Jump to content

Comm

Members
  • Content Count

    50
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Comm

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Lyon, 0, France
  1. By the way, I'm wondering why the limits on event cards are not applied the same as those on non-event cards. As you said ktom, limits on non-event cards count only for those specific cards unless otherwise specified (like "limit 1 Limited Response per round" or "limit 1 per game."). But for an event (such as Make an Example, which has "Limit 1 per phase"), the limit is not for this specific event card, but for any copy of that event card that I could play this phase. Oh, I think I've found the difference. On events, it reads "Limit 1 per phase", which is a shortcut for "You may play only ONE copy of this event per phase". On non-event cards, it reads "Limit once per phase", meaning "You may trigger this effect only once per phase". And my confusion is coming from the French translation, which reads "Limit once per phase" for both card types. And now I understand this translation is not correct.
  2. ktom said: There is a Player Action Window before each challenge in which you can play various "Any Phase" or "Epic" effects. You could even argue that you could use that Player Action Window - in conjunction with Shadow Politics - to get the intrigue challenge from the event. Hi, I'm jumping in the discussion because I'm surprised by this sentence. I remember a discussion that occurred on old tzumainn's site about Epic phase and at this time a response from Nate has been quoted, in which Nate specifically said "there are no "player action windows" during the epic phase outside of those that occur in the normal resolution of the challenge." For information the whole message from Nate was (this was posted before November 16, 2009): Hi Ulrich, The phrase "during which each player may initiate a single INTRIGUE challenge" defines the entire phase. Essentially, there are no player action windows before or after these challenges, and the only actions players would be permitted to take are those that would be taken during the resolution of the challenge. Thus you would be prevented from playing making use of the additional challenge from Shadow Politics, because: 1) A challenge cannot be initiated during the resolution of another challenge. (3.36) Additional Challenges through Card Effects A player can never initiate an additional challenge during the resolution of a prior challenge. For example: Shadow Politics (KLE F18) allows a player to initiate an additional # challenge as a standard player action. This action cannot be taken during the resolution of another challenge. 2) There are no "player action windows" during the epic phase outside of those that occur in the normal resolution of the challenge. Nate French Game Design and Development Fantasy Flight Games (Sorry, I don't remember who Ulrich was) Is Nate's statement still valid? Or is there something that has changed since this time?
  3. Thank you for this report Uncle Joker. It's good to have some news from China and to realize that AGoT is not played only in US and in Europe. 60 players may seem few regarding China's population, but at the world level, this makes this event the second biggest AGoT event in the history of the game. This is really good news. I wonder why chapter packs weren't allowed ?
  4. OK, thanks for your answers guys. I've sent the question to Nate (or at least, to the "Rules Questions" link). I will let you know any answer I get. NB: I asked also for the text for Rakharo's Arakh
  5. This is a question for all players around the world : What text (in any language) do you have on your version of Abandoned Fort ? Because in France, the card text is like: Challenges: Kneel Abandoned Fort to return an attacking or defending House Bolton character to its owner's hand. I have to say that this corresponds exactly to the card that has been sent to Edge, the French editor of the game, for translation. And this is the text that can be found on Dabbler's site : agot.dbler.com/index.php However, the text of the English version of this card that we have here reads: Challenges: Kneel Abandoned Fort to return an attacking House Bolton character to its owner's hand. It seems the card text has been changed after being sent for translation, which is a pity in my opinion. I'd like to know what you have in Spanish, for example.
  6. Thanks for your response ktom. ~And I'm glad to have had the right answer, for once.
  7. I've looked for this question in these boards but I haven't found it, so I ask. Does Rhaegar's Harp give attached character each existing trait once? Or does it keep giving as many instances of each and every traits necessary for the character to functionally have all traits? For example, if my character has Rhaegar's Harp attached, could Old Nan remove one of the traits given by the harp (or even a printed trait)? What makes me wonder is the discussion about the Incognito (an attachment from the CCG era) that said "Attached character loses all traits". Incognito and Rhaegar's Harp are cancelling each other out: www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp As you said in this discussion ktom: Incognito's "loses ALL traits" will trump all effects that give a card a trait (short of Rhaegar's Harp, which will "cancel out" as equal-but-opposite effects) So I would say that Rhaegar's Harp keeps giving as many instances of each and every traits necessary for the character to functionally have all traits. Is my reasoning correct?
