The_Warlock

Members
  • Content count

    1,928
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About The_Warlock

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 04/02/1982

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    gurgaz@hotmail.it
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    von_hendricks@yahoo.it
  • Jabber
    -
  • Skype
    bernerwurstl

Profile Information

  • Location
    Povoletto, Udine, Italy

Recent Profile Visitors

259 profile views
  1. Hello people, your protracted, antagonistic and ultimately fruitless discussions have forced me to temporarily abandon my self-imposed exile and post here again, mainly to say that I'm profoundly sorry for the spirit under which Talisman Rules Questions are debated in this forum. There's no need to condemn the personal attacks that have been made, since they are absolutely out of place, but also this endless rebuttal with barely no rules quotation or case analysis won't help you find a solution. There is only a system to get out of grey areas in Talisman: analyse the problem, look for a rule that may address it, or search for an applicable or similar situation (or FAQ), otherwise recognise the problem is unsolvable without an official clarification and that it needs a small house rule. This is best achieved when people work together, instead of digging trenches and raising barbwires. This is not the case, however: Wyrd Path Draw a Destiny and put it on this card. You count as having this Destiny for as long as you are on this Path. When you reach the Meeting with Destiny space, you may pay 4 fate to gain the Destiny on this card. Queen Mab The fickle Queen Mab rips apart your destiny, weaving it into something tattered and mad before vanishing to the discard pile. Discard all of your Destiny cards and gain 1 Destiny. Then: Darkbound: Lose 1 life for each light fate you have, and lose all of your dark fate. Lightbound: Lose 1 life for each dark fate you have, and lose all of your light fate. The sentence in italics on Wyrd Path uses the word "have", which is a game term used on several cards in Talisman. Like in English language, "having" a card means that it is in your possession. Thus, while on Wyrd Path, a character "counts as having" the Destiny, and the Destiny is targeted by effects that targets Destinies owned by the character (all of "your" Destiny cards), including Queen Mab and Forge Destiny's darkbound effect. If the Destiny is lost or stolen, you still keep the Wyrd Path until you leave the Woodland or replace the Path Card. You cannot resolve the Destiny effect when at Meeting with Destiny, but that doesn't prevent you to go there if you want to exit the Woodland. By the way, it was probably written "You count as having this Destiny" instead of "You will have this Destiny for as long as you are on this Path" to make it less confusing for people who don't recognise the word "have" as a keyword. "count as having" should have made you think a bit more. To make a different example, the Genie Follower "has" the 3 Spells, not the character who has the Genie. This is why Magical Vortex cannot discard the Genie's Spells, like stated in the FAQ. Now, you're free to continue your arguments here and on other threads, but I (and many others) would like to see you discuss in a more relaxed, concise and civil manner.
  2. This is correct You cannot reroll a die after its result has been used for an effect. Once you determine which result is the lowest and which is the highest, you are using the current results and they cannot be rerolled afterwards. So, paying fate for the Mist Dragon looks like a waste; you can reduce the gap if you reroll the lowest die and get a higher result, but there's no way for your character to get a higher roll than the Mist Dragon.
  3. Guys, you are having a discussion on "nothing", because Transformed Woodland card has not enough information to cover this issue and no rules will support either one interpretation or the other. There are some cases in Talisman, quite a huge number by my personal experience, where all you can do is to make yourself a house rule and wait for an official answer, if it ever comes. When a character gets killed, the player may start again with another character, unless the Crown of Command has been reached, etc... this is covered by the rules. No idea about a character entering the game with Transformed; basically it's the same character turned into another form, so he's not actually "starting" the game, but it's quite understandable that the question is being asked. The question cannot receive a final answer here, that's for sure.
  4. You can have as many Weapons as you want as the Priest, the only drawback is you can't use them in battle. As for alignment related cards, if you are transformed into a character that cannot have certain cards, they must be ditched on your space.
  5. They are Followers for those characters, so they can be lost or targeted by card effects. However, other characters don't see them as Followers and can't take them with their abilities or Spells. This is written in the FAQ 1.1 for Talisman (you can find it in the support page). The character on the Crown can choose which Objects he must take. If it was written "the other characters must give 1 of their Objects" it would be different.
  6. This is no new effect, it is present on the Magician card from the Reaper Expansion. The Demon of Pride is a forced change, while the Magician is an optional and adjustable change. Craft and Strength "points" are the cone-shaped counters in this case. You exchange all Craft counters for Strength counters. If you have only starting quotas, nothing happens.
  7. You are describing exactly what happens during the game. What you gain or lose in terms of counters is kept when passing from one form to the other. The only reason why we seem not to understand each other is perhaps the fact that I'm talking about Strength/Craft/fate/life values (i.e. the numbers printed on the character card, as defined in the rules), while you are talking about Strength/Craft/life/fate. At any time, your total Strength = Strength value + Strength counters + Strength derived from cards in your possession. If you change Strength value in the formula, the total Strength changes. This is what happens when being transformed into another character, and back. Of course Strength gained from trophies or other sources remains, because it comes in form of Strength counters. With Craft is the same It is different with life. Your life is the number of cones you have.Your life value is the number printed on the character card and defines your maximum life for the purpose of healing life. Changing life value doesn't result in changing your current life. Still, you can heal or gain life while transformed and you're absolutely keeping your current life when you revert back. Same course with fate. However, it seems you already know all of this.
