Vitus_Prem

Members
  • Content count

    231
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Vitus_Prem

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
  1. Jericho said: I don't know where that rule is but I do know that Stance converts characteristic dice that you have, it doesn't create new dice… So if you have an Int of 2 and a Stance of 4 reckless, you still only get two red dice for your efforts. It is thus useless to buy more stance pieces than your strongest characteristic. And since characteristics max out at 6… It might be useless if you're just going for the dice, yes. But if you use action cards that get stronger the more reckless you are, then it is not. For instance, one of the Bright Order spells gives the character a bonus soakvalue that equals the steps you went into reckless. Therefore, with 20 reckless-pieces, you could theoretically gain 20 points of extra soak value.
  2. Matchstickman said: Given that the cards rely on how deep you are in the stance, not how many pieces you have in con/reck I can't see a reason to limit it, it would take many rounds of combat to get to the point where they would be gaining +10 from their stance pieces, how many combats actually last that long? Well, I think that depends on the storyteller. In our group, for instance, most fights exceed 10 rounds. And even if fights are shorter, you could always force your character deeper into a stance by gaining stress tokens.
  3. New Zombie said: Emirikol said: You have been playing it beyond the rules limit. well, he could take non career advances to push the depth of his stance meter further. or be in a 2nd career. Yes, that is exactly the case. He's not 1st career anymore and other careers in the path still 'allow' you to buy more reckless pieces. I think a 6-point-limit makes sense. 6 points of extra soak is a lot already and I can't imagine it to be right to have above 10 points of extra soak or damage.
  4. I just can't find an answer to this one… Before I get starting, please excuse my terrible english. Is there a limit of stance pieces that a character may have, or a limit of how deep he may move into a stance? I'm asking because there are some actions that are effected by the depth of a characters stance, like the holy / magical shields of shallya priests and bright wizards. These actions give a charakter a soak value equal to his depth in the conservative or reckless stance. The character sheet indicates a full stance meter with 6 conservative and 6 reckless pieces, so I assumed that this would be the limit. However, today we had an argument about this, since our wizard was 6 steps in reckless stance even though he only had a maximum of 5 characteristic dice he could convert to reckless dice. One of our players remembered that one could only have so many stance pieces as his highest characteristic (i. E., if your highest characteristic is Fellowship 4, you could only have a maximum of 4 reckless stance pieces and 4 conservative pieces), but we could not find a rule like that. Can anyone help us here?
  5. Argh, sorry, wrong thread. This should have gone to the "Rules Questions" thread. I already asked a moderator to delete this one.
  6. I just can't find an answer to this one… Before I get starting, please excuse my terrible english. Is there a limit of stance pieces that a character may have, or a limit of how deep he may move into a stance? I'm asking because there are some actions that are effected by the depth of a characters stance, like the holy / magical shields of shallya priests and bright wizards. These actions give a charakter a soak value equal to his depth in the conservative or reckless stance. The character sheet indicates a full stance meter with 6 conservative and 6 reckless pieces, so I assumed that this would be the limit. However, today we had an argument about this, since our wizard was 6 steps in reckless stance even though he only had a maximum of 5 characteristic dice he could convert to reckless dice. One of our players remembered that one could only have so many stance pieces as his highest characteristic (i. E., if your highest characteristic is Fellowship 4, you could only have a maximum of 4 reckless stance pieces and 4 conservative pieces), but we could not find a rule like that. Can anyone help us here?
  7. The_Warlock said: With one player a Doom counter is placed every 2 discarded cards, including Events. I agree that it's somewhat annoying if the track advances all of a sudden because of Events, therefore you may choose not to consider them. When I play solo, I need to consider that I can max. discard 16 challenges + Events in total, so I need to reduce Green Encounters at minimum. I just tried a single game and was totally defeated... that's why I looked around the forum. But when I read this I wondered... Maybe I got the rules wrong, but as far as I read it, a Doom Counter is places every two cards, but one of them remains. So that's a max of 8 challenges + events. Or were you playing with house rules?
