Jump to content


Rook wording question

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 rpgplayer88



  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 11:54 PM

Hi, my English failed me. Would like to ask from the Rook card, what does "counting from the innermost spot" means?

Does the spot means the ICE where Rook is hosting on?

#2 Saturnine



  • Members
  • 1,564 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 01:41 AM

Counting from the innermost spot means counting from the ice closest to the server. Example: There's two ice on R&D, and Rook is hosted on the outermost ice (the second ice counting from the inside of the server). There's four ice on a remote server, and you want to move Rook to that server. So you put it on the second ice on that server, counting from the ice closest to the server.

Edited by Saturnine, 15 October 2013 - 01:42 AM.

  • rpgplayer88 likes this

#3 CommissarFeesh



  • Members
  • 929 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 01:58 AM

It's a little awkwardly worded to avoid issues if people don't place their cards in a standard way. Assuming that all Corp cards are in line with each other (so all servers are in a line, then all ICE closest to server are in a line, then all second-layer ICE is in a line), then Rook can move either further in/out on a server, or any number of servers 'sideways' assuming ICE exists in the correct position.

Wow, that probably reads terribly. I'll put it a better way:

All ICE closest to a server is 'layer one' ICE. Next position out from server is 'layer two', and so on. Rook can move to any layer in the server it's on, or to any other server on the same 'layer'.
  • rpgplayer88 likes this

#4 Volkazz



  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 05:48 AM

It moves like a rook/castle/crenellated-thing-in-the-corner in chess...


The card specifies that the ICE closest to the server is a rank, not the ICE furthest from the server.