Jump to content

referee

Members
  • Content Count

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About referee

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
  1. Hey, people at FFG. Any chance we can get the Buka Invasion rules from the support page of this fine game? Thanks.
  2. Here's the deal. The Qax technology tells me to give it to a player I invited to ally with me, and they must accept and send four ships. If I give it to the Macron, will Macron send four, for an effective sixteen?
  3. I'd also suggest white background and some change in colors. Black on dark blue is awfully hard to read. Also, you could include a color legend. Though it's obvious that green is artifacts, orange are the phases names, and stuff, it would give the chart a nice touch, without adding much clutter, IMHO. Great work on that.
  4. It's the 1 time for following the lead. When you follow a lead (1 time) you can place evidence or investigate the conspiracy. In that latter case you can reveal information (ie, place a puzzle piece) or dig deeper.
  5. Paul Grogan said: Omnisiah said: The only good memory card against ray is the one that should be played at the start of round 1 against him. Move him somewhere and he loses 3 time. Like, on the moon? Somewhere where it will be hard for him to avoid a fight? hehehe...
  6. Well, if all you want is the conspiracy piece, then it doesn't, true.
  7. I'm with Zion here. You start your turn, other players can react with dark cards. Then you can take your actions (actions that cost 0 time are actions nonetheless). And to each action/movement, opponents can react, so on.
  8. Raymond also has that card that lets him move around the stacks, hehe. People may also start being more careful about the conspiracy tokens. A line of three requires two leads to follow (which is not that hard) AND, the first one should not be a bend, because if it is, you can't get the fifth one into place anymore. The pieces in the higher stacks also tend to have more paths (T-junctions and 4-way-junctions). Additionally, if you get one of those 2-for-1 pieces that are in the higher stacks and the lower stacks are already finished, you luck out. And if you have a few Jinteki or Haas tokens (Caprice and Floyd can do, especially if the right event happens early), you may want to go to the baggage stack to find the pieces that can join those groups to the conspiracy. With all this I'm not claiming it's a super-useful ability, and in fact it's not used much. But also not a super-useless ability as you say. An easy example is if you're going to follow two leads and it's not imperative that you place two pieces (ie, not gunning for a conspiracy token), you may as well dig-deeper with the first one. A free favor beats two shifts anyday, I'd say.
  9. Gigan22 said: That's kind of what I was getting at, but Paul has explained it better than I, and given much better examples from actual play-thrus. It honestly doesn't make much sense to me. Consider this: You get a +4vp token for each row, column, or diagonal you create. So you're spending 1 time to move to the location(provided you're within range of course), 1 time to follow the lead, then you place your puzzle piece. For the sake of arguement we'll say you complete a row. That's +4vp for you. You could even be lucky enough to complete a row and a column. A little unlikely till a bit later, but you see what I mean. So at the very least you'll be getting +4vp in addition to the basic benefits AND a bonus if there's one on the piece. All of that for a measly 2 time. Sure it'll take you a few turns to get to that point, but once you do you're golden. And who's the genius that left 4 in a row for you to complete? Yes, token points are easy to get if lines are almost complete, and they give benefits while you're placing them. If you are placing two of them into a row of three in the same turn, it's at the very least 4 time (unless you're lucky enough to be resting on one, or better yet, to get a two-fer piece, but to get to use a two-fer, you need to have dug deeper first). That is more or less equivalent to the Jinteki / Haas tokens (minus the favor and cards cost, granted). Also, you may lose the chance to making the connections you want to make. The faster lines (central row and central column) don't connect to any group (and if you get one with a corner, you can't get those easily anymore). Furthermore, if the tokens are split more or less equally, the net effect isn't that big, so I'd say the problems come from letting someone do the puzzle on their own. At first, one player, say Raymond, can get a couple of pieces out... see if he's going for a line and complete it yourself! This is a game of taking short-time opportunities when they appear. Maybe with more games I'll change my opinion, but as for now, I don't think the balance is broken.
  10. Yes, you played correctly. Those two trigger on different things. The memory card to Ray's start of turn (on Earth, IIRC), this moves him to another location, and that's entering it. So now you play the card "when he enters a Nightlife location"... this Raymond, can never stop drinking...
  11. Hehe, it's OK... Chairman Hiro is the director of Jinteki.
  12. No, you're thinking Mr. Li, different person.
  13. All of this is possible. Never had one of those days where the planets seemed to be aligned just to cause you grief and everything goes wrong? Your character does have these days, too.
  14. OK, the expert rules discourage the use of doubles (which can be avoided because of FDS, except double-3 or lower on a Difficulty 3 corner), but can I do a voluntary wheelie if I want to? (Just a little extra for the fans, It's the last stretch and it's obvious I'm gonna win, so, you know... On a different note, it was great to see Dani in the examples, hehe.
×
×
  • Create New...