Jump to content



Photo

Casting and maintaining spell page 12 of new rules.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Blackrose

Blackrose

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 June 2013 - 11:28 PM

On page 12 of the new rules there is a box in the top left hand corner referring to the Extra Arms example.

what I can't understand is why the player should put one energy token on the card, when it has an energy of 3. 

I just do not understand this example or what it is trying to explain. Is it trying to say you can put less energy token on a spell if you want to, thereby lessening the time it is there, but that can't be right, because the rules say you can dump a spell whenever you want to.

can anybody enlighten me ?

 

 casting and maintaining a temporary spell

 
1. A player casts the “Extra Arms” spell and places it faceup in his play area with 1 energy token on it. The card is considered part of his hand.
2. During his next turn, he removes the energy token and discards the card. The card is no longer part of his hand.
Note: The energy value of “3” at the bottom of the card is ignored in this example because the player is choosing to use this card’s effect instead of using it to boost anothe

The Blackrose


#2 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:28 PM

Please read the "Note" part again so that you might understand it better:
"Note: The energy value of “3” at the bottom of the card is ignored in this example because the player is choosing to use this card’s effect instead of using it to boost another..."

 

It means that you need to play another card with an energy value to boost your spells.  When you play this card as the spell "Extra Arms", the energy value does not matter.  Since in the example the player does not play another card to boost the spell, the "Extra Arms" has only one energy token.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#3 Blackrose

Blackrose

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:51 AM

Hi Angus

Thanks for that, I think I understand what you are saying now.


The Blackrose


#4 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 05 July 2013 - 09:30 AM

You're welcome.  Glad that helps.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#5 The Gas

The Gas

    Member

  • Members
  • 199 posts

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:04 AM

Yeah, when you play a spell card with an energy value, you choose to use it for the spell effect OR the energy, not both.  If used as a spell, it still only gets 1 energy unless augmented with another card. It took some people in my group a while to understand this. :(

 

EDIT: lol didn't notice I was responding to a 5-months-dead topic. :P


Edited by The Gas, 22 November 2013 - 09:05 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS