Jump to content

The_Warlock

Members
  • Content Count

    1,928
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by The_Warlock

  1. Hello people, your protracted, antagonistic and ultimately fruitless discussions have forced me to temporarily abandon my self-imposed exile and post here again, mainly to say that I'm profoundly sorry for the spirit under which Talisman Rules Questions are debated in this forum. There's no need to condemn the personal attacks that have been made, since they are absolutely out of place, but also this endless rebuttal with barely no rules quotation or case analysis won't help you find a solution. There is only a system to get out of grey areas in Talisman: analyse the problem, look for a rule that may address it, or search for an applicable or similar situation (or FAQ), otherwise recognise the problem is unsolvable without an official clarification and that it needs a small house rule. This is best achieved when people work together, instead of digging trenches and raising barbwires. This is not the case, however: Wyrd Path Draw a Destiny and put it on this card. You count as having this Destiny for as long as you are on this Path. When you reach the Meeting with Destiny space, you may pay 4 fate to gain the Destiny on this card. Queen Mab The fickle Queen Mab rips apart your destiny, weaving it into something tattered and mad before vanishing to the discard pile. Discard all of your Destiny cards and gain 1 Destiny. Then: Darkbound: Lose 1 life for each light fate you have, and lose all of your dark fate. Lightbound: Lose 1 life for each dark fate you have, and lose all of your light fate. The sentence in italics on Wyrd Path uses the word "have", which is a game term used on several cards in Talisman. Like in English language, "having" a card means that it is in your possession. Thus, while on Wyrd Path, a character "counts as having" the Destiny, and the Destiny is targeted by effects that targets Destinies owned by the character (all of "your" Destiny cards), including Queen Mab and Forge Destiny's darkbound effect. If the Destiny is lost or stolen, you still keep the Wyrd Path until you leave the Woodland or replace the Path Card. You cannot resolve the Destiny effect when at Meeting with Destiny, but that doesn't prevent you to go there if you want to exit the Woodland. By the way, it was probably written "You count as having this Destiny" instead of "You will have this Destiny for as long as you are on this Path" to make it less confusing for people who don't recognise the word "have" as a keyword. "count as having" should have made you think a bit more. To make a different example, the Genie Follower "has" the 3 Spells, not the character who has the Genie. This is why Magical Vortex cannot discard the Genie's Spells, like stated in the FAQ. Now, you're free to continue your arguments here and on other threads, but I (and many others) would like to see you discuss in a more relaxed, concise and civil manner.
  2. This is correct You cannot reroll a die after its result has been used for an effect. Once you determine which result is the lowest and which is the highest, you are using the current results and they cannot be rerolled afterwards. So, paying fate for the Mist Dragon looks like a waste; you can reduce the gap if you reroll the lowest die and get a higher result, but there's no way for your character to get a higher roll than the Mist Dragon.
  3. Guys, you are having a discussion on "nothing", because Transformed Woodland card has not enough information to cover this issue and no rules will support either one interpretation or the other. There are some cases in Talisman, quite a huge number by my personal experience, where all you can do is to make yourself a house rule and wait for an official answer, if it ever comes. When a character gets killed, the player may start again with another character, unless the Crown of Command has been reached, etc... this is covered by the rules. No idea about a character entering the game with Transformed; basically it's the same character turned into another form, so he's not actually "starting" the game, but it's quite understandable that the question is being asked. The question cannot receive a final answer here, that's for sure.
  4. You can have as many Weapons as you want as the Priest, the only drawback is you can't use them in battle. As for alignment related cards, if you are transformed into a character that cannot have certain cards, they must be ditched on your space.
  5. They are Followers for those characters, so they can be lost or targeted by card effects. However, other characters don't see them as Followers and can't take them with their abilities or Spells. This is written in the FAQ 1.1 for Talisman (you can find it in the support page). The character on the Crown can choose which Objects he must take. If it was written "the other characters must give 1 of their Objects" it would be different.
  6. This is no new effect, it is present on the Magician card from the Reaper Expansion. The Demon of Pride is a forced change, while the Magician is an optional and adjustable change. Craft and Strength "points" are the cone-shaped counters in this case. You exchange all Craft counters for Strength counters. If you have only starting quotas, nothing happens.
