Jump to content

Parathion

Members
  • Content Count

    954
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Parathion

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  1. I consider the latest change in the FAQ regarding Dark Charm and the use of skills quite unfortunate. I would stick to the ruling you mentioned that the OL may control and use anything that doesn´t take away anything from the hero - this seemed to be the spirit of all previous DC rulings. Actually, that would be one of the very few houserules I would implement if we continue with Descent at some point. As for the hero abilities, these cannot be turned on and off at will of the controlling player. The hero abilities had been addressed partly when we prepared the FAQ proposal document, but FFG decided to change some earlier rulings and ignore most of our suggested detailed points. As for your second question, there is no distinction between active and passive skills. As per the FAQ, not a single skill may be used by the OL when performing the DC attack. Again, this doesn´t mean that the skill is deactivated and has to be reactivated by the hero. It simply isn´t used during the attack. As for the familiars, you´ll need to come up with a ruling yourself. On the spot, I can only think of Skye´s abilities to be important for that question. Maybe Pico and Alex would need addressing, too (but Alex was granted by a skill card, wasn´t it, so at least this case would be clear).
  2. 1) Yes, he may freely attack anything he can target. The attack itself is not restricted, just the movement. 2) No, he may move in a straight line only, regardless of what´s the source of the movement. As you said, also fatigue-fuelled side-steps are not allowed if he wants to get his attack.
  3. And just to clarify: This is plain wrong. XP are generated out of CP. Then XP are spent and thus lost, while CP only increase.
  4. Of course Cleaving still requires a kill. The focus of the question was which "kind" of attacks (Guard, Dark Charm, any) would trigger the skills.
  5. The answer to your first question is Nr 1. Granted, the wording in the FAQ answer may be misleading and it would be better worded as "the attack becomes a miss" and not "it is cancelled". Any attack with any outcome may trigger the skills in question. The answer to Nr 4 is: Yes, the hero may use all his skills in his extra attack. There is basically no "memory" in Descent that stores previous "states" (beyond those where a marker is applied or something got spent). The hero gets an attack with all usual rules in force.
  6. There is no indication for "warping" the tentacs back to their owner if they are out of reach. I guess the tentacles simply have to move as close to their owner as they can.
  7. 1 - For purposes of targeting a space for an attack, all figures block line of sight, be it friendly, enemy or other (like villagers in RtL). (For purposes of spawning, a figure never blocks line of sight, but I guess that´s not what you meant). The only exception for targeting attacks are figures that are not in LoS themselves - these do not block LoS even if they are "in the way" (this was introduced to resolve some special constellations - it sounds weird at first, but it does prevent weird situations while creating a few others) - see FAQ. 2 - Blast (and Sweep) checks for affected spaces ignoring all figures, so a figure cannot "hide" behind another to be safe from such attacks. Only obstacles that block movement would block such an attack effect.
  8. In Road to Legend, you can play the card in every encounter or single dungeon. Of course in a dungeon it has to show up in your hand first after mixing it into your deck, so in shorter runs it may never be played despite being in the deck. In encounters you´ll have it in your hand from the start if you select the card. In Sea of Blood, the card can only be played in dungeons. You may target any item that the hero carries, be it equipped or not. Only party items like Staff of the Wild may not be targeted, since these are not carried by any particular hero.
  9. Sorry that I answered before checking… The German version of this quest actually says that the hero cannot activate a glyph - but that may be just another translation error - so we definitely need the original text. If it really is "activating" then Astarra´s ability won´t work as long as she carries the Princess.
  10. Why not? Picking up the princess does not change anything beyond the reduced MP.
  11. Knockback won´t work through a staircase because you need to spend 1 MP to move through them and Knockback does not generate MP. A similar ruling would be valid for Magic Portals in an AC. +1 to all other answers.
  12. Too late, obviously - some of my new questions were answered, though, and few of the ones asked before that. At least a tiny relief for the Tentacle rules… I guess that concludes it, then.
  13. Parathion said: New questions: 11) The Trueshot relic card says that it only misses on a miss result (never due to lack of range). Does it also miss if the attacker doesn´t spend enough surges to overcome the target´s Fear ability? This is already answered in the FAQ, please ignore it.