  8. I think some confusion might come from the following line of thinking:when you become a knight you gain a sword and shield, because printed text says you being the game with sword and shield. One could argue that Life: 4 printed on the card also indicates that you begin with 4 life. Therefore one could be inclined to think that since you gain a sword and a shield, you should also start with 4 life. However, even if you want to play like that, I'd have no idea if you should reset your life to 4 or gain 4 lives (at this point rules become so convoluted and weird one should take a step back and recognize that line of thinking as flawed). Therefore, I suggest to ignore changing current fate and life when changing the character card, even if from some standpoint it seems to make sense. Maybe someday we will get an expansion with more cards with similar effect and with a comprehensive explanation of how to apply it written in the expansion's rules sheet. But there are already lots of effects that change your Strength and Craft values, or your life and fate values during the game. They generate frequent questions, but can be understood by applying existing rules.To make things short, changes to Strength and Craft value affect your current Strength and Craft, while changing life and fate values don't. Transformed says you only "use" the printed values; on the contrary Urdr Stranger uses the word "set your life/fate to your life/fate value", which is different.
  9. There is no reason why fate and lives should not remain, since they remain also if you are turned into a Toad. Since the card has no rules saying that you lose attributes gained, unlike the Toad, why should you think you would lose them when reverting back to the original form? Only special effects from cards override the normal rules of the game. If no exceptions are stated, apply the normal rules of the game. Transformed is worded poorly, but could not have been worded better considering the space available on a Talisman card text box. If the intention was to introduce a perfectly designed card, it should not have been designed. The character says that you have to consider all printed values as if those were belonging to your character, which is not very difficult to do. Reverting back to the original form means to use your original character card again, nothing else. There is no reason to lose anything you gained because of the transformation, except maybe character special tokens which are removed from the game if the corresponding character is killed. But hey, we don't know if you should get character tokens and starting possessions, so it's better to hope that a FAQ or official clarification considers that.
  10. Transformed is a card with a few grey areas: one is whether you get your "start of the game" bonuses or not, the other is whether you get your character tokens, in case you draw a character that uses tokens. I'm inclined to say yes to both, because of simplicity and most of all because characters that use tokens have no real ability without tokens. Thematically it makes no sense that a character transformed into the Knight should get a Sword and an Armour from nothing, but I can't think of making separate cases between tokens, starting Objects and Spells. The Hunchback can be drawn outside the Dungeon and if this happens, it can be used outside the Dungeon until you enter the Dungeon and exit again. Designer's intent might have been different, but that's it. As for the dispute about "discarding on a space", the game uses the keyword "ditch" to distinguish the effect of leaving cards on the spaces from sending cards to the discard pile, which uses the word "discard". The Hunchback is "discarded", not "ditched".
  11. This question is frequently asked. Check here: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/196107-attack-rolls-weapons-need-assistance/
  12. If you use Stinker, you are not engaging in psychic combat but the attack is avoided instead. For this reason, the Tinker Imp ability is not activated, because it is triggered "before you engage in psychic combat". If you were to cast Soul Shatter on the Tinker Imp, you would be using an effect with the same timing condition (before you engage in psychic combat); in that case the Simultaneous Effects rule from the FAQ can be applied, not to the OP's example.
  13. Or even better, the Alchemist should get only 1 gold per Object, including Magic Objects. There's no real reason why this guy should get more gold from Magic Objects, since the Alchemist Follower and the City Alchemist are giving you only 1 gold. This way, he will never be able to gain more gold than he spends for, since Objects cost at least 1 gold. This will also solve some of his evident problems when playing the standard ending. It's almost impossible to kill the Alchemist with the Command Spell, unless he's turned into a Toad first and ditches all of his Objects and gold.
  14. From City Rulebook, page 10: Shop Decks The Armoury, Magic Emporium, Pet, Potion, Stables, Wanted Poster, and Purchase decks are also referred to as shop decks. Cards from shop decks are treated in all respects like Adventure Cards, except that when they are discarded, they are returned to the bottom of their appropriate deck and are available to other characters once more. Should there be no cards left of a particular item, then that item is not available at that time. If an encounter allows a character to gain or take a card from the Potion, Pet, or Wanted Poster deck for free, he must draw the top card of the deck. If an encounter allows a character gain or take a card from the Armoury, Magic Emporium, Stables, or Purchase deck for free, he chooses which card to receive.
  15. This is a problem of conflicting "musts", like a Lycanthrope at night that lands on a space with both a character and a Dragon King's scale. He must attack the character and must encounter the dragon scale at the same time. There's no available rule to sort this, not even the Simultaneous Effects (they are not simultaneous, but alternative). As a house rule, you may roll a die as a tie-breaker. I think you would be forced to take the Living Doll AND pay 1 fate if you have fate to spend, but you cannot take the Doll if you have no fate at all. That's my opinion.