Jump to content



Photo

Wild Card Vs Conan/Crown


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Chiron

Chiron

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 25 March 2009 - 01:39 PM

 

The rules state: "When selecting a wild die, a player may never choose an action that would have been available to him had he selected a different available fate die."  Then uses the military, Intrigue, military/intrigue as the examples.  

The rules also say when doing the Court action he "...ignores the Conan part of the instructions..."

 

So the question:

Can a player choose the Wild die to do a Court action if there is a Conan + Court action die available? 

We played it as she/he could use Wild as court even if the Conan+Court was available (since technically they are different) but am looking for something official.

Thanks!



#2 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 25 March 2009 - 03:24 PM

Not official, but I would say "No".  If there is a "Court + Conan", you would need to use that die before using a "Wild" for a Court-Only action.  Besides, when would you ever NOT want to take a "Conan" action, as long as you were already planning on taking the "Court" action?

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#3 Chiron

Chiron

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 March 2009 - 07:13 AM

In our case the 'Wild' die was preferable to the 'Conan+Court' die as it prevented another player from taking the 'Wild' die.

 

Sounds like one vote for 'Wild-Court' is close enough to 'Court-Conan' that it (Wild) can NOT be taken if 'Court-Conan' is available....That would have broken the tie we had in our group (fyi I voted same as you but it was my 'Wild-Military' action that was being prevented)  ... has anyone else seen anything official and/or had to deal with this situation?



#4 Lexarcana

Lexarcana

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 March 2009 - 10:03 PM

Chiron said:

In our case the 'Wild' die was preferable to the 'Conan+Court' die as it prevented another player from taking the 'Wild' die.

 

This is exactly why the official answer is: NO!

 

Francesco Nepitello






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS