Jump to content

wraith428

Members
  • Content Count

    168
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About wraith428

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Francisco, California, United States
  1. So I just completed Carnevale of Horror after completing the first 2 Dunwitch scenarios. I rescued all 3 Innocent Bystanders and got them under the Act deck and then proceeded to blast Cnidathqua (the big bad) to pieces and thus completed ->R2. To even attempt Carnevale of Horrors cost me 3 XP. Because I never killed the Baleful Reveler or one of the monsters under the Masked Carnevale-Goers (in fact only flip one over as a result of completing Act 1) I accumulated zero Victory Points (didn't see any on the location cards.) I sorta feel cheated. I mean I beat the big bad and I don't get any XP for my characters. I feel like this is a misprint. Why wouldn't their be Victory points on Cnidathqua?
  2. @Demas, Thanks for that info... although (and I know you weren't making a direct quote) to me it only sounds like the FFG employee was saying FFG can still print Star Wars material. It doesn't mention whether they can print EU material that is no longer cannon. Hope I'm making something out of nothing. Wraith428
  3. So Knowlege and Defense seems to be taking a while to get to stores... but that could just be standard shipping issues. However I had a horrible thought today... what if the new Cannon ruling is getting in the way. On April 25th most of the EU was tossed under the "Legends" banner and it was announced that a new Story Group had been comissioned tasked with making sure future Star Wars cartoons, books, comics, video games, etc. fall within the official storyline. Since Knowledge and Defense contains EU material (Moldy Crow I'm looking at you) and releases after April 25, is this posing a problem for FFG. I really hope not. Maybe they'll have to get a bunch of "Legends" stickers to put on the outside of the boxes. Anyone heard word from FFG about how the new Cannon affects their products? -Wraith428
  4. Started running a game on Roll20 and am using a bunch of old SW Miniatures maps. The SW Miniatures maps gives me an estimat of distance (since they are all 2 meter squares) even though EotE uses Range Bands. The PCs were in a room that was roughly 32 meters long and 12 meters wide (say 100 ft x 40 ft aprox). One on end of the room the PCs were taking cover and other side of the room had some guards. One of the PCs had a Stun Grenade. I initially though the room should be split into two parts down the middle so the PCs and Guards were firing at each other at medium range. However when the PC with the grenade wanted to throw it we noted its range is Short. It felt odd that the PC couldn't throw the grenade across the room... that instead he'd have to run across the room and then throw it. So I'm wondering if I misjudged the range bands. Should the room above have just been one area and Short range to all parts of it? That would at least make the grenade make sense. Thoughts appreciated. Thanks, Wraith428
  5. So when I look at the BETA errata I don't see anything about criticals (but I could be blind.) I see the change to weapon qualities needing a successful check. Also in AoR p.174 I see "Remember, an attack's damage also has to excede a target's armor to deal a Critical Hit, which is important when firing small arms at something using armor instead of soak." So then if a character is shooting a personal scale weapon at a vehicle with 0 armor and gets a success dealing 8 damage with a cricial hit... do they get the critical hit. Technically the attack is successful and overcomes the vehicle's armor (scored 0.8 damage against an armor of 0.0). If the vehicle was armor 1 I understand the rules say no. But with armor 0 the attack has overcome the armor. No where do I see in the rules that you have to deal damage. I know this is a minor circumstance that won't come up that often but I'm curious about the intent. Thanks, Wraith428
  6. So in my most recent game I had my PCs flying an airspeeder away from a heist being chased by 3 swoop bikes. The swoops had 0 armor but they were planetary scale. The question came up is what happens if the attack succeeds and gets enough Advantage to score a critical hit but didn't do 10 or more points of damage (i.e. penetrated armor as required for a Verhicle Critical Hit but didn't actually deal damage. Can you deal a critical hit to a vehicle with a successful check that does not deal damage. There doesn't appear to be anything in the rules against this but maybe I'm missing something. Wraith428
  7. In another post regarding the interviews on the Order 66 podcast it seems that this was clarified. Defense does not stack thus... Armor and cover do not stack. I'm scratching my head at this one I gotta say... and so are my players. Wraith428
  8. So is the Destiny Point flip supposed to negate the power for the whole encounter? If not what happens when you have no more Destiny Points to flip? Does the Nemesis suddenly get disarmed? I'm sure I'm in the minority here but this just seems like poor design to me. Why does the power always work against the Gamorean minion with a Brawn of 4 but never works against the Nemesis Slicer with a Brawn of 1. The answer is GM Fiat and I don't care if this is a "narative" game... that's going to make players unhappy. They invested XP into this power and it functionality is up to the whim of the GM. The idea that you're spending XP that could be spent of skills or talents doesn't justify the "auto success baring GM Fiat." What you get for your XP is the power to do something no one else without the Force can do. Having the ability to disarm form range is a cool power, why not make it an opposed check. Besides adding in some game balance you get to add in the narative dice which I think it the strongest concept of the system Just by 2 credits here. I know how I'm going to house rule it. I just hope that FFG uses Edge of the Empire and Age of Rebellion as a playtest for the Force so that they can make adjustments come Force and Destiny. As people play I hope they post their experiences with the Force Powers as I think this will be invaluable to FFG. Wraith428
