Jump to content

Poe4

Members
  • Content Count

    131
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Poe4

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://firebroadside.blogspot.com/
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Stockholm, Sweden
  1. Kallabecca said: Poe said: This is awesome! Much better than the crawl generator on sw.com. Just one thing, shouldn't it be sun-baked rather suns-baked? Or are they actually referring to Tatoo I and II? It is Suns-baked… Tatooine is a multi-star system. Yes I know, but it still sounds… wrong. Oh well it's kind of funny anyways.
  2. This is awesome! Much better than the crawl generator on sw.com. Just one thing, shouldn't it be sun-baked rather suns-baked? Or are they actually referring to Tatoo I and II?
  3. Etna''s Vassal said: The improvement on "The Gunners" from one bazooka to two overrides the unit's ability to upgrade the unit to carry M9-D bazookas? I'm not so sure about that one. It sort of makes that upgrade pointless unless you give it to the "Death Dealers". I'm going to pose this question over on the rules forum to get a consensus. I'm just not too sure about that call. This has been anwered by Zach: So I emailed Zach about the unit upgrades from Hades and the Core Rules… Rule Question: The DW:Hades book introduced many 'Unit Upgrades' for armies. In that section it says a unit may purchase one upgrade. In the DW:Core Rulebook, the Allies Combat Ranger Squad and Axis Battle Grenadiers maybe be "upgraded" to replace guns with a second heavy weapon. Do these unit upgrades prevent the unit from then taking a DW:Hades 'Unit Upgrade'? Each Soldier unit in a force may purchase one unit upgrade. This includes the unit-specific unit upgrades available to the Combat Ranger Squad and the Battle Grenadiers. If a unit purchases a unit-specific unit upgrade, it cannot purchase an additional unit upgrade from CB: Hades, and vice versa. I hope this has answered your question. Happy Gaming! Zach Tewalthomas Assoc. Miniatures Games Producer Fantasy Flight Games
  4. Norsehound said: With the fixed cannon upgrade now a fact I see the B-Wing having this slot as a counterpart to the TIE Bomber mine. So now the B-Wing can mount the same Ion cannons and heavy blasters that the Slave I can, but on a cheaper platform. The autoblaster might be a new weapons card in this category as well, perhaps something that allows a second shot if the first one misses? Or a double-attack? I had the same idea. Seeing as the B-wing is known for being this heavy weapons platform in the setting, giving it a cannon slot would fit very well. Then you could chose if you wanted simply heavier armaments or an ion cannon. As for autoblaster… it seems to me the heavy laser cannon is supposed to be the one used by Jango in episode II, and it fired pretty darn fast.
  5. Won a local event here in Stockholm with the following squadron: Garven Dreis with R2 astromech "Dutch" Vander with ion cannon and R5-K6 2xRookie Pilots Put together a proper after action report on my blog, here. But the build worked well, although I think I might try and switch Garven for Wedge in the future and see how it turns out.
  6. Observers can give their spotting ability to vehicles? Allowing the vehicles to spot for them? What's the points of this? The only thing I can think of is since the vehicle might be a bit more survivable. But it doesn't seem to be a huge thing for me. Duh… now it clicked! This of course means vehicles will hit on blanks. This is huge! Agree about the F3: either the Russians or the Vrill.
  7. Nice catch! I didn't notice that. This would actually allow me to try out some of new units in our next game even if I haven't got the book by then. If I only knew how Tesla weapons worked!
  8. Fast work indeed! I get the freebie bug in Defense and Political platoons no matter the structure. Only the Snipers and Observers work, the rest are free. Red Guard works though.
  9. Great work Maine! Looking forward to playing with the Red Guard. I did notice a little hiccup at the moment: most of the support options for defense and political platoons don't cost any points, that is to say they don't add their points cost to the army total.
  10. I would have posted this earlier, but the forum was acting up. I sent off a bunch of questions to FFG as I wanted clarification on a few issues connected to flyers. Zach was quick to get back to me and supplied me with the answers below: ________________________________________________ Hello! I have a couple of questions regarding the rules in the Zverograd book. 1. (Page 19). The Air Cavalry special ability for infantry basically allows them to "bail out" of a destroyed aircraft, being placed on the ground with a reaction marker. However, the similar Air Lift rule for vehicles does not. Meaning that if your (quite fragile) helicopter does get shot down your 40+ point walker is destroyed as well. Is this simply an oversight/error in the rules and the "bail out rule" should be there, or it this the intended way of making walker transport more risky? The Carry Capacity rule on page 18 of Campaign Book: Zverograd does state that "When an Aircraft unit is eliminated, any units embarked in it are also eliminated." However, this Carry Capacity rule only applies to embarked Soldier units. There is a minor oversight in the Vehicle Carry Capacity rule on page 20 of Campaign Book: Zverograd, in that it does not specifically state what happens to Vehicle units if they are being transported by an Aircraft and the Aircraft is destroyed. The following ruling applies to Vehicles that are being transported by both ground Vehicles or Aircraft: A Vehicle suffers no damage if its transport is destroyed. Place the Vehicle on the battlefield in the location previously occupied by the destroyed transport. The Vehicle gains one Reaction marker. 