Harpies, and it's hard to decide which is better. Goblin Archers have range and one more figure, though impeded by Cowardly. Harpies, on the other hand, have greater Health to conceivably absorb a hit and Fly to cross the water filled-hallway without hindrance. The exact strengths of their attacks are difficult to compare. Alternatively, maybe I can take Shadow Dragons, anyway. I feel they're way stronger than the other options, and even if the heroes do realize the Hidden Entrance's exploit and block the Shadow Dragons in with their familiars, they'll only end up at partial strength when having to face off against constantly-reinforcing Hybrid Sentinels. The heroes will eventually have to face off against the Shadow Dragons, anyway, once they get into the mines. I guess what it comes down to is whether I want to gang up on the heroes at the start with a combined attack from Hybrid Sentinels and Goblins/Harpies, or soften them up with constant pressure from Hybrid Sentinels until I can decimate them with Shadow Dragons. Thoughts? --- To elaborate further, the party I'm facing against is composed as such: Logan Lashley the Treasure Hunter Skill: Sleight of Hand Relic: Shield of the Dark God Widow Tarha the Necromancer Skill: Vampiric Blood Item: Leather Armor Augur Grimsom the Disciple Skill: Divine Fury Item: Mace of Aver Pathfinder Durik the Beastmaster: Skill: (undecided, but he'll probably have something picked out for 2 XP) Item: Iron Battleaxe Item: Mana Weave All of the heroes still retain their starting items, too. As for me, I have two Blood Rage OL cards, which I suppose I can use on the master Shadow Dragon in the event that blocking does happen. Might be practical.
  4. Bad news for me, the Overlord. The heroes drew the Rumor Quest Travel card, so I was forced to play either the card for "Rude Awakening" or "What's Yours is Mine" (both from Lair of the Wyrm). I went with the latter choice since I'd much rather prefer they possibly win armor over a powerful weapon with an anti-large monster perk. Winning the armor Relic would probably be better for me, too. In any case, the heroes couldn't play the Quest immediately since they were already in the middle of the Travel phase, but they'll undoubtedly pick it for next time, so I need to be prepared. Having access to LotW, LoR, and the Trollfens, I'm considering picking Shadow Dragons as my open group starting in the Store Room, going through the Hidden Entrance to attack the heroes from behind while they try to make their way to the Wagon Trail. Looking at the Hidden Entrance's position, however, a disturbing possibility came to my mind: A Necromancer and a Beastmaster are among the heroes. Can their familiars simply perma-block the Hidden Entrance as long as monsters on the other side don't have any way to move over enemy figures? The wording for the Hidden Entrance reads as such: I take this to mean that monsters aren't required to open the Hidden Entrance before moving through it. It still blocks line of sight, though, so attacks cannot be made through it, and I assume that large monsters cannot expand across the Hidden Entrance, either. The wording, however, also says monster figures may move, which leads me to the big question: Can monsters still treat the Hidden Entrance as a normal door by opening and closing it? If this is true, then the heroes blocking the Hidden Entrance isn't the game changer I suspect it could be. I'll just have to remember to close it again as to not allow heroes to rush through it upon being given the chance. Then again, it might still be considered a locked door, and therefore cannot be opened by monsters at all. What do you guys think? On a side note, I assume that Jorem Tolk starts under control of the heroes. So I'll have to chase him down and whack him before I can make him mine for me. It'll be okay if I can hit him the first time, but it can get problematic if the chase continues to a second turn since Jorem can outrun a single move action from an Ettin.
  5. I think to think of it like what's stated in ol' spaceship tabletop game Battlefleet Gothic. It says that the sizes of the models are merely an abstraction and that you should really consider a ship as being located somewhere in the space taken up by the model's base. 1:1 scaling works fine in a dogfighting game because all of the participants are going to be really close in size to each other anyway. It's much less doable in a fleet game because that'll make some common models ten times bigger than others (e.g., the ISD versus the CR90). This is just something that we're going to have to deal with.