  14. And the final word from me goes to the Dark Charm question (and by extension, to the Enslaved effect in RtL), with the request to clarify and/or reconsider the latest ruling: Q: When the overlord is controlling a hero through Dark Charm, who decides how to spend the surges and power dice? Can the overlord move the character and attack, or just make a single attack without moving? A: The overlord controls the hero for that attack, including the hero’s use of surges and power dice. The hero is considered an enemy figure with respect to the other heroes and a friendly figure with respect to the overlord's figures while under the overlord's control. The overlord may also play cards such as “Aim” with the attack. However, the overlord player cannot move the character or force the hero to spend fatigue to add to the attack. Also, the hero player, not the overlord, decides which if any of the hero's skills are used (including skills whose benefits are usually applied automatically, such as Blessing. The hero no longer benefits from any other heroes with Command, but does receive a bonus from any of the overlord's figures with Command. If the hero himself has Command, the hero player can choose whether or not to use it. The sudden change of control over the hero´s skills is one of the biggest surprises in the latest FAQ. We originally added the twist with respect to skills to prevent the OL from using and exhausting some of the SoB skills (like Hand of Death). It simply seems unnatural that skills like Blessing or Master Archer don´t work any more for a Charmed Hero. The current ruling keeps it simple, fair enough. If you are going to stick to the current ruling, you´ll need to add whether hero special abilities are accessible to the OL during a DC attack or not. Further, the part regarding the defensive options is missing in the current answer. For reference, here is our final suggestion for this question (and similarly for Enslaved): Q: When the overlord is controlling a hero through “Dark Charm,” who decides how to spend the surges and power dice? Can the overlord move the character and attack, or just make a single attack without moving? What if the Dark Charmed character has an Aim or Dodge order? Who decides whether defensive abilities such as shields and Ghost Armor are used? A: The overlord controls the hero for that attack, including the hero’s use of surges and power dice. The overlord may also play cards such as “Aim” with the attack. However, the overlord player cannot move the character, or force the hero to spend fatigue to add to the attack. The overlord may not force the character to use any orders but may use a non-exhaust attacking reroll such as Trenloe’s ability, or the Ripper reroll. The Overlord may/may not (pick one) use any exhaust-skill eg Hand of Death and may not use defensive rerolls such as Lyssa’s ability. The hero is / is not (pick one) allowed to use a placed Aim order or other attacking reroll (such as Trenloe’s ability, Beastman Fetish). The hero retains control of any of her defensive options such as shields or Ghost Armor or Lyssa’s ability. The hero may / may not (pick one) use a placed Dodge order. The charmed hero is friendly to monsters and himself, and enemy to other heroes.
  15. Furthermore, this is a list of our suggestions to amend some of the existing FAQ entries for enhanced clarity, also taken from our FAQ proposal document. 1) (on 2010 FAQ pg. 5) Q: Can a monkey perform "movement actions" which cost no MP? For example, pick up tokens or drop items? A: No. He still does / also does not (pick one) activate glyphs when moving onto them. 2) (on 2010 FAQ pg. 5) Q: Can a transformed hero (monkey) leave a dungeon via portal, if someone else has opened the door? A: Yes. However, the hero remains a monkey for the same number of his own turns, which means that while the monkey is in the portal time does not pass for the monkey (just as it doesn’t for any other hero in the portal). When the dungeon ends while the hero is still transformed, he is immediately turned back into a normal hero. 3) (on 2010 FAQ pg. 9) Q: When attacking with the Spirit Spear, do all three affected spaces need to be adjacent to each other (forming an "L" shape), or could they form a line or crescent? Which space is used for determining the required range? A: The affected spaces may be arranged in any shape, as long as the spaces are each adjacent to at least one other affected space (or “each adjacent to all other affected spaces”). Use the closest space to determine the required range. 4) (on 2010 FAQ pg. 12) Q: Can a figure affected by Taunt be forced to reposition area of effect attacks, such as Breath, Blast, or Bolt? Can the figure be forced to discard the template attacks in favour of a normal attack if the Taunter is positioned so that it cannot be hit by the template but can be hit by a normal attack ? A: Yes, if the new target can be legally targeted, the attack must be repositioned. The attacker is/is not (delete one) forced to use a normal space attack if it cannot affect the Taunter with a template attack. The choice to use the template attack goes off first, and then taunt can only be used if the taunting hero is a legal target for that attack type OR The Taunt goes off first then the choice to use the template attack is only available if it will affect the Taunter. (delete one of the last two sentences). 5) (on 2010 FAQ pg. 18) Q: Are there any general rules for resolving what happens if the overlord wants to play a card and a hero wants to play a feat card both in response to the same triggering event? Which card is resolved first? A: The active side has priority.This means they get to resolve any cards they play on a specific triggering effect first, even if they played it after the passive side. a)The passive side may cancel their playing of any cards until the active card has resolved (similar to a guard interrupt ‘winding back’ to before an attack declaration). b) This may mean that some cards played by the passive side become useless or have no effect. However the passive side has still played those cards and must pay any associated costs. (pick either a) or b) sentence to add) The resolution of the first card is still valid in cases in which the second cards nullifies the trigger for the first card (e.g. Crushing Blow triggers on a successful attack, Blocked changes a successful attack to a miss).
×
×
  • Create New...