  9. Something to remember... because its kind off in the combat chapter... all Brawl attacks have Disorient 1 and Knockdown (p.211 is where this is noted.) This means that Brawl can be used to pin a target so they cannot move out of engaged and attack you with a blaster (sort of.) Brawl and with two Advantage you can knock the target prone. On their turn they can use a maneuver to get up and either have to take strain t disengage and blast you or exchange their action for a maneuver. Wraith428
  10. The pg 157 refers to critical injuries on PC's and the pg 238 refers to critical hits on ships. From my understanding vicious only works on PC's, not ships. The p.157 entry for Vicious says... "When this weapon scores a critical injury or hit, the character adds..." As critical hits can only happen to vehicles the entry on p.157 would seem to be in error. p.238 says that Viscious would have no effect on a ship or vehicle. Wraith428 I don't feel I've been clear in my thinking so will try one more time as I do think there is something here. My understanding of the book indicates that... Critical Injuries can only happen to characters (PCs, NPCs etc.) Critical Hits can only happen to vehicles. The p.157 entry for Vicious says... "When this weapon scores a critical injury or hit, the character adds ten times the Vicious rating to the critical roll." Then on p.238 1st full paragraph left column says... "Note that talents and qualities that specifically affect Critical Injuries do not effect Critical Hits (so the Vicious quality, for example, would have no effect on a ship or vehicle.)" The question I have is how is the Vicious entry supposed to be read. "When this weapon scores a critical injury or hit..." Does the critical in the sentence above apply to both the words injury and hit? I believe so because that's the only way it makes sense. If you read it that way then the Vicious entry says Vicious affects critical hits but the critical hits section later in the rules specifically says Vicious does not and thus you have a contradiction in the rules. If you don't read critical as applying to both injury and hit... I'm not sure what "or hit" is even doing in the text. Anyways that's my thinking here a little bit clearer. One last go. Thanks, Wraith428
  11. The pg 157 refers to critical injuries on PC's and the pg 238 refers to critical hits on ships. From my understanding vicious only works on PC's, not ships. The p.157 entry for Vicious says... "When this weapon scores a critical injury or hit, the character adds..." As critical hits can only happen to vehicles the entry on p.157 would seem to be in error. p.238 says that Viscious would have no effect on a ship or vehicle. Wraith428
  12. As you note multiple Critical Injuries add +10 to the roll. The Viscious weapon ability adds +10 to the roll per rank. Lethal Blows Talent (or something like that) adds +10 to the roll per rank. Each additional critical injury on a single hit adds +10 to the roll. Death generally won't come out of nowhere but it is a real possibility in the right circumstance. Also an unconscious character can also be killed without needing to roll on the critical chart (IMO... but that's just me and as a GM it would probably be a jerk thing to do... I stun you unconscious and then kill you. MWAHAHAHAHA!) Wraith428
  13. Viscious p.157 Viscious say it affects critical hits. p.238 say Viscious does not apply to critical hits. Sorry don't have book with me right now to be more specific. Rob
  14. So I noticed on p.207 that... "Multiple sources of defense do not stack." Since cover now provide 1 range defense (or potentialy greater than 1 at GM discression) does this mean that any character with armor that provides a defense rating shouldn't ever bother taking cover? For instance armored clothing provides 1 defense and 1 soak. Cover would not stack with the armors defense? Wraith428
  15. Then replace Jedi in the sentence above with Force Sensative Exile and Lightsaber's with Vibroswords. The point stands. Also why can't I resist having my blaster being ripped out of my hand with my Athletics and Brawn? Why do I need a Force Rating to resist that? What I'm concened with is that if this is the foundation of the Force system has FFG thought of these concerns. Does does read surface thoughts get resisted? One sollution is No: It can't be resisted by non-force users (maybe in F&D Force Users will be able to resist with the Force). Resistance comes into play by whether the target notes what the force user is doing and resists any Influence checks to make him think of specific thoughts. In this case how does the target take note. Is this a Vigilence check or does the force user need a Discipline vs. Vigilence check to get in without alerting the target? Another Solution is Yes: The mind naturally resists intrusion. The Force user need to make a Discipline vs. Discipline or maybe Discipline vs. Vigilence to access the target's surface thoughts. There are Certainly Other Options as well. I'm actually leaning towards something in the vein of Solution 1 for my personal preference now that I've heard so good commnets in this and other threads. Othe concerns. Can you resist being disarmed by the Move power without a Force Rating? Can you trying to avoid (aka up the difficulty) Move power attacks via cover, the dodge or side step talent, and defese from armor? Can you do anything to avoid the strain damage inflicted by Influence if you are aware the Force User is doing something to you (other than run away and try to get out of range?) Now maybe what we see in EotE isn't the final basis of the Force system for Star Wars. If FFG came out and said they are majorly overhauling or even majorly detailing the Force system for F&D (such that these questions are answered) then I could live with this as a stop gap for the future. But if not I figure its worth discussing. Also... I know if I were a player in EotE, espcially one with a a non-force sensative character, I'd have these questions. Instead I'm a GM so I'm trying to understand what the intent here is so that I can answer the inevitable questions my players will have and create a balanced sense of play for my group as I want them to like this game. Thanks, Wraith428
×
×
  • Create New...