  6. In my group's first campaign (The Shadow Rune, 4 Heroes), I find myself at a seriously dilemma in that I'm winning too much as the Overlord. Sure, the Heroes won the heavily-biased first Quest, but since then, I have thus far won every Act I Quest (A Fat Goblin, The Cardinal's Plight, and the Masquerade Ball) quite thoroughly and yesterday just dominated in the Interlude (The Overlord Revealed). With Spiritspeaker Avric separated from the rest of the group to deal with the Runelock of Power in the north-east, getting himself cut off by Barghests, I managed to knocked down the other three Heroes all at once in the second turn using the right OL cards such as Word of Misery and Frenzy on the Master Shadow Dragon. Not only did this effectively waste the Heroes' entire third turn, but it also got my ball rolling in continuously drawing OL cards and keeping the heroes effectivelly paralyzed while Zachareth is able to bugger off with the Shadow Key using Dash. I had no idea how the Interlude was going to go, but on setup, I thought that the Heroes had a good chance of winning it, especially when considering Jain's shiny new crossbow and the Heroes all acquiring new damage-dealing 2 XP skills. I turned out to be very wrong. Now heading into Act II, here's what we're looking at: For the Heroes: 5 XP, No Relics, 850 Gold (including the sell value of their starting items) Disciple Ashrian Necromancer Leoric SpiritSpeaker Avric Wildlander Jain Take note of no Warrior archetype and a weakness in the Might attribute. As for the Overlord: 6 XP, allocating towards Sabateour Staff of Shadows, Bones of Woe, Shadow Rune 9 Threat Tokens for Queen Ariad's plot deck (which at this point I'll feel bad about ever using) Now the Heroes have been positive for the most part, except for one cynical player who frequently takes issue with the game mechanics and declared early on that the game in general is bad ("Everything works in favor of the Overlord!"), but now I can see fatigue starting to set in on everyone after their latest loss. Even I'm getting worried as it seems like I've built up enough of an advantage to snowball through the rest of the campaign, further disappointing the Heroes. So now I got a series of questions: Are my concerns of snowballing legit? Are we better off simply starting over rather than continuing this campaign? What can we do to ensure that the Heroes are able to perform better, particularly against my favorite hall-blocking Shadow Dragons? Should they pick up a Warrior and be more concerning with having all of their attributes covered? Having the Labrynth of Ruin expansion and a couple of lieutenant packs (Zachareth and Queen Ariad), should I also pick up the Lair of the Wyrm expansion and include the sub-campaign to give the Heroes more opprotunities to get gold? How should the heroes approach buying items between offense/defense and Act I/Act II? I'm confident that the game is fairly balanced, having read plenty accounts here of Heroes doing well in the campaign. I just need to be able to show my fellow players that.
  7. I'll be Overlording over the Cardinal's Plight tomorrow, but before that, I want to be clear on some rules regarding movement around the diagonally-adjacent Obstacles in the Ruins (4A) tile used in the Quest's first encounter. This'll prevent any arguments that may arise when I throw big ol' Shadow Dragons into this area. So if I'm understanding the rules correctly, the following points are true: A ranged attack can be made between diagonally-adjacent Obstacles as long as it passes exactly through the shared corner without being parallel to either obstacle (exactly as described in the LoS example on p.12 of the rulebook). A melee attack can similarly be made between diagonally-adjacent Obstacles since LoS is maintained. Figures, including large monsters, are able to move between diagonally-adjacent Obstacles. Are these points correct? Thanks.
  8. So to be clear, a large monster can only interrupt a move if it's to perform its second action, right? That way, a large monster can't just shrink, move one space, expand, shrink, move one space, expand, shrink, move one space, expand, shrink, move one space... Or even worse: crawling like an inch worm, continuously shrinking and expanding without actually moving from one space to another and expending movement points.
  9. I'm starting my first Descent campaign tonight as the OL, and while doing a trial run on the First Blood encounter last night, I found Syndrael's Hero Ability to be very puzzling. Simply put, if you use the Oath of Honor card from the Knight Class to place Syndrael in a new location, does that count as Syndrael having moved to prevent her Hero Ability from triggering, or does that only apply to the expenditure of movement points and skills that specifically say to move? There doesn't seem to be an official statement from what I can tell, and previous answers to this inquiry seem to go both ways pretty evenly.
