Jump to content



Photo

Question concerning the results of the die


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 TMascara

TMascara

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 March 2009 - 06:34 AM

I have played it once and now reading back through the rules I am getting the hang of it. One clarification question I cant seem to find.

 

The Will of the West icon on the FP die, when rolled is it considered a "wasted" result? I only see the benefit on Gandalf and Strider. But I was rolling a lot of them and felt like I was limited even more with my choices. Maybe I missed something in the rules but is their any other way to use it?

Second question is the dual icon results (i.e. the muster/army icon on FP) Does this result mean we must choose one choice between the two or do we get to do both? I played as though it was the choice of one or the other, but was unsure since it is the only army icon for the FP.

Thanks for taking the time to answer me! I do enjoy it and look forward to playing again now that I understand a bit more. The big mistake we made was thinking an army could only be moved once per turn rather than once per die result. We also messed up big time with letting two armies attack with the army result rather than two get to move, but only one gets to attack. 



#2 Krieghund

Krieghund

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 23 March 2009 - 06:44 AM

TMascara said:

The Will of the West icon on the FP die, when rolled is it considered a "wasted" result? I only see the benefit on Gandalf and Strider. But I was rolling a lot of them and felt like I was limited even more with my choices. Maybe I missed something in the rules but is their any other way to use it?

A Will of the West die may be used as any other die result that you like.  It's like a "wild card".  When you use it as another die type, it behaves in exactly the same way as that die type.  For instance, when used as a Character die to move the Fellowship, it is placed in the Hunt Box after the move.

TMascara said:


Second question is the dual icon results (i.e. the muster/army icon on FP) Does this result mean we must choose one choice between the two or do we get to do both? I played as though it was the choice of one or the other, but was unsure since it is the only army icon for the FP.

You may choose one action from either the list of Army die actions or the list of Muster die actions.



#3 TMascara

TMascara

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 March 2009 - 06:46 AM

Sweet thank you! That creates so many more options with that will of the west icon! 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS