Jump to content



Photo

Question About Available Options When "Placing Evidence"


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Drakon

Drakon

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 02:46 PM

A situation has arose in a local game during Following Up a Lead.

Is it possible to take an action of "Placing Evidence" when there is no evidence to place?

The particular situation came about when I played a Dark Twilight Card to force a lead to result in uncovering no evidence.

1) The target of the Dark Twilight Card (Louis) followed up a lead.
2) The text of the card stated "Play this card when Louis follows up a lead. That lead produces no evidence, but still moves. Louis then draws one of your dark cards."
3) In play was the "The Mafia is Stepping Up Their Operations" Specific Event card which states "Each time a detective follows up a lead this week, he may discard one trauma instead of placing a piece of evidence on a suspect."
4) Also in play was Louis' "The Krausey Case" Plot card which states "Louis gains one good baggage each time he follows up a lead and sacrifices the evidence from it."
5) There were no conspiracy puzzle pieces left to take.
6) Louis had no evidence in his possession when the card was played.

Since Louis has no evidence, and the Dark Twilight Card prevents him from recovering evidence by following up on the lead, can Louis STILL take either of the actions noted in #3 or #4?

Louis' player argued that since he cannot take evidence or a puzzle piece, he can still take an "null action" of Placing Evidence, which would entitle him to the substitute action in #3. Is this correct?



#2 Tsugo

Tsugo

    Member

  • Members
  • 286 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 11:59 AM

Drakon said:

A situation has arose in a local game during Following Up a Lead.

Is it possible to take an action of "Placing Evidence" when there is no evidence to place?

The particular situation came about when I played a Dark Twilight Card to force a lead to result in uncovering no evidence.

1) The target of the Dark Twilight Card (Louis) followed up a lead.
2) The text of the card stated "Play this card when Louis follows up a lead. That lead produces no evidence, but still moves. Louis then draws one of your dark cards."
3) In play was the "The Mafia is Stepping Up Their Operations" Specific Event card which states "Each time a detective follows up a lead this week, he may discard one trauma instead of placing a piece of evidence on a suspect."
4) Also in play was Louis' "The Krausey Case" Plot card which states "Louis gains one good baggage each time he follows up a lead and sacrifices the evidence from it."
5) There were no conspiracy puzzle pieces left to take.
6) Louis had no evidence in his possession when the card was played.

Since Louis has no evidence, and the Dark Twilight Card prevents him from recovering evidence by following up on the lead, can Louis STILL take either of the actions noted in #3 or #4?

Louis' player argued that since he cannot take evidence or a puzzle piece, he can still take an "null action" of Placing Evidence, which would entitle him to the substitute action in #3. Is this correct?

Option 4 is automatically out.  Since the card states there is no evidence, the player has none to sacrifice.

Due to the wording in option 3, I would probably allow it.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS