Jump to content


Photo

Secrets of Yavin 4


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Conradj

Conradj

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 02:35 PM

Old question revisting.

 

If for example secrets of yavin 4 is out, and i want to destroy say, a hero's journey. 

 

If i attack secrets of yavin 4, a decoy engagement, then declare a second engagement with a hero's journey, they can redirect this engagement to secrets of yavin 4. 

 

So secrets of yavin 4 has been engaged twice.  For my third engagement i can't engage either objective, right?  I think i am missing something here. 

 

 

Because if i engage hero's journey first as the first engagement, the opponent can redirect to secret of yavin 4.  So I guess the question here is what objective was engaged?


Edited by Conradj, 21 August 2014 - 02:36 PM.


#2 Devon Greatwolf

Devon Greatwolf

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 03:12 PM

 For my third engagement i can't engage either objective, right?  I think i am missing something here. 

This is correct.  If The Secret of Yavin 4 is in play, IMO, one should attack it first with a rather weak attack, then attack your normal secondary target next with a moderate attack to hope to get the redirect to Yavin, and follow up with the final attack on your true primary target bring any "tricks" and heavy damage in here if the redirect was used on your second attack.  Otherwise one could go after TSoY4 hard and heavy to get it off board quickly to then be able to go after your primary target as normal.


  • Conradj likes this

X-wing Miniatures - 4 X-Wing Core Sets, 2 Imperial Aces, 6 Tie Fighters, 5 Interceptors, 4 Tie Advanced, 2 Bombers, 2 Lamdas, 4 Slave 1's, 1 Tie Defender, 3 X-wings, 5 A-wings, 3 Y-wings, 3 B-wings, 3 YT-1300's, 2 HWK's, 1 Rebel Aces, 1 Most Wanted, 1 StarViper, 1 M3-A Interceptor, 1 IG-2000; Star Wars LCG - 2 Core Sets, 2 EoD, and all expansions through current; Android: Netrunner LCG - 2 Core Sets and all expansions through current; A Game of Thrones LCG - 2 Core Sets and all expansions through current; Elder Sign w/all expansions through current; Eldritch Horror w/Forsaken Lore and Mountains of Madness; Warhammer Fantasy: Disk Wars with all current expansions; Gears of War and Missiion pack 1; Space Hulk: Death Angel with Deathwing Space Marine Pack and Mission Pack 1; DungeonQuest Revised Edition


#3 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,597 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 03:49 PM

Because if i engage hero's journey first as the first engagement, the opponent can redirect to secret of yavin 4.  So I guess the question here is what objective was engaged?

Per the FAQ, the line from the rulebook should be interpreted as you can only declare an engagement against each objective once.  In the case of Secrets of Yavin 4, the original objective is still the one you declared the engagement against and not Secret.


  • Devon Greatwolf and Conradj like this

#4 Conradj

Conradj

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 07:25 AM

Thank you, so it is a no win situation if my opponent knows i want to blow up a hero's journey.  Assuming i can't blow up secrets.



#5 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,597 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 09:45 AM

Thank you, so it is a no win situation if my opponent knows i want to blow up a hero's journey.  Assuming i can't blow up secrets.

Right.  Secret can effectively keep a single other objective from being destroyed unless the DS can destroy it first.



#6 macmastermind

macmastermind

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 26 August 2014 - 01:00 PM

The beauty of Secret is that you can start by declaring the objective you really want, and then if you're redirected, your next declaration can be Secret, effectively hitting it twice and possibly wiping it out.  So, you'll either only deal with Secret for a single turn, or get your damage where you originally wanted it.

 

I didn't realize you could do that for so long - I'm sure I've lost many games due to that little tidbit...


  • Devon Greatwolf likes this

"I don't know... Fly casual..."  ~The Han

Black Powder Legend