  7. You are describing exactly what happens during the game. What you gain or lose in terms of counters is kept when passing from one form to the other. The only reason why we seem not to understand each other is perhaps the fact that I'm talking about Strength/Craft/fate/life values (i.e. the numbers printed on the character card, as defined in the rules), while you are talking about Strength/Craft/life/fate. At any time, your total Strength = Strength value + Strength counters + Strength derived from cards in your possession. If you change Strength value in the formula, the total Strength changes. This is what happens when being transformed into another character, and back. Of course Strength gained from trophies or other sources remains, because it comes in form of Strength counters. With Craft is the same It is different with life. Your life is the number of cones you have.Your life value is the number printed on the character card and defines your maximum life for the purpose of healing life. Changing life value doesn't result in changing your current life. Still, you can heal or gain life while transformed and you're absolutely keeping your current life when you revert back. Same course with fate. However, it seems you already know all of this.
  8. I think some confusion might come from the following line of thinking:when you become a knight you gain a sword and shield, because printed text says you being the game with sword and shield. One could argue that Life: 4 printed on the card also indicates that you begin with 4 life. Therefore one could be inclined to think that since you gain a sword and a shield, you should also start with 4 life. However, even if you want to play like that, I'd have no idea if you should reset your life to 4 or gain 4 lives (at this point rules become so convoluted and weird one should take a step back and recognize that line of thinking as flawed). Therefore, I suggest to ignore changing current fate and life when changing the character card, even if from some standpoint it seems to make sense. Maybe someday we will get an expansion with more cards with similar effect and with a comprehensive explanation of how to apply it written in the expansion's rules sheet. But there are already lots of effects that change your Strength and Craft values, or your life and fate values during the game. They generate frequent questions, but can be understood by applying existing rules.To make things short, changes to Strength and Craft value affect your current Strength and Craft, while changing life and fate values don't. Transformed says you only "use" the printed values; on the contrary Urdr Stranger uses the word "set your life/fate to your life/fate value", which is different.
  9. There is no reason why fate and lives should not remain, since they remain also if you are turned into a Toad. Since the card has no rules saying that you lose attributes gained, unlike the Toad, why should you think you would lose them when reverting back to the original form? Only special effects from cards override the normal rules of the game. If no exceptions are stated, apply the normal rules of the game. Transformed is worded poorly, but could not have been worded better considering the space available on a Talisman card text box. If the intention was to introduce a perfectly designed card, it should not have been designed. The character says that you have to consider all printed values as if those were belonging to your character, which is not very difficult to do. Reverting back to the original form means to use your original character card again, nothing else. There is no reason to lose anything you gained because of the transformation, except maybe character special tokens which are removed from the game if the corresponding character is killed. But hey, we don't know if you should get character tokens and starting possessions, so it's better to hope that a FAQ or official clarification considers that.
  10. Transformed is a card with a few grey areas: one is whether you get your "start of the game" bonuses or not, the other is whether you get your character tokens, in case you draw a character that uses tokens. I'm inclined to say yes to both, because of simplicity and most of all because characters that use tokens have no real ability without tokens. Thematically it makes no sense that a character transformed into the Knight should get a Sword and an Armour from nothing, but I can't think of making separate cases between tokens, starting Objects and Spells. The Hunchback can be drawn outside the Dungeon and if this happens, it can be used outside the Dungeon until you enter the Dungeon and exit again. Designer's intent might have been different, but that's it. As for the dispute about "discarding on a space", the game uses the keyword "ditch" to distinguish the effect of leaving cards on the spaces from sending cards to the discard pile, which uses the word "discard". The Hunchback is "discarded", not "ditched".
  11. This question is frequently asked. Check here: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/196107-attack-rolls-weapons-need-assistance/
  12. If you use Stinker, you are not engaging in psychic combat but the attack is avoided instead. For this reason, the Tinker Imp ability is not activated, because it is triggered "before you engage in psychic combat". If you were to cast Soul Shatter on the Tinker Imp, you would be using an effect with the same timing condition (before you engage in psychic combat); in that case the Simultaneous Effects rule from the FAQ can be applied, not to the OP's example.
  13. Or even better, the Alchemist should get only 1 gold per Object, including Magic Objects. There's no real reason why this guy should get more gold from Magic Objects, since the Alchemist Follower and the City Alchemist are giving you only 1 gold. This way, he will never be able to gain more gold than he spends for, since Objects cost at least 1 gold. This will also solve some of his evident problems when playing the standard ending. It's almost impossible to kill the Alchemist with the Command Spell, unless he's turned into a Toad first and ditches all of his Objects and gold.
