Jump to content


Photo

Unopposed


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sluggo1313

Sluggo1313

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 02:59 PM

If you attack an objective unopposed do your Edge Enabled combat icon's go off or not? 



#2 MacRauri

MacRauri

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 03:27 PM

you automatically win the edge battle, so you will have all your white icons


  • Devon Greatwolf likes this

#3 Monkerton

Monkerton

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 03:27 PM

You automatically win the edge battle if you are unopposed, so yes they all activate.

 

And anything that triggers when you win an edge battle would happen as well I assume.

 

Now I wonder, if you're the player who doesn't oppose, are you then considered to have lost an edge battle? For example, will Jawas pop back to your hand?



#4 MacRauri

MacRauri

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 04:12 PM

Jawas do pop back to hand


  • Devon Greatwolf and Monkerton like this

#5 GroggyGolem

GroggyGolem

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,286 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 04:21 PM

Also of note: If the defender does not oppose the engagement you may still play cards into an edge stack.
  • Devon Greatwolf likes this

Rebels: 3 X-Wing, 1 Y-Wing, 1 A-Wing, 1 B-Wing, 1 Rebel Aces, 1 E-Wing, 1 HWK-290, 2 Z-95 Headhunter, 1 YT-1300, 1 YT-2400

Imperials: 5 TIE/LN, 1 TIE/ADV, 2 TIE/sa, 1 TIE/IN, 1 Imperial Aces, 1 TIE/D, 1 TIE Phantom, 1 Firespray-31, 1 VT-49 Decimator

Scum & Villainy: 1 Most Wanted, 2 M3-A Interceptor, 1 StarViper, 2 Aggressor


#6 Starlord

Starlord

    Member

  • Validating
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 07:20 AM

Are you unopposed if your opponent has units but they are exhausted at the start of your turn? 

and if you are unopposed  can you use unit strike icons and focus icons to damage the objective due to the unopposed bonus ? or does the unopposed bonus deal only 1 extra damage point to only one engaged objective per turn? 



#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,885 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 07:24 AM

Are you unopposed if your opponent has units but they are exhausted at the start of your turn? 

and if you are unopposed  can you use unit strike icons and focus icons to damage the objective due to the unopposed bonus ? or does the unopposed bonus deal only 1 extra damage point to only one engaged objective per turn? 

 

You're unopposed if your opponent declares no defenders in an engagement. Doesn't matter if he has ready or exhausted units available, if he does not or cannot declare them as defenders they do not count. 

 

Unit and tactics icons do not damage objectives. The unopposed bonus just gives you one extra free blast damage at the end of the engagement. You can get it at all three engagements if your opponent declares no defenders for all three engagements. 


  • Starlord likes this

#8 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,609 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 07:26 AM

Are you unopposed if your opponent has units but they are exhausted at the start of your turn? 
and if you are unopposed  can you use unit strike icons and focus icons to damage the objective due to the unopposed bonus ? or does the unopposed bonus deal only 1 extra damage point to only one engaged objective per turn?

You are unopposed if and only if at the end of an engagement you still have a participating (attacking) unit and your opponent does not have a participating (defending) unit. At that point, you would deal a single damage to the engaged objective (quantity of damage dealt may be modified by card effects) regardless of number of participating units you control.
  • Starlord likes this

#9 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,609 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 07:27 AM

Are you unopposed if your opponent has units but they are exhausted at the start of your turn? 
and if you are unopposed  can you use unit strike icons and focus icons to damage the objective due to the unopposed bonus ? or does the unopposed bonus deal only 1 extra damage point to only one engaged objective per turn?

 
You're unopposed if your opponent declares no defenders in an engagement. Doesn't matter if he has ready or exhausted units available, if he does not or cannot declare them as defenders they do not count. 
 
Unit and tactics icons do not damage objectives. The unopposed bonus just gives you one extra free blast damage at the end of the engagement. You can get it at all three engagements if your opponent declares no defenders for all three engagements.
Note that you can also get the unopposed bonus if your opponent does declare defending units as long as they are no longer participating at the check unopposed step (most commonly by being destroyed).

#10 savall21

savall21

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 February 2015 - 07:02 PM

I just started playing and I didn't want to start a new thread for this.  Just to be completely clear.  If all of my opponents units are exhausted he CANNOT declare them as defenders?  So I would be unopposed? I would also win the edge battle and get the unopposed bonus?

 

Thanks

Chris



#11 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,885 posts

Posted 15 February 2015 - 07:19 PM

Yes that is correct 



#12 savall21

savall21

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 February 2015 - 07:33 PM

Awesome.  Thanks for the quick response!



#13 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 475 posts

Posted 31 March 2015 - 07:27 AM

Also of note: If the defender does not oppose the engagement you may still play cards into an edge stack.

Point of clarification: if your opponent does not declare any defenders but removes your attacking unit(s) from the engagement during either of the action windows that happen before the edge battle begins, then a.) you cannot place cards into the edge battle, b.) you are still considered to have won the edge battle, and c.) you would not receive an unopposed bonus.


X-Wing:

Spoiler
Netrunner:
Spoiler
Star Wars LCG:
Spoiler

#14 WookieeRoar

WookieeRoar

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 01 April 2015 - 12:48 PM

Also keep in mind that even though your opponent might have no ready units at the moment you declare your attack, this doesn't mean they don't have a trick up their sleeve.

After you declare attackers, there is an Action Window during which your opponent can still bring a unit into play (DS: "Backstabber", Mercenary Support, etc; LS: Admiral Ackbar, Echo Base Technician, using the Falcon, etc) which can then be declared as defenders and quite probably mess up the strategy you had in mind.