Jump to content

Almeric

Members
  • Content Count

    53
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Almeric

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    kanzar
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    RSM, California, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Almeric

    Questions: New California and the Playmat

    Ooo great! That will be fun! I was looking at your co-op play rules, and it's got me thinking about all sorts of house modifications to the game...not the least of which is that it would be nice to finish each scenario rather than stopping whenever one player gets enough points. First thought off the top of my head: Agenda cards can be exchanged at any time for their value in caps.
  2. Almeric

    Fallout 76 Thought

    Admittedly, I haven't been to these forums in a few months, but I do like the community here! Just wondering if anyone is playing Fallout 76 Xbox. Username: "PodOfThrones" Disclaimer: I'm a builder/explorer, not interested in hitting the endgame anytime soon
  3. Hi all, After my FLGS couldn't seem to get their hands on New California, I've now ordered it and expect it later this week. In the meantime, a couple questions: 1) Is the playmat worth getting? It looks cute, but is it useful? 2) Do the New California cards and tiles wind up mixing in with the original set? Not that it would make any sense to have places like Megaton show up in New California, but I would love to see more overall tile randomness - where you can't say for sure what's about to pop up when there's only one or two tiles left to reveal. That's all for now. Thanks!
  4. Almeric

    New California Expansion

    This is very exciting! BUT I'm a little disappointed that there hasn't been anything added to the "Support" section of the game listing. No FAQs or other rules clarifications still??
  5. Almeric

    HOW do you do quests?

    Note what Fnoffen is saying about Stage and Add. Those are two very different mechanics - Staging means it's a full-on quest that adds to the board, and Adding puts a new card into one of the Encounter decks. But as for your question about "doing" a quest, sometimes you do indeed say that you're questing as one of the actions on your turn, but many times you don't even have to do that. If there's a quest card where you have to travel to a specific location and, let's say, discard a follower, then once you're at that location, you must use one of your actions to discard the follower and get your reward. These types of quests will also have a Quest Icon on the card - it's the little circle-star icon that looks kinda like a vault door (Page 11 of Rules Reference Guide). On the other hand, if there's a quest whose sole requirement is to kill a Raider Psycho, then you get the reward for the quest as soon as you kill any NPC whose name perfectly matches "Raider Psycho," EVEN if that NPC initiates the combat when you move into its space. No extra action needs to be spend to acquire the prize - you simply have to be the first player to kill the mob.
  6. Almeric

    Is there any way to buy replacement figures.

    Even without reading the post, the subject line filled me with sadness. I pictured an incident involving a dog or a toddler, but whatever the case: SADNESS!
  7. Almeric

    Sexism.....Sexism never changes...... 

    Let's not forget that the minis show all sorts of gear that your characters don't start with. They're definitely not designed to be highly-accurate representations of the actual character you are in the moment - just a ballpark idea
  8. Almeric

    First solo play through-questions

    I thought it looked like a fire extinguisher, which would make sense for certain types of Protectrons. I'm shocked that confusion never came up during playtesting! All you'd have to do is swap the order of the icons...
  9. Almeric

    Sexism.....Sexism never changes...... 

    You're just trolling now, right? What Kathleen Kennedy said and what you said in response is literally the exact opposite of the "problem" you then tried to illustrate. She specifically used the word "eventually," AND she has already hired male directors for all of the upcoming films, so the ONLY logical conclusion is that her statement means that she'll hire a woman when a woman is the most-qualified director, and she hasn't found that person yet, but she's confident that it will someday happen. Your sarcasm says you think she's feeding you some sort of affirmative action statement (which appears to offend you on a deeper level than it probably should), but what she said is literally the opposite of that. So you're just trolling, right? RIGHT?
  10. Almeric

    Combat question

    Correct. Aggression requires movement on either party's part. The presence of any enemy still blocks many actions, of course, but no more fighting unless someone else enters that space (or the mob moves into someone else's space).
  11. Almeric

    Correct procedure for gaining a Level?

    Hot crap, I saw the problem with leveling up in action last weekend, and I totally get the issue now. It was also captured on video, so that might be a thing in a week or two... ANYWAY, what happened was not a double-level-up situation, but still something confusing that needs to be addressed by FFG. It could definitely lead to faster-than-intended leveling up, depending on your interpretation. Let's say someone has PI, with exp marker on I. Then that player completes a quest for 3 XP. Do you peg to zero, P, and then I again, and THEN level up, OR do you peg to zero, level up, and THEN peg 2 stats? That can make a big different in the long term. If you finish the pegging and then level up, well what if you pull S that goes in front of your P? You skipped over the S while pegging. If you and your opponent have both gained 2 XP and are close to levelling up, and then you kill 3 L1 mobs while your opponent runs off and finishes a 3XP quest, that's a significant loss for you! So would definitely vote for the method where one stops pegging to level up, and then finishes pegging. It's more complicated, but I think it's important.
  12. Almeric

    Sexism.....Sexism never changes...... 

    As a dad who's always trying to "nerd-up" my daughter, I'm always happy to see more female characters in a game. In the case of Fallout, people who dive deep into the source material will know that 2 of the 5 characters (the power armor and the super mutant) are gender-neutral, but the look of the super mutant doesn't help. Furthermore, the nerd genres where female armor is represented in a realistic way are very small... in my universe, only Fallout and Captain Phasma come to mind. Unfortunately, even though my own daughter is very much in favor of not accentuating her own femininity needlessly (hooray!), I think even she would see such dull-looking armor in a game and assume that the person inside is male. Maybe we'll soon get to a tipping point where that changes, thanks to the likes of Gwendoline Christie Anyway, if I use the too-many-choices FFG Talisman character roster as an example, I imagine that expansion content will feature a much better gender-mix than this base game. We'll get some good stuff - I have hope!
  13. Almeric

    Correct procedure for gaining a Level?

    Maybe I just didn't read the original post in this thread very carefully, but to me, this reads the same. Situation: New game, my character has S and I If I gain one XP, the peg moves from the starting spot to S. If I gain another XP, my peg moves from S to I. It's in the last SPECIAL spot, but I haven't leveled up under either of the scenarios. As soon as I gain the third XP, my peg moves "beyond" the last SPECIAL. Likewise, my peg was in the rightmost slot, and I gained an exp, so I level up. Moving beyond my last SPECIAL has the same effect of putting the peg back in the leftmost hole. Is the dilemma about whether or not the leftmost hole counts as a spot if you were to, say, gain, 3 EXP at the same time and move from S, past I, and then back around again? If so, I must advise that yes, the leftmost hole always counts when advancing the XP marker.
  14. Almeric

    Correct procedure for gaining a Level?

    Aye, multiple enemies on multiple spaces, but if you initiate, that's two separate actions to fight both of them, and if it's Enemy-Turn, they're still fighting you at separate times with separate die rolls. I'd say in all cases of multiple opponents in a single turn, you'd gain each clump of exp at the end of each fight.
  15. Almeric

    Burdened

    I think A and L would be too powerful, so if I may add to the house-rule brainstorm: A = +1 MP when using two actions for MP in the same turn L = Once during your turn, you may reroll any one die OR... L = +1 loot bag from encounter results
×