  8. Wow ! Already 60 players ? I have to urge my French mates to make their reservation before there is no room left. Anyway, I will attend this year, and I'm so excited about it !
  9. OK, I understand. So the resolution of the "then" part of the effect is kind of "appended" to the resolution of the "before then" part of the effect, in Step 3. And it is too late to cancel the effect, because cancels can only be triggered in Step 2. So, as far as I understand, it would also be too late to save from something described in the "then" part of the effect, because saves can only be triggered in Step 2. This would mean that it is not possible to save a character from returning to its owner's hand when A Game of Cyvasse is resolving. Is this true? A Game of Cyvasse Challenges: Each player must choose and kneel a character with an I icon he or she controls, if able. Then, the player who knelt the character with the highest STR may choose and return a character to its owner's hand.
  10. Thank you for pointing out the coming release of new card sleeves with an AGoT thematic. This Cersei is indeed a very nice piece of art, but I would also really enjoy having characters from other houses on the back of my card sleeves, like Daenerys, The Red Viper or Arianne Martell...
  11. Well, what made me think wrong is the fact that there are 2 separate costs in Wendamyr's effect (one is "kneel Wendamyr, the other one is "kneel 2 influence or a Learned char"). So I thought there was 2 points of initiation. So, if I follow you well, there are indeed 2 effects, with the same point of initiation. So Wendamyr's controller has to pay the 2 costs first, which will initiate the 2 effects (step 2.1). Save/cancel may be triggered vs. any of these 2 effects (step 2.2). Then the effects are resolved (step 2.3) : - if the 1st effect has not been canceled in step 2.2, the character is saved. - if the 1st effect has been successful and the 2nd effect has not been canceled in step 2.2, the character stand. However, if I cancel the 1st effect, then the effect is not successful (i.e. the character is not saved) and the play restrictions for the 2nd effect are not valid anymore (because of the "then") so it will not be successful either (i.e the character doesn't stand). What I find odd here is that you have to pay the cost of the second effect before knowing that you would be allowed to (i.e. before the resolution of the first effect).
  12. Hi, I know the answer has already be given somewhere, but I couldn't find it on these boards. I'm quite sure it was on tzumainn, but the site is now down (I'm really missing it BTW). Maester Wendamyr Response: Kneel Master Wendamyr to save a Greyjoy character from being killed or discarded. Then, you may kneel 2 influence or kneel a Learned character to stand that character. So, if my opponent wants to use Maester Wendamyr to save a character, may I cancel it with "He calls it thinking" before my opponent kneels 2 influence to stand the character? In fact, I'm a bit confused with the timing of effects containing a "Then", like Wendamyr's one. Is it something like this: Step 1: Initiate a "kill a Greyjoy character effect" Step 2: Save/Cancel vs. "kill a Greyjoy character effect" Step 2.1.1: Initiate "save a Greyjoy character from being killed or discarded" Step 2.2.1: Save/Cancel vs. "save a Greyjoy character from being killed or discarded" (this is where I may use "He calls it thinking") Step 2.3.1: Resolve "save a Greyjoy character from being killed or discarded", if it hasn't been canceled Step 2.1.2: Initiate "stand that character", if the first part of the effect has not been canceled, and the cost has been paid (kneel 2 influence or a Learned char) Step 2.2.2: Save/Cancel vs. "stand that character" Step 2.3.2: Resolve "stand that character" Step 4: Passives Step 5: Responses Step 6: End
  13. OK, thanks for your reply ktom. I understand the logic. In particular, I will remember your last sentence "the game says everyone knows what that card is" and how you highlighted the game. Because, if I have only one card left in my hand, which is a Bannerman, and it is canceled, then the snarky player could argue that "everyone knows what that card is". But from the game point of view, this single card in my hand has no identity, and so should everyone consider it. However, I hope I will not meet this kind of snarky player in a tournament because they usually tend to dislike rulings like this one.
  14. I have a question related to this, about Pentoshi Guildmaster. Response: After you win a challenge by 4 or more total STR, return Pentoshi Guildmaster from your discard pile to your hand. Then, you may pay 3 gold to put Pentoshi Guildmaster into play from your hand. If Pentoshi Guildmaster response is canceled, could I trigger it again? In fact it all comes down to the question: does the "one repsonse per trigger" rule apply only to cards in play ?
  15. And what about Robert (Kings of the Sea) ? If Robert Baratheon is the only King character in play, he gains: "Any Phase: Kneel Robert Baratheon to play an ""Any Phase"" event card from your discard pile as if you just played it from your hand. Then, shuffle that event card back into your deck." I would say it is not affected by Fear of Winter because you play the event "from your discard" pile. The "as if you just played it from your hand" is just indicating that you have to meet the same play restriction and choose the same targets as if the event was in your hand. Is this right?
×
×
  • Create New...