Jump to content



Photo

Unresolved Encounters


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 toooph

toooph

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 June 2013 - 09:36 AM

Alright, so, what exactly happens with, for example, unresolved enemies? Are they discarded or do they remain in the space until someone does actually resolves them. I realize some enemies and encounters actually have special effects that elaborate on this but most do not. Likewise, what if you are unable to resolve an enemy in a space that also just revealed an asset? Does the asset remain or get discarded as well? 

The manual specifies that eneimes will remain in the space in the result of a draw but I couldn't really find a clear answer in regard to being unable to defeat them.

I'd appreciate any insight in regard to this!



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 15 June 2013 - 08:34 PM

If you don't defeat them, they stay on the board until removed through combat or an Event card.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 toooph

toooph

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:18 AM

That's what I assumed but I didn't see it in the manual anywhere(though I could have overlooked it). Thanks for the response!



#4 yakysly

yakysly

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 November 2013 - 03:18 PM

Ok I just played this game for the first time and I was wondering : if you cannot defeat an enemy, can you go on in the next round or do you have to stay and fight the enemy in your next round?

 

Also i had a mission where I had t o go in the next tier, i went through it and ended my step (encounter). In the next round however i stayed on the spot to complete my mission (instead of movement phase) but I was wondering if this was ok. Should'nt I move and come back to this spot to complete the mission (a little bit stupid since i was on the spot in my previous round)?

 

Hope that i am clear in my questions. 



#5 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 12 November 2013 - 12:45 PM

Missions that require you to collect a character token on a space , or those that instruct you  to resolve a Text box ability on a particular corner space,  need to be completed during the Engagement phase. If you're teleported to the Middle Tier via any of the corner spaces, you end your Engagement phase, and cannot encounter the space on the same turn.

 

You must always move on your next turn. You cannot choose to remain on the same spot.(unless you're targeted by an opponent's Test of Honor power card, when he shares your space. A rare occurrence!)

 

The Power card Strategic Planning can teleport you to any space in the same tier. Since you activate it at the start of your Movement Phase, you get to  have your Engagement phase on the destination space during the same turn.

 

Note however, that if a a threat card is moved to a corner space, it negates that space's text ability, and must be moved/ removed/resolved before the special text can be used again during future visits

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you lose a battle against any Enemy, your Engagement phase immediately ends, and you cannot encounter any other enemies,strangers, places or collect any tokens/assets, etc.

YOu cannot choose to fight the enemy again during the same turn, and you can't choose to remain on the same spot to encounter it again  next turn.


Edited by zealot12, 12 November 2013 - 01:07 PM.


#6 yakysly

yakysly

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 07:07 AM

ok thanks for the reply, so the enemy stays and you can go on the next round, it is not seen as an escape then?



#7 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:50 AM

Yes, you then proceed to the next phase.

 

After your Engagement phase ends, you still get  to have your Experience phase during which you can manage your missions , level up, and play any other cards and abilities  relevant to this phase.

 

The only times you don't get to have all the phases in your turn is when you're instructed to miss/ lose a turn, or when a game effect forces you to immediately end your turn(such as when rolling a 5 or 6 after playing the Lucrative Contacts Power card). 


Edited by zealot12, 15 November 2013 - 08:53 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS