Jump to content

LovingAngel

Members
  • Content Count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About LovingAngel

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Berne, Berne, Switzerland
  1. The Complement Set would probably be the best possible way to do this, for three reasons: 1. FFG would indicate that they do not want to give competitive players a bad deal. Thus, they would gain in reputation. 2. New players to casual W:I could still buy the Core Set relatively cheap and thus be easily introduced to W:I. 3. It would be easier to get players to play non-casual W:I. Concerning the third point, I recently introduced a friend to W:I who already had the Core Set but never played a game. After a couple of matches, he decided that it would be worth buying some stuff. Although he would have had the money to easily buy everything, he cautiously asked whether he should buy an additional core set or the first expansion or some battle packs. Without going into more detail, it basically came down to having to explain how W:I is published and which expansions/battle packs have all the necessary cards and which do not. With a Complement Set, I could have simply said, buy the Complement Set and then whatever you want.
  2. dbeman said: If it were an errata then the text on the card would have changed. This is a clarification in the rules that the keyword "Neutral" doesn't belong to any sphere of influence. Actually, this is an errata. No matter what Nate says. The card text reads "Action: Choose an ally with a printed cost of X in any player's discard pile. Put that ally into play under your control. (The chosen ally can belong to any sphere of influence.)" As the text outside of the Brackets does not forbid to use allies of other spheres or neutral allies it has to be text in the brackets that does so. However, the text in the brackets is merely an allowance as the words "can belong to" do not imply "must belong to". It is logically not correct to assume that it does or even to say that I could be read as such.
  3. For keggy: Thanks for your answer, but I have to agree with entropy that this thread is purely for asking questions that are unclear. That being said, I have to admit that the question about Choppa is NOT unclear and that my question about the triggering condition 'When your turn ends' is misleading as one cannot respond to "Forced" effects and as such the appearance of such a condition does not allow for response actions. However, it is still unclear how the stacking works if a or multiple forced effect(s) is/are triggered. Do all the forced effects go on one stack which one cannot interrupt or does each forced effect resolve on its own? And who does determine which forced effect is resolved first? How do trigger conditions of actions and of forced effects interact?
  4. I looked through my W:I cards and wrote down what I thought could be problematic: General rules: No cards in the deck: When does the game check if one has no cards in the deck? At any time or just when you draw cards? For example, if I drew my last card, do I lose immediately or do I lose the next time I have to draw a card? Healing: How does healing damage work? Does the target unit/capital have to have damage tokens on it to be healed? Indirect Damage: What is it? Where can it be applied to? The text in the FAQ does not help as much as it should. It should completely explain what a player has to do if he suffers indirect damage (i.e. for each point of damage received, place one damage token on a unit you control or an un-burned section of your capital). Trigger conditions: - When do abilities trigger with the condition 'When this/a unit is destroyed'? Before or after the unit enters the discard pile? - The trigger condition 'When your turn ends' (for example on Thyrus Gorman) seems to indicate that abilities can be triggered during the 'End of Turn'-phase. As such would it allow players to play actions in response to such abilities during the 'End of Turn'-Phase or even start a stack on there own? - How many times can a trigger be triggered at the same time by different cards? For example: A player has 2 Glittering Towers, 2 undamaged Initiates of Saphery, 2 undamaged units, and 3 damaged units with 2 damage tokens each in play. How many damage is s/he able to deal through his Glittering towers at the beginning of his turn? Please explain in detail. Card effects: What is included in the term 'card effect'? (for example on King Khazador) Assigning damage in combat: The old rules for the assign damage phase were clear in respect to how much damage one has to assign to the defending units before one can assign damage to the capital section, the new rules, however, are not. Does the attacking player have to anticipate abilities like Counterstrike or the 'Cancel all damage'-ability of the Sword Masters of Hoeth or the 'Cancel all but one damage'-ability of the Dragonmage and assign more damage than the actual