Jump to content

LukeZZ

Members
  • Content Count

    457
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Avatar111 in Techniques and stances   
    Taking a better look, since Courtier’s Resolve (Void Shuji 1) is almost identical to Warrior’s Resolve (Kata 1), only switch strife for fatigue and glory for honor, I would say Courtier’s Resolve too can be used in any stance.
  2. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Avatar111 in Techniques and stances   
    Taking a better look, since Courtier’s Resolve (Void Shuji 1) is almost identical to Warrior’s Resolve (Kata 1), only switch strife for fatigue and glory for honor, I would say Courtier’s Resolve too can be used in any stance.
  3. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Avatar111 in Privileged Access to a Technique Group   
    So, you buy all Rank 1 Air Kiho, Then, when you are Rank 2, a new manual hits "the road", with new Kiho... too late?
    I think I'll keep them "backward compatible".
  4. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Franwax in School Rank (halved) added on TN while in Air stance   
    For the Air Stance I was thinking something like:
    "When other characters make Attack action checks and Scheme action checks that target you, they cancel every Explosive Success they get."
    or, less powerful:
    "When other characters make Attack action checks and Scheme action checks that target you, they change every Explosive Success they get into a Success."
  5. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Franwax in School Rank (halved) added on TN while in Air stance   
    For the Air Stance I was thinking something like:
    "When other characters make Attack action checks and Scheme action checks that target you, they cancel every Explosive Success they get."
    or, less powerful:
    "When other characters make Attack action checks and Scheme action checks that target you, they change every Explosive Success they get into a Success."
  6. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Razorgirl in Schools & Techniques   
    Rituals is for everyone (and Maho is for everyone who is tainted), so every school has effectively 2 "variable" technique groups.
  7. Like
    LukeZZ reacted to Teamjimby in Aragorn (Tactics)   
    Correct.  If the Aragorn player has already resolved the attacks by enemies engaged with him, this new enemy would not make an attack.  
     
    But, it's important to remember the sequence of the combat phase.  You resolve enemy attacks in player order, then players declare attacks in player order.  So the only way to do the "feint" trick with Aragorn is to use Quick Strike (or some other extra attack like Anduril) to allow him to attack outside of the normal framework, which generally means he has to attack alone.  I believe Ambush is the only way to do a group attack outside of the usual framework.  And the trick only works if you are attacking an enemy engaged with a player that is later in the turn order.  Otherwise you could potentially make an enemy attack twice!
  8. Like
    LukeZZ reacted to rmsgrey in Firestorm and Resolve Global Defense   
    Yes.
     
    There's a timing window between rolling the dice and applying the effects (among other things, to allow Satellite Uplink to be used) and you can use any relevant tech or assets then - the only thing you can't do between rolling the dice and applying their effect is roll additional dice - you can reroll the alien die, or you can add dice to the pool to be rolled when you push your luck, but you can't add additional dice to the roll you've already made.
     
    So, yeah, in particular, you can use a Firestorm (or any other success-generating Tech) between rolling a loss and applying it so that you still have a unit assigned to the task.
     
    With Alien Construction, because the Scientists are exhausted but remain assigned, you can wait until you've rolled for all three Techs before deciding where to spend your free success. Technically, the same applies to Stealth Satellite, but there's no reason not to use that immediately...
  9. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from bradknowles in Cybernetics and Ion Shielding   
    What I find odd is that Ion grenades and Stun grenades have a different base damage.
     
    Anyway my idea was something like this:
     
    Living Creature
    Stun Damage = 100%
    Ion Damage = 0%
    Cyborg (up to 50% cybernetic conversion)
    Stun Damage = 100%
    Ion Damage = 50%
    Full Cyborg (more than 50% cybernetic conversion)
    Stun Damage = 50%
    Ion Damage = 100%
    Droid
    Stun Damage = 0%
    Ion Damage = 100%
     
    Or maybe it could be somthing like this:
     
