Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited


About possumman

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    , ., United Kingdom
  1. So way back when, I was a very active Twilight Imperium player, active on the forums and a GM for several online games. Some may remember I GMed the "Imperium Gloriosum" game, which pitted the 6 finest players on the internet against each other (I know Mike_Evans was one, I forget the rest I'm afraid). Some may remember me from the old old TI3 forums (back when it was still FFG-run), my first post was probably in about 2003. I know I joined the same week as SigmaZero13 - how times have changed! But, now I haven't played a game of TI3 in over a year (maybe even 2), and it seems unlikely I'll ever play again, so this is a fond goodbye to the game I loved. If you recognise me, then it was good posting with you. If you don't recognise me, I'm sure it would have been. Either way, all the best for the future. Signing out, possumman
  2. There's no official ruling on this, but I'd be inclined to follow precedent and say you can't use the ability before the 'Claim Objectives' step.
  3. Indeed, this is confirmed in the FAQ: Q: For “elect two planets” cards, does each player elect two planets, or does each player vote for one planet and the planets with the highest and second-highest number of votes are chosen? A: Each player gets one vote for a group of two planets. The group of two planets that gets the most votes wins.
  4. Saar finished LAST? Wow, that's a big error on my part! Unfortunately I haven't been able to play a game in about 6 months, meaning I can't comment on the Winnu or any of the new races. I think "If I'm playing Yssaril, I expect to win" is a direct quote. I'm about 90% sure they were his exact words.
  5. From my memory of the extensive series of ti3wiki polls, the order went: Yssaril, Winnu*, L1z1x, Hacan, Jol-Nar, Naalu, Saar, Muaat, Sol, Letnev, Yin, Mentak, N'orr, Xxcha *Pre FAQ to alter their racial tech. If it wasn't that exactly, it was pretty dang close to it. I know for a fact that I have the top 6 in the top 6, and the bottom 6 in the bottom 6 (thanks to some PBFs I ran).
  6. Steve-O said: If the rulebook doesn't explicitly say to put a flag on it, then that's a very common house rule in my experience. If it doesn't explicitly say that (which I think it does), then it's the most common house rule of all time! In fact, I'd wager every single game uses it. How else are you meant to keep track of which objectives you've claimed?
  7. On a technical point, needing one less VP to win is very slightly better than gaining a VP. VPs can be lost through occasional political agendas, whereas this cannot. However, it's almost completely identical.
  8. I''m pretty sure 'empty' just means 'empty'. No stuff on it.
  9. I'm currently deciding whether to cancel an order and wait for September - definitely not worth it then?
  10. It's worth noting, however, that you do not lose the fighters until the end of the battle. Even if a carrier is destroyed during battle, its support capacity remains in the system until the end of the battle.
  11. Good races for new players are N'orr, Sol, Letnev, L1z1x, Mentak, Xxcha, Hacan.
  12. Dogma's question has been submitted for FAQ-age. I'd agree, they'll probably say no.
  13. Well no, I think the point is that 4 definitely isn't enough. They're a great value unit, and you're need to think about where you place them. The game's no fun is everyone can build as many warsuns as they want.
  14. Not heard discussion on SOs for a while - I think Regulator is generally acknowledged as being the hardest SO. I don't remember any mods though.
  15. Responses in bold. ragamoffyn said: Hi. I have a bunch of questions resulting from my first attempt to play this game. I searched the FAQ and rules, but couldn't find what I needed, so I'm hoping one of you can help. 1) When a carrier enters an activated system containing 2 neutral planets, can it unload ground forces onto both of those planets at once (assuming it is carrying at least two ground forces)? Yes, you can. 2) Does the fleet supply limit apply to a player's home system? For example, I start out with three command counters in the Fleet Supply area, but at the beginning of the game, I start out with quite a few ships in my home system. My assumption was that that system must not be limited. I s that correct? Fleet supply applies to all systems, including homesystems. No races start out with more ships than they are allowed to. Remember, fighters don't count. (Also Letnev and Mentak have special abilities, check out their race sheets). 3) Do players gain command counters only from the status phase, the Logistics Strategy card, and maybe a couple of other cards? I ask because although I was able to play only a couple of turns, I kept losing counters after each one. I would generally spend, say, 3 command counters during a turn on tactical actions, but I would only get two back during the status phase. I'm wondering if that is the way things are supposed to work, meaning resources will dwindle each turn if a player spends more than two counters (making the Logistics card much more valuable). You're absolutely right. You get 2 per round, plus any from logistics, and that's pretty much it. 4) I understand that ships within an activated system can't leave until it is deactivated (unless they return to it within the same round). But if I activate a system one round, can I continue to move ships INTO that system in subsequent rounds, while it is activated? No. You can only move ships into a system right the second after you activate it. To move more ships in, you'd have to activate it again - but that's not allowed. 5) Say during one round, I activate a system and move a ship into it. During my next round, I use the Warfare card to deactivate that system. During my third round, then, can I activate an adjacent system and have that same ship move there? Basically, I'm wondering if the ship's movement rate gets refreshed when the system is deactivated via Warfare. Yes, the movement is 'refreshed', as you put it. Once you deactivate a system, for all intents and purposes treat the system like the CC was never even there. That's about it. Thanks much for any help. Hope that helps!
  • Create New...