Jump to content

Sythorn

Members
  • Content Count

    38
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Sythorn

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Warrenton, Missouri, United States
  1. Alekzanter said: The Inquisitor's Handbook has additional Homeworld charts for generating physical appearances. Forge World has its own category in said book. Do you happen to have a page number? I looked several tables for such tables but couldn't find them.
  2. The random tables used to determine physical appearance on pages 30 and 31 of the Dark Heresy rulebook were never adapted, to my knowledge, to include home world found in supplements and other 40K games. Has anyone created tables for other home worlds found throughout the game library? One of my players is playing a tech-priest and none of the four home worlds from the core rulebook seem appropriate when rolling on those tables. It would be nice to have a forge world option that included results friendlier to Adeptus Mechanicus characters.
  3. The rules for the horned rat state that the cost of figures he has in a region are used in lieu of corruption tokens when determining if he is the first or second ruiner. When the old world card from the new expansion that increases the power cost of all figures by one is in play, does the increased cost of a figure count towards ruination for the horned rat, or merely the printed cost? I'm highly torn on this one; on one hand, the rules do not say the "printed cost," but on the other, the example in parenthesis lists the value of each figure and is totally silent on the subject of increasing power point costs. Unless I'm missing something, then by the RAW the ruination value should be the total cost of summoning a figure into that region, but this seems wrong somehow.
  4. Mr. Djingles said: So 2 cards of the same type will quadruple defense. That's how I ruled it when the issue came up during play, but it almost seemed too good to be true, so I wanted to see how others felt about it. Thanks for the help!
  5. Slaanesh has a chaos card in the new expansion (the name of the card escapes me and the box isn't handy at the moment) that doubles the defense of your units in that region. If two of these cards are played on the same region, does the second card double their printed defense or the newly doubled defense from the first card? Basically, is the defense rating of the units tripled or quadrupled.
  6. Apologizes if this has been asked before, but a quick search on the forums and in the FAQ did not yield an answer. If Nurgle has the Leper upgrade card, which reduces the power point cost to summon a leper to 0 if Nurgle has no figures in the region, what is the cost of summoning a Leper into a region in which Tzeentch has played Temporal Stasis - assuming Nurgle has no other figures there, of course? This question come up for the first time a few days ago and we all agreed the cost would be two. However, the more I thought about it the more it bothered me. The upgrade card does not specify that the "printed" cost is reduced to 0, just that the cost is 0 - so an argument could be made that even if other effects increase the cost of playing a figure, the upgrade card still reduces it to 0. I could not find a rule that says upgrade cards take precedence over chaos cards, so I was hoping my fellow FFG and Warhammer fans could help me out.
  7. Sythorn

    Submission

    I had some questions about the rules for submission that I hope my fellow forumites can answer for me. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide. 1. After submitting to the Angles, the Brigantes cannot attack them. The book specifies that the Angles cannot move through Brigante-occupied spaces. My question is, can the Brigante move through Angle-occupied areas and choose not to attack? 2. The FAQ states "Brigante armies in areas other than Scotland and Galloway may abandon those areas when the Brigantes have submitted to Angles. (Since the Angles can attack them, the Brigantes can abandon.)" I don't really understand this quote since the rulebook already states that the Brigante can move out of areas without permission from the Angles. It almost implies that the Brigante get a free move or something. 3. Brigante submission to the Angles works much likes submission to the Romans, according to the book. Players in control of a nation that can submit to Rome may do so at the end of a Roman movement phase. Does this mean Brigante can submit to the Angles at the end of an Angle movement phase?
  8. Gah! Over 40 views and not one reply. So is everyone else as confused about this as I am, or is just a really stupid question?
  9. During the end game, when a player wins through Influence rather than conquering Kingdoms, the rules say to resolve the Upkeep phase as normal. What I couldn't understand is that it also specifies to resolve Revolts, but according to the order of resolution on page 8 Influence is awarded for cities before they Revolt. As I understand the rules, Revolting shouldn't matter during final scoring. Are Revolts suppose to resolve before Influence is awarded during the end game? Or do cities provide some other benefit that I've completely missed?
  10. I sent an e-mail about this issue to "parts@fantasyflightgames.com" and haven't heard back from them. It's been two weeks now and the issue is a bit urgent as I'm also missing a Lannister card, so the game isn't really playable. In the past it hasn't taken FFG more than a few days to respond. Has anyone contacted FFG recently and noticed such a delay? Is it perhaps due to Gencon?
  11. That definitely helps clarify things. Thanks for the help guys.
  12. Amazon has the base game and both expansions in stock. I just ordered from them recently. According to their website, all three are still in stock.
  13. Oh, I get it now. I just assumed you couldn't place stronghold on empty hexes since the stronghold tokens fit perfect onto the city squares and the book mentioned building them over unrazed cities. Now I feel somewhat foolish for assuming that even though the manual never spoke of it. Thanks for the help Aussie.
  14. According to the rules, Strategy cards must be played before any dice are rolled during a contest. The rules also state that the attacker rolls his dice before the defender. Does this same order apply to the placing of Strategy cards? Meaning does the attacker decide whether or not to play a Strategy card, followed by the defender? Or do they both play the Strategy cards simultaneously? What I'm trying to figure out is whether or not the attacker can opt to play a Strategy card after the defender has played one, or if the he must decide before the defender - not unlike how the attacker must spent a Sorcery token to re-roll his contest dice before the defender rolls his contest dice. I think I have the game figured out but the timing of Strategy card placement is the only question to which I've been unable to find an answer in the forums or FAQ
  15. Aussie_Digger said: In the rules it says you cant place it where there is an unrazed city or stronghold so that means you can place it in any hex that is razed or clear so there are plenty of places to put it (remember it states that you cant on unrazed or another barons stronghold so everywhere else is fair game) If this is the case then I don't think I understand the rules. The book says that in a 6 player game no cities start off razed. Also, the set up instructions tell you to place plastic cities on unrazed cities before Barons place their strongholds. So if placing your stronghold happens after placing plastic city pieces on cities that are not razed, and there are no razed cities during set up in a 6 player game, there is technically no legal spot to place a stronghold. Clearly this isn't a problem for anyone else since it hasn't been mentioned on the forums and there is nothing about it in the Errata or FAQ. What am I missing?
×
×
  • Create New...