  10. There's only ever four Space Marine units associated with each legion. The number of legion markings provided with the game ensures that, so you're safe to paint them. You're looking at roughly Epic-sized units, I believe. Also, I'm curious to know whether or not you'll use pre-Heresy color schemes for the Traitor legions. In either case, you should note that color schemes for the Traitor legions that are different than their unit color (such as pre-Heresy World Eaters or post-Heresy Emperor's Children) could cause confusion over their Ruinous Power affiliation in regards to combat cards for players who are unfamiliar with the setting and can't make the association right off the bat.
  11. You are probably mistaking Chaos Cultists for Chaos Warbands. You can tell the difference by noting that Warbands have pointy shoulders while Cultists do not. There should be a total of 8 Cultists and 8 Warbands. Also, you should know that Cultists are Rank 1 units while Warbands are Rank 2 units. You should have 8 Rank 1 bases and 4 Rank 2 bases left over for the purpose of corrupting Imperial units.
  12. On second thought, if an order card is played to cause an attack, a lot of my answer to the question about the Khan is actually void depending on whether or not (flying) units joining battles count as those units fulfilling an order. I was assuming that it does not count as fulfilling an order, but if it does, then the Khan and his accompanying White Scars cannot join battles if they start from an activated area. I would like an official response to this particular dilemma.
  13. 1. For each iteration, when you (as the Imperial player) sum up regular attack damage, you add the bonus amount that Sanguinius and his Blood Angels provide to it. The Traitor player can still defend against it as long as he plays a number of cards equal to or below the current iteration number. 2. As the rules are written for flying units joining battles, the Khan and his accompanying White Scars can move to join battles even if he starts from an activated area. If he started in an activated area that's already an origin area for the battle, he may still take part in the battle because he would've spent 0 movement points to join it. In fact, if the Khan is in an activated area that is then marked as an origin area for a Firefight order (which only permits one origin area), he still gets to fight! A couple of limitations should still be kept in mind, though. For one, remember that the the number of origin areas cannot exceed the number permitted by the order card). For example, for a Firefight order, the Khan cannot move to an area adjacent to the target area that is not the originally designated origin area and take part in the battle because the Firefight order only permits one origin area. Also, even though the Khan is given three movement points to join battles like flying units, he does not actually have the movement benefits of flying (ie, moving over crevasse for one point and moving over enemy areas). 3. I already made a thread concerning this question, as I'm afraid that we can only get a definite answer for it from an FFG poster. I, for one, believe that effects are carried out before cards are drawn. 4. A good question that I have no definite answer for. I can see where this can be important, such as if Magnus was attacking a fortified Dorn. 5. The card refers to the rank of the unit that is required in order to carry out that special effect.
  14. Oh, that's good. My board happens to be warped as well right out of the box, and I was unsure whether or not something that big would be replaceable without charge. Now the only question is whether FFG would also replace the box, as mine got it's corners busted up pretty good from shipping as an online order...
  15. While having played a couple of matches of Horus Heresy thus far, it appears to me that there are some rules left unclear concerning the Vengeful Spirit. Fellow player interpretations are welcome, but I'm hoping for official answers for the following: 1. This one's mainly a sanity test: Does the Boarding Action order ignore the normal restrictions of moves only being permitted to friendly or neutral areas, despite being a Move order? 2. Can a Port Landing order place units onto contested or enemy areas of the Vengeful spirit? 3. Can a Port Landing order played on the Vengeful Spirit place units from the stockpile? 4. Do Port Landing and Drop Pod orders allow for heroes to be moved to and from the Vengeful Spirit, despite the facts that they're not Move orders and heroes are left unspecified? 5. Is it possible for the Command Center to become breached? 6. Can Magnus the Red use his special ability within the Vengeful Spirit? 7. Does the The Sky Fortress Rises event allow for units to be moved from the Vengeful Spirit to Terra (meaning that it is not against the Vengeful Spirit as the event restricts)? That's all I have for now. Others can feel free to ask their own questions about the Vengeful Spirit.
×
×
  • Create New...