From the FAQ:
Q: Could you explain how the Jol-Nar and the Xxcha abilities work as they relate to the primary and secondary abilities of the Strategy Card? A: When the Jol-Nar player resolves the secondary ability of the Technology Card, he may also (in addition) execute the primary ability. This allows the Jol-Nar to both receive a free Technology (for the primary ability), as well as purchase a Technology if desired (for the secondary ability). The Jol-Nar player may choose to receive only the free technology for the primary ability, and choose not to pay 8 resources for a second Technology (but the Jol-Nar must still pay a Command Counter to resolve the secondary ability, unless they chose the Initiative Strategy). All other players simply resolve the secondary ability as usual. The Jol-Nar ability does not trigger a second “round” of secondary ability resolution.
In short it means that you can only use the primary ability if you activate the secondary ability (i.e. you generally want other players to pick the tech card). You don't have to pay more than a command counter to get one free tech. Two techs costs a command counter and 8 resources with Tech 1 or one command counter and 6 resources with Tech 2 and for three techs is costs one command counter and 14 resources with tech 2 if you activate the secondary ability.