Jump to content


Photo

RULE QUESTION: Duel wielding weapons


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Ambrose

Ambrose

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 11:25 AM

Greetings!

 

I just bought DJiD and think it is an amazing game.  I am trying to get familiar with the rules and have the following question;

 

On pg. 12 it states "  Only abilities on the chosen weapon may be used; if equipped with two weapons, abilities on the other weapon are ignored for the attack."

 

Does this mean any character can duel wield melee weapons?  So characters that start with a sword, and find/buy another sword can use both, and get the combined number of attacks from both against a single monster/target?  Seems like they will chew through pretty much anything.

 

Any clarification on this would be appreciated.  I think I am just reading the rules wrong.  :)

 

Thanks!

Ambrose


"My head may be bloody, but it is not bowed."


#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 729 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 11:55 AM

You can dual wield weapons sure, but whenever you make an attack, you only pick one of them to attack with. Wielding an extra weapon does not give you additional attacks. If you play a Skirmisher (shadow of nerekhall expansion) you can learn abilities to get extra attacks from dual wielding, but otherwise, the only purpose is to give you extra options for your attacks.

 

You do not get the dice or abilities of the weapon you do not attack with.


Edited by Whitewing, 28 July 2014 - 11:59 AM.


#3 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,225 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 02:15 PM

In addition, note that you can only wield 2-hands worth of weapons.  So in order to wield two weapons, both have to be one handed weapons.



#4 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,389 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 07:40 PM

Yup. As Whitewing and any2cards said, anybody can have 2 hands worth of weapons equipped. The skirmisher is a class that has skills actually related to dual-wielding melee weapons, just as the wildlander has "bow skills" and the knight has "shield skills." Unless you're the skirmisher, dual wielding gives you no special advantage other than versatility (see the Beastmaster's starting gear for a good example- want to attack heavy with reach, or perhaps you'd prefer the skinning knife to finish off a damaged target?) You must declare which weapon you're using at the beginning of each attack.


Edited by Zaltyre, 28 July 2014 - 07:40 PM.


#5 Ambrose

Ambrose

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:19 AM

That clarifies things a lot.  Thanks guys!  Looks like I will have to save up for that expansion to get real duel wielding!

 

Ambrose


"My head may be bloody, but it is not bowed."