hit points on the units in question? Individual cards: Banna of da red sunz: Do you still receive all the resources or just the original amount of resources - 1 resource? Blessing of Tzenntch: This card has really bad wording. The current wording allows for the interpretation that the player may chose the units from which he has to chose randomly. Choppa: What happens if the attached unit is moved to another zone? Dark Riders: What does "any unit" mean? Just one or all? Lokhir Fellheart: What does "any battlefield" mean? Just in one or in all? Rune of Fortitude: Is the effect only cancelable for all units together or on a unit by unit basis? For example: if the attacking player can only pay the resource for some of his attacking units, do still all of his units receive -1 power or do only these units receive -1 power that the player was not able to pay one resource for? Slaanesh's Domination: What does "any tactics" mean? Just one or all tactics revealed? Scout Camp: What does this card do?
  5. Regarding Troll Vomit and Alter of Khaine: You probably have to trigger the ability of the Altar in response to Troll Vomit being played unless the resolution of Troll Vomit places a "destroy this unit"-effect on the stack for each unit in play. Otherwise, you would have to be able to interrupt the resolution of the card effect which is highly unlikely.
  6. Kirenx said: That being said for the characters included there are 4 "special order" characters for decent/runebound that seem almost impossible to get a hold of as well as the out of print runebound Midnight characters. The Midnight expansion is not set in the Terrinoth universe. Therefore, it is unlikely that Fantasy Flight Games will use characters from it. Fun fact: The expansion is not even listed in the product section of Runebound.
  7. The problem still persists even with Firefox 3.6.6.
  8. Thanks for your answer. To be honest, I just forgot about the removal of the glyph thing as I only remembered the special rules for being killed in Area 4. Nevertheless, there can still be situations in later games that would make things more complicated for the heroes just because of the removal of the glyph. Especially as the removal of the glyph and the stair is not necessary.
  9. While playing quest 5 of the base set, we came across a small problem. Consider the following situation: With 4 heroes in the game, 2 heroes are in the dungeon and 2 heroes are in town. Now, one of the two heroes in the dungeon is opening the door to area 4. Thus, following the instructions of Area 4, the overlord player removes the glyph token and the stair token in Area 3. What happens if the overlord is able to kill the 2 heroes in the dungeon? Fact is that the comments to Area 4 state "If all of the heroes are killed here, the overlord player is victorious." However, the overlord player cannot kill all the heroes in Area 4 as 2 heroes are eliminated from the game and the other two heroes are stuck in town or in Area 1 or 2 and cannot finish the quest anymore as they do not have a way into Area 4. Of course, one can argue that the heroes will lose sooner or later as the overlord is simply taking his turns and his deck of cards will run out several times to reduce the number of conquest tokens to 0. This, however, does seem rather anti-climatic.
  10. Problem seems to be fixed for me. Many thanks.
  11. Thanks for the answer that explains it. I will ask the guy in the group who complained about the cards whether or not he is able to graphically enhance the cards as he is working in design professionally. I will let you know. By the way, is it correct that the ' on shop items merely signifies that they are one side of a shop item?
  12. Antistone said: You mean, why not use the same backgrounds and layouts and stuff? It was a combination of things, but the biggest was probably that I wanted to write out all the dice colors in English to enable black-and-white printing, and there's just no possible way to cram those into FFG's templates. They also didn't reserve enough space for all the abilities I'm using on some monsters unless I made the text incredibly small. With the items, I didn't have any pictures to use anyway, so I didn't see a reason to have a big empty space on the card when I could instead make the text bigger and therefore easier to read. Thanks for the quick reply. I see the problem with FFG's templates they tend to be small. Yes, I meant these things but in another way. Why did you not just modify the items/treasures at hand instead of creating new ones (i.e. just replacing the numbers and abilities and nothing else)?
  13. We finally got around to play the Enduring Evil yesterday evening. We really liked it. It is really fun to see monsters staying around for a bit longer and inflicting damage. One question that came up was: Why did you not just use the existing item/monster/treasure/skill cards and just replace the text on the cards?
×
×
  • Create New...