  14. From City Rulebook, page 10: Shop Decks The Armoury, Magic Emporium, Pet, Potion, Stables, Wanted Poster, and Purchase decks are also referred to as shop decks. Cards from shop decks are treated in all respects like Adventure Cards, except that when they are discarded, they are returned to the bottom of their appropriate deck and are available to other characters once more. Should there be no cards left of a particular item, then that item is not available at that time. If an encounter allows a character to gain or take a card from the Potion, Pet, or Wanted Poster deck for free, he must draw the top card of the deck. If an encounter allows a character gain or take a card from the Armoury, Magic Emporium, Stables, or Purchase deck for free, he chooses which card to receive.
  15. This is a problem of conflicting "musts", like a Lycanthrope at night that lands on a space with both a character and a Dragon King's scale. He must attack the character and must encounter the dragon scale at the same time. There's no available rule to sort this, not even the Simultaneous Effects (they are not simultaneous, but alternative). As a house rule, you may roll a die as a tie-breaker. I think you would be forced to take the Living Doll AND pay 1 fate if you have fate to spend, but you cannot take the Doll if you have no fate at all. That's my opinion.
  16. What clarification does it need? Or what would that clarification look like? It would require either changing the cards in the shops or changing the special ability of the Alchemist, neither of which is a good idea. There's no need to clarify how this is done, but it's not something that could remain as it is. It's just too cheap and repeatable. There are cards that need to be changed in the game and we already have a couple of erratas in the current FAQ, so I don't see how changing something that doesn't work would not be a good idea. Gaining 3 gold for each Magic Object has always been too much, not only because of the City, but because it makes the Alchemist almost invincible in a standard ending game. You're talking about the game of Talisman here. Still, playing against AI opponents doesn't exactly give you the idea why most players would like not to see the Alchemist follow this scheme.
  17. Yes, you're not the first to discover this: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/78893-alchemist-infinite-gold-in-city https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/86062-alchemist-question https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/78829-alchemist-in-the-magic-emporium It is a well-known problem of interaction between the City Expansion and the Alchemist character. It has been waiting for a FAQ clarification for a while now.
  18. Surely using keywords, or locating one-off (immediate) and continuous effects in the same order on different cards would have been helpful. For example, putting the one-off effects first and continuous effects second, like in the Armageddon set, but Rise of the Dead and Stars Align go the opposite way. However, when you're asking yourself if an effect is immediate or continuous, you have to check if it has sufficient instructions to be a continuous effect or not. Continuous effects are clearly distinguished by sentences like "Whenever a character does XYZ...", with the Rise of the Dead omens being a sort of exception because they don't use that wording. Bonuses to the attack roll cannot be applied outside of combat and have no sense as a one-off effect. I see you have the most doubts about the Armageddon Omens. You may notice that the first of the two listed effects is missing a triggering condition, so you can't interpret it as a continuous effect. When are you supposed to take the penalty? When you enter the Region with the Harbinger? When you start your turn in there? At any moment, thus taking an infinite penalty? It's clearly a one-time effect triggered by the Omen coming into play, it has not enough information to be a continuous effect. The Stars Align Omens are very schematic and each of them has one continuous effect (first) and one immediate effect (second). Your interpretation of the other 2 Omen sets seem right.
  19. So many years have passed since Frostmarch has been released, but this is the first time someone noticed this odd wording on Snowdrifts. I agree with Bludgeon's answer, but the card has a weird way of explaining things.
  20. This question is a very general one and there are many of these unanswered timing issues in the game. The solution proposed by JediKnightAmoeba is Ok for me.
  21. The Minotaur stampede ability says "add the result of your movement die" and therefore cannot be used in combination with Riding Horse or if you're not rolling the die for movement (e.g. Baba Yaga's Hut from Woodland). He can get the bonus from the single die movement roll and use the Flail in battle. It can be interpreted either way. One could argue that even though you roll two dice, you roll your movement die. It just isn't specified which one is it, so you can decide than: - both are, and you add both (each of those dice is a movement die) - one of them is, and you add one of them (either decide which one before rolling or choose after rolling). This is probably least likely to be true but also happens to be most balanced option. - two movement dice isn't a movement die and you can't add anything I doubt you will find online which result is most "correct". I couldn't. "two movement dice isn't a movement die and you can't add anything" should be self-explanatory. If this is not the case, our outdated FAQ 1.1 tells us the following: Clockwork Owl Q: Can a character use the Clockwork Owl during movement if he uses a Riding Horse or casts the Speed Spell? A: No. This is what the Clockwork Owl says: During movement, you may move any number of spaces up to your die roll, instead of moving the full distance as indicated by the die roll. The answer makes me think that dice and die are different words, just as spelling can tell. If you roll 2 "dice" and add them together to determine your movement roll, you cannot use effects based upon your movement roll when the card says "die". I know it's awkward to find answers in completely unrelated topics, but this is all we have for now. An updated FAQ should definitely reunite those scattered answers into more general rules and use the Q&A form only for single cases. Let's hope that after 4 years of expansions we'll finally get a comprehensive FAQ.
