Buhallin

Members
  • Content count

    4,576
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Buhallin

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Antonio, Texas, United States
  1. Yeah, I realized this a lot later, but I don't think it has any impact on the question or the result. The core issue here comes down to whether cost modifications apply to the cost of the card, or whether it has to be just the printed cost. Whether the limit is number of dice or total value of the dice doesn't affect that.
  2. The problem with IG-88 is not getting yellow upgrades into your discard. The problem is that his ability is too slow, and there just aren't that many good upgrades. It's just the one side, you have to hit it, and barring ready shenanigans (which yellow doesn't have any of) you're not going to get any use out of the upgrade until next turn. Shields are also basically useless in the current meta, so that doesn't help him out much either. About the only really reasonable approach would be to try to cycle Thermal Detonators, but without any focus available it's going to be pretty inconsistent. I've yet to build it, but I actually like the idea of Aurra/Death Trooper. Gives you access to red for all those nice ranged weapons, keeps the damage type consistent (unlike 2199), and has a ton of ranged damage even in just the base characters. If you're really set on just a bounty hunter theme, I think Aurra/Jango is the best bet. The problem there is that there aren't many good yellow upgrades to get damage out of, and at 20 HP it's going to be pretty fragile. You're going to be relying on killing them first, which is going to be hard.
  3. This is important. I'll be the first to admit that FFG is more than willing to make rulings which aren't actually based in the rules when it suits them. But once you do know the ruling, the first effort should always be to figure out what you missed. Maybe you have to squint really hard to see the why, or be pretty generous with the way you read certain rules, but finding a way to make it all work together should be the goal.
  4. I think the key to this is here: Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specifically references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area. So while you do control the card even if it's not in play, you can't interact with it unless it specifically says so. You could possibly quibble with the "Card abilities" part and try to consider it a restriction, but even then I think every source of damage is coming from a card ability, even if that ability is a shorthand icon or game term rather than explicit text.
  5. You're reading this as a strict time ordering, but it's not. The rule says Once a card’s cost has been paid, the card is resolved based on its type. If you try to read this as fully linear, replacing upgrades doesn't work at all, no matter how they're being paid for. They key is this: Before paying the cost to play an upgrade, the player can choose to replace an upgrade... Cost is paid before you resolve the upgrade. If you're paying the cost by replacing an upgrade, the cost change happens before you play the card. So the reason you say it works with It Binds All Things - because that is a before effect - also applies to a replaced upgrade. When you resolve Destiny, you do so by playing a card with specific restrictions. Again, the phrasing probably matters a lot - it's not "Pick a card that costs X or less. Play that card." It's "Play a card that costs X or less." You play a card for free, with a specific restriction on the card you play. Because the cost discount rule is a before effect, it modifies the cost of the card before you actually play it, and before the cost limitation is even considered. If you're really determined to find any way to make this not work, you could hang a lot on that "Before paying the cost" bit, and argue that you're not paying the cost since it's free. But if you want to go that route, you couldn't replace an upgrade with Destiny at all, because picking an upgrade and replacing it is all from that specific trigger. And honestly you then wouldn't be able to replace an upgrade with something that was free or cost less even if you intended to play it normally (because again, free, so no trigger). But since the rules explicitly call out that you can reduce the cost to nothing, that isn't right.
  6. Cost can be modified by any number of effects. It's never "locked in", and it's still the cost even if it gets modified unless an ability refers to the printed cost. Your rather twisted logic here would prevent any cost modification abilities, including the rule for replacing upgrades, from working. Someone mentioned above the difference between "Pick a card from your hand that costs X, and play it" vs. "Play a card from your hand that costs X". The actual wording of Destiny points pretty strongly to the cost being the cost to play the card, not the printed cost of the card. Lukas' response pretty much confirms it. I really don't see what the confusion here is. It's one thing to draw on barely-connected precedent (like Mind Probe's resolution) when trying to figure out what to do, but digging for them to justify something that's completely opposite the ruling seems a bit extreme.
  7. I asked FFG about this earlier concerning Destiny replacing an upgrade. It works, same should apply for any other cost reduction. Thank you for the question. Yes, the cost reduction applies so you could remove two Blue dice and then replace the Force Training. May the Force be with you, -- Lukas Litzsinger Game Designer Fantasy Flight Games llitzsinger@fantasyflightgames.com On May 15, 2017, at 5:31 AM, no-reply@fantasyflightgames.com wrote: Rules Question: Question concerning Destiny (Spirit of Rebellion): If I want to replace a current upgrade using Destiny, does the cost reduction apply? Concrete Example: I have a blue character with Force Training. I want to replace that with One With the Force. Do I need to remove two dice, or four? Thanks!
