Jump to content



Photo

Contest roll question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Bataar

Bataar

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 09:43 PM

So when there's a contest, I need to make sure I'm reading the rules correctly.  Let's say the attacker has strength 4 and the defender has strength 3.  If the attacker rolls and gets 4 hits, does the defender even need to bother rolling?  By my understanding of the rules, the defender would be required to get 4 hits as well in order to  win and since that's impossible, even with cards, is it even worth the effort or am I misunderstanding something?



#2 grouik

grouik

    Member

  • Members
  • 188 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 10:11 PM

Bataar said:

So when there's a contest, I need to make sure I'm reading the rules correctly.  Let's say the attacker has strength 4 and the defender has strength 3.  If the attacker rolls and gets 4 hits, does the defender even need to bother rolling?  By my understanding of the rules, the defender would be required to get 4 hits as well in order to  win and since that's impossible, even with cards, is it even worth the effort or am I misunderstanding something?

you are right unless the defender has cards which add hits!



#3 Cybernex

Cybernex

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 11:30 AM

If the attacker rolls more hits than the defender can roll, indeed he won already. So it is possible that from time to time a counter-roll by the defender is not necessary.



#4 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 06:36 PM

Cybernex said:

If the attacker rolls more hits than the defender can roll, indeed he won already. So it is possible that from time to time a counter-roll by the defender is not necessary.

Yes, and when this happens, REJOICE.  I can't tell you how many times I've rolled 5 dice as the attacker, used a strategy  card, and still rolled  4 blanks.

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,258 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 08:40 PM

Tim Kelly said:

Yes, and when this happens, REJOICE.  I can't tell you how many times I've rolled 5 dice as the attacker, used a strategy  card, and still rolled  4 blanks.

TK

Did they have herbs/drugs to cure "shooting blanks" in the Hyborian Age ?

j/k


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 grouik

grouik

    Member

  • Members
  • 188 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 09:22 PM

Dam said:

Tim Kelly said:

 

Yes, and when this happens, REJOICE.  I can't tell you how many times I've rolled 5 dice as the attacker, used a strategy  card, and still rolled  4 blanks.

TK

 

 

Did they have herbs/drugs to cure "shooting blanks" in the Hyborian Age ?

j/k

Probably horrible Stygian Magik!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS