Just got the game and really love it. Outstanding game. My question though comes from the Masquerade Ball Encounter 1, My group got to the end and it turned into a HUGE argument that almost finished the game for the night.
For a hero victory, It says the heroes must roll a die (gray or black, depending on how may players). If the number of shields rolled is equal to or less than the guests they successfully rescued, then the heroes manage to save Lord Theodir.
The problem comes in the fact that the overlord was able to escort ALL guests out and the heroes rescued 0 guests. The heroes rolled the grey die and got 0 shields. The players feel they won because a 0 came up so they rescued Lord Theodir, although the OL was the one to grab every guest.
Now, The guest section also states for the objective tokens, Half are red, representi cultists. The other half are blue, representing important noble guests--ONE OF WHOM IS LORD THEODIR--. So of all the tokens placed, according to this rule, Lord Theodir is one of the guests.
So in this respect, I feel the quest contradicts itself under these conditions because the OL feels he won because he got all the guests out and the book plainly states one them is Lord Thodir. The players feel they won because the quest states if they roll equal to or less shields, they win. The rescued 0 guests and rolled a 0.
In this instance I would lead to the OL winning simply because he actually got all the guests whereas the heroes rescued NONE of them. This turned into a way larger argument then needed, but the book pretty much gave winning conditions to both sides at the exact same time. IS there any official word on this exact situation?