  8. If you read the backside of either Wizard Whateley or Barnabas Marsh, you'll find that they both start with the line "If you pass a combat check (...)". Since you don't actually pass a combat check with William when gaining the starting equipment, I'd say you just take the monster trophies and ignore effects that would have taken place as a result of a combat check.
  9. diseased said: We have one question regarding the Keep Firing Token of the Schocktruppen. If the Schocktruppen is standing in a Room for example and set to overwatch and another character is moving in, does the schocktruppen get an overwatch fire for each trigger? I mean is he allowed to fire multiple times at the character using different triggers? e.g. Enemy Character enters room -> overwatch fire with 2 dice Enemy Character moves on -> another overwatch fire with 2 dice and so on and so on!? As the rules are right now: yes. But as I understood, the Schocktruppen should have 3 dices per overwatch thanks to their "mad minute"-ability... or am I wrong?
  10. Yipe said: Plageman said: Is there anyway to purchase reinforcements in a 2 CP per turn game? 2 CP game modes / scenarios are not tailored for using reinforcements. However you can use the CP found in crates or from medals to get 3 CP in a turn and bringing in reinforment troops. Actually, this doesn't work. You must purchase reinforcements before activating any characters on your team. Therefore, it would be impossible to gain the third CP in a 2 CP game mode because A) they don't hold over from turn to turn and B) using a medal or searching a crate is considered an action/part of action. Oh, you're right... so the rule's example doesn't fit the rule XD Maybe it's just written in a messy way and was originally ment as "you can introduce a reinforcement on your turn instead of activating a character"?
  11. Plageman said: How does exactly Medal of Honor work ? Since you don't act during the "Set Overwacth" I assume that you use it during Mac Neal activation. thus you can Move then set him on Overwatch using this Medal, is that right ? That's at least how I would understand it, yes.
  12. While everybody's at it, maybe someone is able to answer this question, too: We had our first game with the new rules tonight, Obscura Korps vs. Matriarchy. In the end, the one thing we wondered about the most was the bonus token "helm of diomedes"; Zor'ka was wearing that darn thing, which, per rules, does the following: "Before declaring you as the target of an attack action, another character must first initiate and win a Mental duel. Initiating a Mental duel with you this way does not require an action, and losing the duel does not commit that character to using up his action in failing to attack you." This made declaring an attack action on Zor'ka next to impossible, which led to the question in which cases exactly the helm would work; for example, are counter attacks and overwatch attacks rulewise the same as attack actions? When performing either of them, you don't have to declare a target, since it's always the one who triggered the attack... and it could seem that attack action is refering to the action "attack" that can be taken during a characters activation, and not to every kind of attack in general. This ruling would at least make Zor'ka kind-of-vulnerable, but we're still unsure if it's the right handling of the rules...
  13. orangefruitbat said: 3E is set in 2521 (ie, before the SoC). The setting info in 3E matches WFB (see Sylvannia, KF on a griffon), but is written in a subjective style that makes it easy for us grognards to keep what we like from 1E ("Sure, the official line is KF fights with his men, but we know the real score.."). 3E Bretonnia blends the 1E and 2E conceptions together. What exactly makes you sure that 3E is set in 2521? Even though it might be a printing error, in the tome of blessing, p.25 it says "On Hexentag, 2522, the cult convened for the last time." This wording sounds to me like the Hexentag 2522 is already a part of the past, therefore setting 3E to a later date than Hexentag of 2522. Or am I missing something here?
  14. Okay, if there's a last, all-blue spot missing, that would make sense. Thanks!
  15. darknight said: its because they go down stairs, your view will be blocked How do you mean that, "downstairs"? As long as someone's on the stairs, he still can see everyone else on the red path, can't he? Or does the map continue somewhere where it's only blue?