    Living Creature
    Stun Damage Maximum = Unlimited
    Ion Damage Maximum = 0
    Cyborg (up to 50% cybernetic conversion)
    Stun Damage Maximum = Unlimited
    Ion Damage Maximum = 2 x Number of Cybernetic implants
    Full Cyborg (more than 50% cybernetic conversion)
    Stun Damage Maximum = 2 x Number of Original Organs/Limbs remaining
    Ion Damage Maximum = Unlimited
    Droid
    Stun Damage Maximum = 0
    Ion Damage Maximum = Unlimited
  10. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from bradknowles in Cybernetics and Ion Shielding   
    So by RAW all cybernetic enhancements of any creature (living or droid) hit by Ion damage are automatically shut down until repaired.
    This is very silly... Vader has no chance agains a Ion grenade.
    Any ideas to counter this effect? Maybe with a "Ion Shielding" upgrade?
    How could this work?
  11. Like
    LukeZZ reacted to HappyDaze in Cybernetics and Ion Shielding   
    Step 1: Don't use the RAW.
    Step 2: Weapons with the Ion quality can inflict Strain damage (adjusted per Soak normally) on characters with cybernetic implants just as they do to droids.
    Step 3: In addition to the above damage, allow Ion weapons to damage cybernetic implants as if using the Sunder quality.
  12. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from jacenat in Jyn Odan Trick Shot: Counting Spaces and Quick Draw   
    Since it works this way for Trick Shot, I think it should work the same way for Mak's Target Acquired (the only other "before you declare an attack" ability, for now at least).
  13. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from cparadis10 in Jyn Odan Trick Shot: Counting Spaces and Quick Draw   
    I asked the FFG Customer Service this question:
     
    "Can Jyn's Trick Shot be used when interrupting to perform an attack?"
     
    The answer is:
     
    "Yes."   Justin Kemppainen
    Assistant Board Game Manager
    Fantasy Flight Games
    jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com  
  14. Like
    LukeZZ reacted to Fizz in Q: "Can Jyn's Trick Shot be used when interrupting to perform an attack?" A: "Yes"   
    Added to FAQ post. But the *real* question is here:
     
    https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/137140-jyn-odan-trick-shot-counting-spaces-and-quick-draw/?hl=%2Btrick+%2Bshot
  15. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from LiquidLogic in Can I use surges on negated damage rolls?   
    Yes, even if the defender rolled a Dodge result, the attacker could still use surges.
  16. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from cparadis10 in Jyn Odan Trick Shot: Counting Spaces and Quick Draw   
    I asked the FFG Customer Service this question:
     
    "Can Jyn's Trick Shot be used when interrupting to perform an attack?"
     
    The answer is:
     
    "Yes."   Justin Kemppainen
    Assistant Board Game Manager
    Fantasy Flight Games
    jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com  
  17. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Dichotomy in Mission and Final Mission   
    With only the standard Mission:
    "Deploy Squad to Mission"
     
    With the Final Mission (and maybe one standard Mission):
    "Deploy Squad(s) to Mission(s)"
  18. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Forensicus in A figure cannot perform an action while moving through another figure.   
    Just received an answer from the FFG support:
     
    A figure cannot perform an action while moving through another figure.

    Thanks,
    Justin Kemppainen
    Assistant Board Game Manager
    Fantasy Flight Games
  19. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Forensicus in A figure cannot perform an action while moving through another figure.   
    Just received an answer from the FFG support:
     
    A figure cannot perform an action while moving through another figure.

    Thanks,
    Justin Kemppainen
    Assistant Board Game Manager
    Fantasy Flight Games
  20. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from SmartCookie in Agenda side missions: are they easier for the empire?   
    All the Imperial Side Mission have the same rewards:
     
    Imperial player wins
    Imperial player gets 1 XP, 1 Influence and the "Mission Reward"
    Rebel player gets 1 XP and 100 credit/hero
     
    Rebel player wins
    Imperial player gets 1 XP and 1 Influence
    Rebel player gets 1 XP and 200 credit/hero
     
    The "true" advantage of an Imperial Side Mission is that it "eats" a Side Mission slot.
  21. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Sturn in Oversized Weapons Mount   
    Mmm... I think that this text:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4.
    Modification Options: All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
     
    Should have been:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4. All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
    Modification Options: None.
  22. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Sturn in Oversized Weapons Mount   
    Mmm... I think that this text:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4.
    Modification Options: All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
     
    Should have been:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4. All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
    Modification Options: None.
  23. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Sturn in Oversized Weapons Mount   
    Mmm... I think that this text:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4.
    Modification Options: All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
     
    Should have been:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4. All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
    Modification Options: None.
  24. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Sturn in Oversized Weapons Mount   
    Mmm... I think that this text:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4.
    Modification Options: All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
     
    Should have been:
    Base Modifiers: Allows a vehicle to carry a weapon intended for a craft 1 silhouette size larger. This decreases the ship's handling by 1 and system strain threshold by 4. All models are customized to the ship and weapon used.
    Modification Options: None.
  25. Like
    LukeZZ got a reaction from Jamwes in Grenades and targets   
    Yes, but this condition (the triggering of the explosion of a missed grenade) is linked to the defense of the target... that's what can generate "strange results".
     
    In the example above if the grenade was thrown at the Nemesis, then both the Nemesis and the minions had a lot of chances to remain undamaged; if the grenade was thrown at the minion group, then both the Nemesis and the minions had a lot of chances to get damaged.
     
    This seems... strange to me.
×