  22. Let's try. A character with Flail rolls 2 dice and adds them together to determine the attack roll and gets additional effects if he rolls doubles (the same result on both dice). Beware: it's not "roll 1 additional die". 2 Flails on the same character are pointless. They give you the same ability: "roll 2 dice" and cannot be stacked, because it's not "roll 1 additional die". It's the same as the Wizard getting no additional Spells if he has the Wand. The Minotaur stampede ability says "add the result of your movement die" and therefore cannot be used in combination with Riding Horse or if you're not rolling the die for movement (e.g. Baba Yaga's Hut from Woodland). He can get the bonus from the single die movement roll and use the Flail in battle. I believe the doubt is related to the deathblow ability and Flail. If you decide to make a deathblow, the Flail becomes completely irrelevant because all the abilities of deathblow prevail: Roll two dice and add them together to determine your attack roll. (same as Flail, cannot stack as explained above) If you make a deathblow and roll doubles, you are automatically defeated regardless of your attack score. (the secondary effect on the Flail on doubles could be working, but it's useless since you're automatically defeated and don't care if the opponent can add his attack roll or not to the score).
  23. Changing the main board mid-game sounds like a super-fiddly procedure. I can't think of it with all faceup cards, minis and parts that have to be moved from one board to the other, maybe with 4 corners wrapped around. Downtime and chance of misplacements are at the highest level. I think the main purpose of the Cataclysm is to give us an alternative board with new challenges and revised spaces. Bludgeon made a good list of things that could have been addressed. I'm surprised that many Talisman players are so reluctant to use only parts of their (now really huge) game. Leaving a piece in the box for a game or two is no blasphemy, it's just providing more place and focus for the parts you are using. My base board is pretty worn after 7 years of games and will definitely appreciate a bit of turnover.
  24. I'm not 100% sure since the board picture is rather small, but the new board surely has the City space, the Portal of Power and the Inner Region. Hopefully also Crags, Ruins and Forest are on their places. If that's the case, I don't see any elements preventing you from using corner boards and the Inner Region overlay, if you want to. The new Scavenging card says "any Adventure deck" just like the Taleweaver from Firelands. This means that other Adventure decks (Dungeon, Highland, City, Woodland) can be affected by this card, so this also supports cross-compatibility theories. Additionally, the Scavenging card, along with Rotsnout Dog, Trashtown, Toxic Spring and Apocalypse Storm, uses the standard Adventure card template. If those were meant to replace the Adventure deck I think they would have designed a new template, like on Salvage and Broken Armour "Remnant cards". Still there's not much info yet to understand how this expansion works and decide if it's a good addition or not. Obviously I will get it since I have all the rest of the game, in double copy.
  25. The Runesword says: "When you use the Runesword in battle to defeat an Enemy", so there's no "killing" strictly involved. Even though your attack score was not higher than the opposing creature's attack score (= the creature is not "killed" following the flimsy rules about this), you still defeated the Enemy thanks to the Bounty Hunter's ability. No problem using the Runesword, then. Still, you opened up an interesting series of loopholes with this question. The Bounty Hunter winning stand-offs is defeating the opponent, but not killing creatures according to the rules. This means that the Bounty Hunter cannot complete quests like "Kill One Enemy" if he wins the attack thanks to his ability and not by higher attack score. Well, probably the wording "killed" has just become obsolete over time, along with large portions of the basic rules. Should Enemies remain on their space if the Bounty Hunter wins a stand-off? He didn't technically kill them, and the cards say "will remain here until killed" and rules say "When a character kills an Enemy, he may take it as a trophy.". No, this cannot be. I think winning stand-offs technically means he gets to both defeat and kill the opponent when winning this way.
×
×
  • Create New...