  8. Fair enough, but I think LOTR is a closer parallel We did have about two months between the core and Dunwich Legacy, too. It would definitely be nice if there's no real break, but even if it sticks to the monthly cycle, that would put the release date a week before GenCon - I REALLY doubt that's going to happen. We might see general release the week of GenCon, but I have a very hard time seeing them drop it that close but not at the con.
  9. This is the one wrong part in there. Defeat is instantaneous, and doesn't process through the queue. Effects like Aftermath will, but the defeat itself doesn't. The core answer remains the same though - dice resolve individually, and through the queue individually, so any effects which trigger from a die resolving will process through the queue before you resolve the next die.
  10. There's typically a gap of at least a few months between the completion of one cycle and the deluxe for the next. I'd be shocked if they released Carcosa before GenCon - more likely it'll be available at GenCon, and generally available in September or so.
  11. Siege of Anuminas broke the 12 players into 3 4-player game areas which would interact at specific points in the scenario, but were otherwise independent. That meant that uniqueness only applied within the 4-player scope of your own game. The interaction points were typically at the end of rounds, so each game would play pretty independently until you got to the end of a round, and then everything would move between the different games. I suspect we'll see much the same from Labyrinth.
  12. This is an awful example and a misplay on your part, IMHO, which is why I don't think you really understand what we're saying, because it's an irrelevant anecdote. What if they did have control? Say, an Overconfidence? Block would have ruined you. Or even Scramble? What happens? Your god roll turns into nothing. Or if it's not turn one, maybe they kill off Obi-Wan before you resolve that damage. So what if they have control, but instead of resolving that last focus you just take the damage you've got? You land 7 damage that is completely immune to everything. You give your opponent an opportunity to respond here, give them any number of ways to neutralize your damage. Your speed gave you the opportunity to bypass that, but you didn't take it, and got lucky that your opponent had no mitigation. But even with that misplay, the speed matters. How many mitigation options do you neutralize here because all that happened at once? No He Doesn't Like You, or Guard, or Manipulate. At standard pace the control options open up. You put all that sitting out there before your opponent has what they need to use their mitigation. Yes, sure - if your opponent has no way to interact with you, then speed doesn't really matter. And yes, there are rolls that will come up that are so good the speed doesn't matter because there's nothing they could do to stop it anyway. But there are Consistency is not just "How lucky do I get on my rolls?" It's whether or not you can land the results of those roles. Removing the opportunity for your opponent to do anything dramatically increases the consistency of landing those results.
  13. This is one of those "I don't think people get it" statements. Speed enables consistency. Every deck is going to be at the mercy of the dice, to some extent. The thing that makes the game interesting is the ability to manipulate and mitigate those dice. Poe/Maz doesn't work just because Maz grants focus - Luke/Ackbar has the same focus, arguably more of it. So why was one a sorta-fun Tier 2 and one is tearing up the meta? Because focus just begs to be mitigated, usually after it gets used, and you watch multiple dice accomplish nothing. Maz's ability resolves focus for anything, with no chance to be mitigated. She's a free, every turn, Force Strike. Poe being able to consistently turn a single die into 4 to 9 damage doesn't hurt either, but Maz is the enabler. Say you roll elite Vader. With no speed, then 2 bad dice are bad, one good die usually gets mitigated, (so bad) and two good dice will get one through (good). If you add Fast Hands, though, then that middle case means the good die gets through before it's mitigated. People talk about Fast Hands like it's some burdensome opportunity cost, but Fast Hands is a damage card. It also makes things far more dependent on the actual rolls - if we both have Vader with Fast Hands, then whoever rolls more naturally good dice on the first pass gets more damage through before it can get mitigated, and the game becomes far more about luck than skilled play.
  14. Yes, that's why I made the very distinct point that having Reaction abilities as a separate entity provided better clarity and consistency than just phrasing them all as constant "may" abilities. So I guess by complimenting the greater number I was assuming that fewer was better? Lauding FFG for doing worse? Or something? I don't know. Honestly, I can't keep up with the distortion field you're putting anything I say through, so I'm well and truly done here.
  15. Wow. I'm becoming convinced you haven't even read anything I've said for the last two days. Because after I point out that having different action types is an advantage in clarity, and why it would be better if Objectives used that clarity, you launch into four paragraphs taking the point of consistency to an extreme of completely removing action types to show how bad it is? That's not just a straw man, it's Wicker Man-level stupid.