2. (Page 21) Can you use bombs when making a March Move Action (ie move a total of 36" and use bombs), or does the bomb attack require you to do a Move Action followed by an Attack Action? Basically, is the bomb attack built into th e Move/March Move/Compulsive Move Action or does it require its own Attack Action? Bombs can be used when performing a March Move action. However, a March Move is separate from an Aircraft's Compulsory Move action, so a helicopter would not be able to make a 36" bomb attack. An Aircraft may drop bombs when performing a Compulsory Move action (12" range), when performing a Move action (up to 12" range), or when performing a March Move action (up to 24" range). The bomb attack is resolved as part of the Move action and does not require its own Attack action. 3. A discussion sprung up around this over at the dust-war.com forums and the talk moved onto however bombs dropped when the attacking unit is in the target unit's rear arc would allow for armour save rolls or not. The rules as written are quite clear that if the attacker is in the targets rear arc the target does not get to roll an armour save, and there is nothing in the Zverograd rules currently to contradict this (as bombs worm mechanically as a shooting attack). So does the target get to make an armour roll if attacked with bombs if the attacker is within the target's rear arc? According to the order of operations for resolving a bomb attack, the attack is made after the Aircraft completes its movement. The range of the attack is determined as the distance traveled by the Aircraft during its movement. That range is measured from the Aircraft's rear arc and line of sight is determined just like any other attack. If line of sight from this attack strikes a Vehicle unit's rear armor, then that Vehicle cannot benefit from an Armor roll. I understand that this may not seem very intuitive to some people, considering the physics of a bomb being dropped from above, as opposed to the current rules which make bombs seem as though they are "lobbed" backwards after an Aircraft has already passed overhead. However, this method for resolving bomb attacks was found to be the most in keeping with the game's core mechanics and actually works quite well. Visualizing an attack with bombs during play can require some suspense of one's disbelief. However, it isn't too hard to imagine a bomb being dropped on the rear portion of a tank. And you are correct; the top armor of most vehicles tends to be weaker than that protecting its sides and front. The combination of these factors could easily allow for some deadly bombing runs against armored vehicles. Hopefully this helps to clear things up! _________________________________________________ Pretty good rulings if you ask me! Transporting walkers became a little bit more viable (although I still don't think I'll ever do it) and bombs can be real scary if you can do the bombing run just right!
  11. Tab2000 said: I was looking at page 40 under Attack Options. It says a miniature can use all of its weapons in an attack. It doesn't say you can split attacks as a miniature and that would seem unbalanced. You would essentially be getting 2 (or more) attacks with one attack action (grenades and guns at two different targets). UNITS can split attacks. So 5 miniatures in a unit could fire at up to 5 legal targets. But each miniature would have to fire all of their weapons at their chosen target. Otherwise you could attack 10 targets if each miniature had grenades. That is not what was intended by declaring each weapon separately. It was meant for anti-tank weapons to be able to shoot at Mechs and for machine guns to shoot at soldiers when you have a unit with different weapons. Doesn't that make sense? Interestingly, a Hero miniature COULD split weapons since they are also a Unit (unless they join a unit) and that would be cool since they are more powerful. What do you think? I think you are overanalyzing and projecting your own ideas on how they rules "should work". There is nothing in the rules stating that each miniature in an infantry unit has to use all its weapons on the same target. What is stated is that "Each individual weapon may be declared separately" which I think is pretty rock solid. It doesn't say "Each individual miniature may be declared separately". So yes, a unit with grenades could in theory attack 10 different targets, but when would that ever happen in practice? Of course, if you really feel that this needs to be cleared up further just send a message to FFG. Zach is usually pretty quick with answers and they are always sensible and in spirit of the game. Use the form here: Rules Questions. Please let us know the answer!
  12. Wanted to reply to this post earlier this week but wasn't able to because of forum troubles. I got into Dust Warfare about the time it was released and enjoyed it from the start, although it took a couple of games to get into the mindset. The rules are easy to grasp and quick but allows for a lot of tactical flexibility. While some lists are better than others the disparity isn't as great say 40k (although not as small as Infinity). For something more indepth, you can read my initial First Impressions, some follow up Additional Thoughts and a bunch of After Action Reports (one, two, three) on my blog, Fire Broadside. One thing I can say is that I'm always filled with ideas and inspiration after each Dust Warfare battle. Both for how to construct my next army, but also for painting and modelling. I've yet to feel tired of the game as I always have a blast with it.
  13. I have not been able to post for the past week or so, but just discovered that it works now. However, all the tool tips are now in Spanish for some reason. The forums seem slower than normal. Weird. Also contacted the webmaster but got no response.
  14. The other day the Community feature was added to Google+ and it's pretty neat! A Dust Warfare community has already been created (as well as a Dust Tactics community if that's your thing). There are only a few members so far, but since it's only a few hours old that's to be expected. Come on over and join!
  15. blkdymnd said: The walker heli should have been a purchased upgrade for the walker instead of taking up a slot. You are absolutely right. I can see the regular transport heli taking up a support slot as you can use it to transport any infantry, but the walker transport is so specific and the amount of points you need ot invest so large that it makes a lot more sense having it as an upgrade. Oh well… something to hope for for v2.0.
×
×
  • Create New...