Jump to content


Setup Gate over Kate

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Ketaros



  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 09:11 AM



 This question popped up on BGG forum and we cant seem to find a perfect answer. Also, even that being seem as a very possible situation we cant find any official answer or on Rules, Faqs, etc...


 If the setup Mythos Card opens a gate on Science Building and Kate Winthrop is there, what happens?


 A) The Gate is canceled and the game starts with no gate open.

 B) We draw a new Mythos Card that can open a gate somewhere else.

 C) Gate opens over Kate but she is not dragged.

 D) Gate opens Kate is dragged?
 E) What else? Explain...

Thanks in advance,



#2 The Professor

The Professor


  • Members
  • 1,499 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 09:51 AM



     The answer is A)  You can't start a game with a Rumor or a Double-Doomer, but instead must have a Mythos card with a gate.  If, however, a gate cannot appear because of Kate...lucky you!  Your team has a pass and can breathe a sigh of relief for one turn.


The Professor

The Professor




#3 Julia


    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 7,193 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 02:13 PM

Agreed. The FAQ specifiies that you keep on drawing Mythos Cards during the set-up until you find a Mythos depicting a gate (pag. 2). Nothing is said about the fact that you have to be able to open that gate. So, A)

We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League


Read session reports and comments about the games I play in my blog: Hamster Rules!

#4 jackman51



  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:21 PM

Of course if you're playing with Innsmouth you get a DOR token too! Yay team!